Aloft Minneapolis

  • 900 Washington Avenue South
  • Minneapolis,
  • Minnesota
  • 55415
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 230 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Aloft Minneapolis: 4-star hospitality at 2-star rates I stay in a lot of hotels, and have visited every brand in the Starwood collection... even though I typically go to a property higher on the category ladder, this Aloft has always surprised and delighted me with a consistency of excellence unmatched by hotels who charge double or even triple the room rate offered by Aloft. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable and eager to help; the rooms are spotless and efficiently comfortable; and most importantly (to me), as a 14-year SPG member, the staff here actually make me feel like a preferred guest. One of my least-favorite activities at other Starwood hotels is (1) having to explain to staff what benefits are afforded at my SPG level, and (2) having to beg on bended knee when asking for one of the SPG member benefits my loyalty has earned; it's hard to stay loyal after finally extracting said perk from hotel staff who act as though extending these benefits is an act of charity bestowed to a nuicance freeloader. Fortunately, this Aloft has always extended member benefits without making me beg or even ask; in most cases, each 4pm checkout or other perk is cheerfully offered before I have to ask, and it's a nice touch when the Aloft staff thanks me for my continued loyalty & sincerely asks me to contact the front desk immediately if any aspect of my stay fails to meet my expectations. Bravo, Aloft! I'll be back... February 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by WONDERFUL PLACE! We came to Minneapolis to see a Vikings game. We've stayed at many SPG hotels, but this was our first time using ALoft. The room was everything we wanted and more. No wasted space, instead we got exactly what we want in a hotel room. Parking was in the garage across the road. The only issue we had was the firmness of the mattress. I had no problems sleeping after one night, but both of us thought it was too firm after two nights. We would most likely stay here again. October 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Consistent, Fun and Comfortable Stayed here last week and returned this week. I like the Aloft Minneapolis because it's consistent, friendly, fun and comfortable. Easy parking, easy to get around the property, good fitness room, walking/running trails/paths right next door. Some restaurants (not many) are just out the door. Right next to the Guthrie Theater. The staff is friendly and solidly good. This is one of my favorite Starwood properties in Mpls because it does what it does, well. June 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Providing Parking for Guest The only thing that was lacking during our stay was parking. It would be nice if the hotel provided parking instead of the guest being at the mercy of the parking garage who double charged us on the first day. Maybe an agreement with the parking garage for guests. September 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by early coffe We had a very nice stay, I belive some of your items are a little over priced. Also i would have coffee for your coustomers earlyer than 7 am July 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by First time impressions for Aloft This is the first time I have stayed at an Aloft property and was plesantly surprised. I was only booked for one night but wish I had the opportunity to stay at the property longer. The room was large, clean, and comfortable. The desk/work area was suitable for the business traveler that needs to be productive and working from their hotel room. I especially liked the layyout of the bathroom area with the wash area separate from the toilet/shower. A great feature for people traveling with kids. One area of improvement is the bar food. The lounge/bar area is a great feature at this hotel but the selection and quality of the bar food misses the mark. August 20, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by The air-conditioning system in this hotel room did not work at all. The air-conditioner started out really strong. It could not be turned lower. Then it would shut off completely and I would roast. Could only sleep for about three hours at a time. And I had to get up and adjust the thermostat. Finally the thermostat completely gave out. I had to ask downstairs to have someone fix the air-conditioning more than once.. Even after the engineer fixed it, , it still only worked for about three hours at a time. The tapwater is totally undrinkable. Hotel only supplied two bottles of water for a three day stay. I was very disappointed. There were no directions in the hotel room for running the lights or the air conditioning. June 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad experience We had room on the ..second floor. After 11 am there was a substantial amount of "party noise". You could not hear it in the hall, but certainly in our room. No idea what the source was and night manager was rude and not helpful. I spoke to the morning manager and requested a room change and refund for the first night, as I did not get much sleep. The day manager, while pleasant, was unhelpful, offered to change the room for the second night and " a couple of drink tickets" Did she think we were drunks? While the hotel was a very convenient location to our daughter's new apartment , I will not come back and I will place a further complaint with Starwood July 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lots to like Loved the casual atmosphere in the hotel. We brought our bikes and the staff was gracious in offering to store them overnight for us. The food items available for purchase were tasty and reasonably priced, and it was convenient to have a quick lunch or breakfast in the hotel. Hotel is close to many good restaurants as well. Convenient to the Guthrie, the Stone Arch bridge and Main Street, and bike trails. Farmer's Market on Saturday less than a block away. Rooms are small but adequate. Only complaint is the lack of lighting in the rooms. One good light. No decent lighting by the beds. However, we would stay again. Funky and fun.. August 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by COLD SHOWERS I have stayed at this hotel a handful of times when I come in for business. In the past I have been relatively satisfied. The staff have been friendly, the room clean and the location is great for access to the 35W. This time they dropped the ball BIG TIME. Arrived on a Saturday and took a shower upon arrival approx 4pm... Shower was luke warm when turned all the way to hot. Sat night, shower was again luke warm. Sunday morning. Barely warm. I spoke with the gentleman on staff that Sunday and expressed my concerns about the water temperature and the pressure. Pressure is limited he informed me but the limiter can be removed upon request. As for the hot water he told me he would have the "house engineer" look into it. I never received any follow up... Monday, Luke warm again. Tuesday was the final straw, the water was COLD at 7:20am. What a piss off. Waking up to take a cold shower. Spoke with the gentleman (different person) at the front desk and he was very apologetic and offered a free coffee etc. He also said he would escalate the concern to his GM and asked me to check back with the front desk when I returned after work for an update. Of course when I returned at the end of the day there was no new information or update for me. Rather I was told the same lame excuse of "Well sometimes when it's really cold out..." C'mon people it was above freezing outside!! THIS IS MINNESOTA. Needless to say this hotel has many design flaws. from hot water issues to noisy mini fridges and room climate control that cycles far too often. The mini fridge is an easy solution... Unplug it, the climate control is tolerable. But the lack of hot water is really just unacceptable. This is clearly a huge design flaw in the hotel. On top of that the staff should be on top of fixing the issue. They informed me that I was not the only guest experiencing this issue. Also, it's not the customer/guest's responsibility to seek a follow up to their complaint/concern. The staff should take it upon themselves to follow up with their guests and ensure that they have the best experience possible. Needless to say from now on I will stay at any one of the other great hotels in Minneapolis that value their customers January 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by best checjk in ever!!!!..fab rooms!! nice Bar!! great location!!! i love this place.....from check in to check out they treat their guests -the way they would like to be treated.....wonderful!!!...the hotel reservation desk has the most wonderful employees...nerves of steel.. (smile)....i hit some snags of my own doings at check in, they were very patient , understanding, and helpful, ..they went over and above the call of duty!!...thank you......the rooms are fabulous...super clean, free bottled water in the room not 5.00 a bottle; :)...all staff throughout the hotel we friendly and nice....no crabby employees here-which i find a plus!!!....the Bar area is relaxing....nice place to just chill..!!.location the best!!... March 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overnight Parking situation needs remedy! Overnight parking at this hotel needs remedy. The hotel does not have its own lot for guests. The reception desk was not clear on the nearby city parking garage rate because the city has a floating rate dependent on what event is happening either at the nearby stadium or the Guthrie theater. Cash is collected upfront to enter and credit card to exit depending on hours parked and rate in effect that particular night. Daytime metered street parking limited to two hours. Maybe five available unassigned parking spots behind hotel with cars double parked and no specific signage as to what is permitted resulting in unsupervised chaos. September 9, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not appreiciable I stayed in this hotel for a nite during a conference. To my surprise, I found that my room door lock was broken, anybody could enter without a key. This was fixed later only after I reported it. But the room stayed unlocked during the day. The fridge in the room was not working & it was empty. The Air conditioning unit was defective, it would switch on & off at its own wish and not with the set temperatures. We were not told upfront that there was a shuttle service available from the hotel. However they were quick enough to charge my credit card for the movies that I selected to watch. I did not have enough time to report all the problems due to busy schedule. June 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cool place to stay * Great service and friendliness * Free wi fi was a plus * Great breakfast (even if it's no free, good value) and delicious coffee (that's free) * Loved the walking distance to the river walk and the St Anthony district. * Lots of parking places available, for additional price. That is normal in Minneapolis. * The bike rental station was only one block away. * Several nice restaurants within walking distance. * The free shuttle service within 5 miles was very convenient * The room was a little bit small but very modern and clean. * The bathroom could have better lighting and the closet space is kind of small for 2 people. July 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great location and staff service Stayed December 28th, 2014. Staff was outstanding with providing restaurant recommendations, taxi services, and placing us in a room of our choice. The bartender, Robert, was knowledgeable and friendly. Would stay again and again. January 6, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by If you're getting married, don't stay here. A modern concept with very sterile features, this hotel has a facade of luxury. The beds and the pillows were hard. This hotel has no amenities. This hotel does not accommodate wedding groups well, even when you pay extra for it. This hotel only gives the bride and groom a free room if 20 rooms are booked; most hotels do it anyway. The rooms were small. They lacked any reason to stay in them. The only bright spot was the bartender and her knowledge of beverages and her personality. No free breakfast. No wine hour. No treat upon check-in. Worn down walls and furniture. Pool says open all night but closes early. April 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Edgy alternative to boring chain hotel We stayed at the Aloft Minneapolis for a weekend getaway. Great location downtown. If you're attending a show at the Guthrie Theater, this is the place to stay. The Guthrie is just around the corner, a five minute walk at best. Gold Medal Park is across the street with bike sharing facilities available if you favor two wheel transport. The hotel is edgy and different. Not your average boring run of the mill chain experience and the rates are less expensive. Parking was plentiful and easy in ramp across the street. We will come back. Check out Italian restaurant Bar La Grassa for dinner if you get a chance. June 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice place to stay The location was great for our event, the available parking lot close by is convenient and reasonably priced, the lobby was comfortable and inviting, and coffee in the lobby was wonderful. The beds were very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and courteous. I didn't rate all excellent rates because we didn't like the lighting in the room. There was enough light with the blinds open, but can't always have them open. There was a long bench to sit, but you couldn't sit there for very long, especially with the lack of lighting and it wasn't comfortable. We would stay here again and recommend Aloft. June 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Bang for Your Buck We stayed at the Aloft in Brooklyn in July and loved it, so we wanted to try the Minneapolis one when we came down for a Vikings game. It's super close to the Dome and the parking structure is very convenient and affordable ($15 a day compared to $30 in other parts of downtown). The staff was exquisite and the rooms are very clean (they are a bit small, but that's kind of their thing). We didn't realize they had a pool and hot tub (something unusual for downtown Minneapolis hotels) and wish we would have brought our suits, because there was only a few people using it. Lots of good restaurants are nearby and the Farmers Market is fun to check out. We will absolutely stay here again. October 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Feels more expensive than it costs I booked this hotel due to its proximity to an event being held at the Varsity Theater across the river. The event was on Halloween, and the temp turned out to be colder and windier than expected, so the walking path was out of the question. We then found out the hotel offered a FREE shuttle service. The very friendly driver took us right to the front door of the event, and gave us his card with hotel number and cell number when we would like to be picked back up. While checking in, the front desk even had little bags of candy for us since it was Halloween. The hotel smelled nice (we joked they must crush up fruit loops and spread them around) and was clean, parking was a ramp across the street and was very reasonable for being downtown and was within autostrart range from the lobby no problem. Room was nice, but the bed seemed a little uncomfortable. Only thing that was a little awkward was the shower. Its a very spacious glass shower, but the back wall is just an opaque window into the bedroom. The door to the toilet/shower is a sliding mirror, great for space saving, not great for privacy. Area would be a lot better in summer, with its parks and walking paths near the river. I will gladly stay here again. December 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Generally good, but overpriced for offerings Aloft is VERY OVERPRICED for its facilities. The standard per night price I paid is too much for a hotel with 1) no restaurant and no complimentary continental breakfast, 2) a front desk that doubles as a cash register for a very modest buffet with some overpriced products, 3) only two meeting rooms. All the rest of the experience was great, however. Courteous and competent staff, clean and well-outfitted rooms, good service. One minor note on design. It would be nice if there was a way to fill the sinks with water for certain grooming procedures. I improvised with a bottle cap, but the designer or the hotel could supply sink stoppers. All in all, a pleasant experience but too much to pay for it. August 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Super Location, Good Vibe If you are attending a convention, don't hesitate to stay at aloft. The shuttle service provided safe, reliable and pleasant transportation. If you are going to the Guthrie Theater, there could not be a better location with restaurants nearby and a short walk to the front door. The check-in, business center, bar and lounge are all compactly designed. The exercise room has space and great equipment. The small food pantry was disappointing, but the coffee machine perfect. The guest rooms are the surprise: comfortable bed, spacious, the sink and shower area are modern and clean. A very relaxing color scheme. I loved the shuttle staff. They were on time, helpful with suggestions and answers to my questions. November 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service!! Our stay at Aloft was amazing! Frank, the gentleman at the front desk, was incredible and made sure everything we could need or want was taken care of. He checked the hours and accommodations of nearby restaurants to find one that would suit us best. After he assisted us with dinner, he made sure our transportation was taken care of as well. The shuttle driver was very friendly and efficient and he provided front door service at our destination. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. This is now our hotel when we are in Minneapolis and we highly recommend it. Thanks Frank!! June 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The place to stay The Aloft is the place to stay when I come to Minneapolis. My travels bring me to town for around 4 weeks throughout each year. I have not found a better value for the service and hotel features that the Aloft Minneapolis provides. Whether it is their "aloha" welcome, the free local shuttle, special requests or recommendations on local attractions, the staff is the best in the industry at providing above and beyond service. The atmosphere is relaxed and upbeat, something that needs to be experienced. Highly recommned the Aloft Minneapolis as a place to stay when in town. January 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Location is awesome! This hotel was close to all the things that we were doing for the weekend. Close to the theater and U of M! It was clean and very modern. Our only problem was that it was so modern we couldn't figure out the lights! I needed to leave early Sunday morning and only needed the light on in the bathroom and instead all of them(lights) came on and I couldn't get the sleeping area to go out! So everyone ended up waking up whereas in other hotels I would have been able to leave without waking anyone! I am sure it was a "easy" fix but no one shared with us... September 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Loud Music/Poor service This hotel may be suited to the business person during the week, but on the weekends the music in the bar is so loud you have to shout in the lobby to talk to the front desk clerk, and some of the items in the bathroom of my first floor room actually were making noises from the vibration from below. The music played until 2:00 am. Obviously they are more concerned for the bar clients than the hotel guests! The hotel staff left much to be desired as 2 different clerks told me help me with an issue, and then never followed through. The third clerk told me they were full when they weren't - so when the music was blaring, I assumed I had no options, then the next clerk said they had plenty of rooms, and could have moved me easily. This hotel needs to place ALL guests on the 3rd floor and above on weekends. I am not a partier, but after midnight, I think a hotel should provide guests an atmosphere conducive to sleep. Definitely the worst SPG hotel I have ever stayed at! The reviews on Google state similar things - wish I would have read them before my stay! November 22, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for after the wedding at the Dayblock. Everything was comfortable. The room was a bit small, but certainly okay. Close to the Day Block, December 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly Staff (aka 'hosts"), simple, straight-forward and it all works My first stay at the Aloft Minneapolis was great. Parked, checked in, grabbed a few "goodies" from the self-service food area to charge to my room, then was in my room in minutes connected to the internet, watching TV and muching on my purchased goodies. I didn't have time to work out or swim in the salt water swimming pool (not a chlorinated pool), but will do so during my business stay next week. As a 9-year elite tier SPG customer, I even requested some room specifics which were provided by Aloft. Now, that's the way to treat guests and keep my business. June 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by It's in a great location This hotel is in a great location, the staff is wonderful, and for the type of hotel the food and bar were above average BUT... the heat and air conditioning are awful, very loud and the room was either way too cold or way too hot and we never changed the thermostat from 73 we tried but it didn't seem to have anything to do with the temperature so we set it at 73 and complained. The beds are okay - kind of hard - but okay. The pillows are plentiful but they are all big and firm - hotels that give you a firm and a soft selection are way better! September 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sleek modern style; super location! This was my first time staying in downtown Minneapolis. Aside from the "Wow" factor I experienced when I first walked into the Aloft lobby, I was very appreciative of the hotel's location in the picturesque and historic Mills neighbourhood, which is also only a short shuttle/cab ride to upper downtown. Our room was compact, but stunning in it's Scandinavian-style simplicity. I loved the bathroom vanity and sliding mirrored door leading to the shower. The bed was a little firm for my taste, but I have trouble sleeping away from home at the best of times. Parking was not free, but it was relatively inexpensive and very convenient. The hotel staff were friendly and very knowledgeable about the area amenities. We would definitely stay at Aloft again! August 22, 2014
  • 2015-03-28T17:37:09.072-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_230, tr_230
  • loc_en_US, sid_3074, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only