Aloft Richmond West

  • 3939 Duckling Drive
  • Glen Allen,
  • Virginia
  • 23060
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room. Minors are welcomed with an accompanied adult at the minimum age of 21.

Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 199 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Halls loud I've stayed a number of times at Aloft, but this time was disappointing. With a Bar downstairs that opened to the street, it was loud til after midnight, then the hallways were very loud with people opening and closing doors and talking loudly til after 3:30am. didn't realize how loud the rooms were for anyone in the halls. June 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice location, not business friendly While I love the location of the this hotel, it is really not business traveler friendly. There are no plugs easily accessible when you are sitting at the desk to work. If you are sitting at the desk to work, you can look out the window - that is all. I like to catch up on the news while cleaning out my e-mail, but you cannot see the TV and your laptop (unless you want to sit on the bed) at the same time. If you do not need to get any work done while sitting in your room in the evening, then this is a great hotel. I will probably look for something else in the area for my next visit to Richmond. September 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel was GREAT as usual but... There were no breakfast sheets available for me to pre-order. The front desk ask me to come down on the morning and order. I was told in the morning it would take 20 minutes, and I could not wait. I asked for a bagel, to be quick, and there were none available. I left with a yogurt. August 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Family travel We were part of a group of ten families traveling with an AAU basketball team. The facilities were great. The room was great. The staff was great. The hotel was great. The pool and workout room was great. Parking convenient and Short Pump is a really neat place. Thanks Aloft. April 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel was awesome with great staff Awesome hotel! Great service! Marc is the best bartender So friendly and knows our names after first meeting. Can't wait to come back!stephen the front desk person was very welcoming, sink was broken and they fixed it immediately upon my request. March 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Home away from home Darelne and Mark are the best. They are always welcoming and helpful with deciding which restaurants are in the area and are definitely focused on customer service. Always look forward to seeing them when I am there. March 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyed our first time visit to this hotel. Different but enjoyable. Room was comfortable and met our needs for the weekend. Staff was friendly and helpful, an excellent group of people. January 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Aloft stay I discovered Aloft when searching for pet friendly accommodations. My husband, dog, and I had a wonderful stay. No additional fee either. August 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by An Amazing Weekend I had a fantastic time in Richmond, and the Aloft Hotels was an incredibly comfortable, beautiful, and accommodating place. The staff was also so incredible. I look forward to staying there again. May 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great staff Everyone is very helpful. Markita displays excellent customer service and is competent. October 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Erin, Asst Mgr, was very helpful and outstanding Personality.. August 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Usually good I love Aloft properties and try to stay at them whenever I travel. I have had two recent experiences over the past year at this Richmond location. The staff here is very friendly and accommodating - everything you would expect from a Starwood hotel. First, no hot water. It was a rude jump start to my day. But I decided to give the hotel a second try. Most recently, I was assigned a room on the main floor near the pool and hotel mechanical systems. Throughout the night there was constant noise from the mechanical room. I will continue to stay at all Starwood Properties, maybe not this one again till some of the bugs are worked out. March 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Maintenance DIfficulties While we had no problems checking into our room, once there we found the sink was backed up and the toilet did not flush. We called the front desk and they sent someone up. This person was not able to do it (she came back a second time). At about 10 p.m. she said that in fifteen minutes the maintenance person would be there to fix the toilet. It took him close to an hour to get to our room. And while he was able to get the toilet to flush once, it still did not work. We were only staying one night so we let it be. Also the telephones made annoying beeping noises during the night like they were out of batteries. I had to unplug them. September 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by A little disappointing... When we pulled up for our stay we were excited. A cool look and great area had us thinking we made a great choice. We were informed at check-in (email before would have been better) that the pool was unavailable. My kids were disappointed, seeing that we made sure in our search that the hotel had a functioning pool. We had a drink at the bar after dinner and asked if we could take wine glasses back to our room to enjoy some wine we brought with us and the answer was no. We were handed a plastic cup. The mattresses were really bad with both my wife and I having issues. i was disappointed because we walked in excited and left unhappy. April 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always Fantastic My husband, mother and I stay here two to three times a year. We love the rooms, always clean and meets our needs for an extended weekend. The staff remembers us every time we check in. My mom walks with a cane and is blind in one eye so sometimes she may need added help and the staff always go above and beyond. We use this hotel for the NASCAR Races held in Richmond and my mom comes along for a relaxing time the staff has walked her to the pool and back to the room and has even brought her breakfast as she is afraid to do it on her own. They also check on her throughout the day with out anyone having to ask or request this service. When travel or spending anytime in Richmond we will always use this hotel as they make us feel like family. April 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Totally fails at basic services. The hotel has cool décor and modern style, but totally fails in functioning as a good place for families. Coolness does not make up for the lack of basics! The loft-style room means that the bathroom door does not lock (no fan either - yuck), and someone in the sink area can actually peek into the toilet area. If one has to use the bathroom in the night, he has to go in the pitch dark or turn on the one bathroom light that also lights up the common sink area, waking everyone else up. The bench placement under the TV is inconvenient, because anyone over 5 feet tall hits the back of their head on the TV. There is only one other chair in the room. The hotel pool was possibly the smallest I have ever seen. 2 or 3 active kids would fill it up. The pool table was not in good shape, and the sticks were held together with tape. Lack of signage was a big problem. We are not stupid, but never saw any signs in the parking garage directing us to the registration desk. We walked around the entire outside of the building in the rain to find the entrance. There were two elevators in the lobby that (confusingly) each went to different places and had different buttons. The hotel has 'reserved parking' for each room, but the staff didn't tell some of our party about it, and then told other members of our party to ignore the signs. Needless to say, we wanted our reserved spot, which was in a good location, so we got mad when someone else took it for the night. The bar area had an event planned that night, so the parking lot filled up. Also, the bar area was probably about 100 feet from our hotel room, and there were over a hundred very loud guests at the party until midnight. Despite the fact that the staff said the area was supposed to be sound-proofed, it was very loud. In the morning, one of us went to the "Recharge" area to try to check out breakfast. He never could figure out how to order breakfast, and no one offered to assist him. He was there for at least 20 minutes. So, we ate somewhere else. Oh yeah, last but not least, the fridge doesn't have a little freezer area to recharge ice packs (fail!), and the hair dryer only worked on the low setting. October 15, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disgusting The duvets were not washed and if they were then appearance must not be a priority. Both I and a colleague of mine had what appeared to be blood and food stains on our duvets and my pillowcases had holes in them. TC and Catherine were very pleasant and accommodating when we contacted them about the matter. Catherine offered to have housekeeping to wash and replace them once they got in which would be about a 2 hour process which we appreciated, however, we still find it unsettling that this wasn't done prior to our arrival. My colleague checked out of her room and ended up bunking in the other bed in my room. It's extremely disappointing to have such a beautiful and modern hotel in such a great location with such disgusting practices. I work in a field in which hundreds if not thousands of college counselors will come through your area at any given time during the fall or spring and we rely on one another for hotel and restaurant referrals and Aloft-Richmond West will not be somewhere that I would refer and would in fact encourage them to cancel their reservations if asked. April 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This is a hotel for young people who need to be economical. This is a hotel for young people who need to be economical April 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Serious retraining needed After driving for twelve hours, we checked in. When I made the reservations I specifically stated we would be bringing our pet. So after the front desk clerk checked us in, in the most unprofessional check in experience I've had, I asked about the area to walk our pet and he stated that he didnt know I had a pet so we had to redo our keys because he gave us a non pet room. We went to our room and it was filthy. We attempted to try and sleep as we were exhausted. However the stench in the room prohibited us from doing so, that combined with the filth you knew you were in made it impossible. We went to the front desk to request another room and he refused, we stated we would be sleeping in the truck and he said alright have a great night. The parking lot ground area is filled with chicken bones. I have no idea where they are from but it's not the first impression I would imagine the hotel brand would want. At 7 am, I spoke with the general manager and he was apologetic and offered us a different room and comped us the night before. We went together to look at the room which we could not sleep in and I was concerned that he said the stench was due to our not operating the air conditioner control correctly, the filth on the wall was dings, however as a guest who stays 300 plus nights a year in a hotel I can differentiate between filth and dings, the filth on the window ledge was chipped paint and the reason for the dirty carpet and the moldy grout in the bathroom and shower was a lack of updates to the room. The new room he offered was better, at least we could breath, a plus, and it wasn't as filthy as the first room. If we weren't in desperate need of a shower and needing to get to our daughters school for the parental weekend, we would have moved elsewhere. We were supposed to stay until Monday but honestly couldn't relax due to the fact that we just felt dirty. We couldn't sit on the furniture, lay in the bed or even shower and feel clean, we spent as little time as we could there- sleeping and showering, and even though its a non smoking hotel every time you get on the elevator it has a strong odor of cigarette smoke, as if someone had just been smoking on it. So on Saturday morning we called the front desk from our daughters school and told them that we would be checking out on Sunday. They informed us that there is a fifty dollar fee if you check out early. this hotel has no incentive to meet the guests expectations. October 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A few minor issues Out of ice cream in the pantry. Noise at 230am in the hall. A beeping noise in the phone waked me up during the night. The seat in the dumbell bench was loose. Otherwise, fitness room was in great shape. Good internet connection. Close to WholeFoods and restaurants. April 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not Pet Friendly I booked a room in this hotel when my power was out and specifically chose it because they advertised that they were pet friendly. I called to make a reservation and confirm that they would accept my 2 cats with no additional fee. When I arrived at the hotel, they saw my cats and said "Oh, we only accept dogs. We'll give you a room, but you will have to pay a fee of $100" (more than the price of the room!). I was desperate so said ok. When I got to the room, I called customer service and they asked the Manager to refund the fee. They did refund the fee, but implied that I lied about the reservation person telling me they accepted cats. Very poor management. July 4, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Aloft/Starwood Would Be Ashamed The staff is not friendly or professional. They sit in the corner by the computers and check their email/social networks as to not use the computers they have to get up and check you in on. You are a pain when you walk in, not once are you thanked for staying with them or recognized for being an SPG member. Staff brought their children to work, dressed unprofessionally, spoke to each other very disrespectfully, and treated guests as though they were a pain and it was a huge hassle to check in or check out. The hotel itself is in terrible condition for being as new as it is. Awesome location, disappointing property and staff. July 16, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Aloft Richmond The Aloft Front Desk Gentleman who checked me in at approximately 10pm was Excellent!! Lovely welcoming, helpful and polite. The reason for the 4 rating on the staff was that at 8:29 am there was a knock at the door by a woman with a clip board checking if I was still in my room - obviously Housekeeping!!!!!! If your check out policy is until 12N WHY are you knocking at the door!!!! Didn't think I needed to put DONOT DISTURB Sign out and incidentally I left at 10am there was no Housekeeping carts in sight. By the way my colleague 2 doors away not only hair in the shower but stained sheets Gross Gross Gross!!!!! January 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Odd Hotel, New Staff, Sloppy Cleaning First visit to this hotel and here are my observations: 1. Clump of hair left in shower from previous guest and wasn't cleaned. Wash cloths that I left in shower till 3rd day. 2. Sink stopper was stuck on 3rd day by cleaning staff and they didn't fix it. There was no mechanism to lift it so sink was full of dirty water. 3. Parking situation is bizarre with 2 elevators needed to get to vehicle 4. Ironing board in room is for someone 3-foot tall. 5. No closet to hang clothes, just 2 wall mounts with hangers. No ability to hang long slacks. 6. Front desk staff were always just standing around and one guy kept saying "I'm new but has been there 4 months he said and he was clueless". January 31, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 Dysfunctional hotel I have stayed here four times now and had an issue every time. But the last one was my breaking point. My bathroom had a lump of hair from the previous guest and the shampoo dispenser was missing. I complained to the supervisor who had no apology. I came back late that evening and found that not only was my bathroom still unclean, but now my hotel room had been left open. I got front desk to give me another room, but he did not offer help to move my luggage. The next day I ran into the supervisor and informed him that my complaint had gone ignored, he again had no apology. The staff is unsympathetic, rude and untrained. March 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room I requested a king size bed upon check in. I was checking in together with some of my co-workers. It was a business trip. I was told that all the king size beds were already taken, however, my co-worker who checked immediately after me was offered a King size bed without asking for it. I have worked in the hotel industry for some time myself and understand room assignments. I did not feel valued since my request was not met. I then got to my room and the underneath the sink was a dirty q-tip, got in my bed and there was a big ball of hair in under the covers...other than that I like the design of the hotel. I was a little disappointed since the hotel came highly reco May 9, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by I was disappointed For a new hotel I was disappointed. One elevator wasn't working, the pillows were uncomfortable, the toilet didn't flush well, the fire suppression hood was not approved by the fire marshal (or so we were told) so cooked meats were not available at the breakfast we had pre-paid for. There were lots of scuff marks on the walls and there is a gap in side sliding door separating the toilet from the sink area (poor design resulting in lack of privacy). In addition, when we checked in we had to tell them we had signed up for a pre-paid breakfast which was a little awkward because their system didn't show it apparently. August 21, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location to Food - Not Well Maintained This hotel is very close to food and shopping. My disappointment is that the hotel is not well maintained and is somewhat dirty. All the window ledges have dirt as well as every corner of the room. They have a pool table in the lobby but all the sticks are broken. The gym is nice. The pool was closed due to maintenance. For the money this was disappointing. April 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Comfy bed/outside of the room no fun We came for a "date day and night" for our 20th anniverary and were looking for a fun place with other things to do as well as a great room. During the day we planned to spend some time on the outdoor patio and swim in the indoor pool. The key wouldn't work in the gym or the pool area so we asked and were told that the pool was closed for renovations and since the outdoor patio was connected to that area it was also closed. That is something I think we should have been made aware of even in the "special notes" section on the website. If we were just looking for a room we could have found one much cheaper. April 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not luxury, but nice I love the location of this hotel and the staff is great. That said, this is not a luxury hotel. The bed is barely passable for comfort, the set up is weird. You are confined to sitting on the bed to watch TV because you can not do it from the desk or the combination luggage rack, bench. There is no sofa or easy chair in the room. Although clean overall, I have stayed in several rooms with maintenance problems, broken shower doors or the smell of animal urine. The walk in shower and trendy sinks are nice. I like the fridge. Wish it had a microwave.. I like the European feel. The gym and lounge are awesome and its nice to have a guest laundry on site. The covered parking is nice. Did I mention that the location is AWESOME! February 14, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Privacy Statement | Text Only