Aloft Richmond West

  • 3939 Duckling Drive
  • Glen Allen,
  • Virginia
  • 23060
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 246 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Staff and good location Location to restaurants and shops excellent. The Staff was very attentive to any needs and most courteous when interacting with guest. I found the Staff to be most professional and ready to assist in manner needed to make my stay a great experience. Will definitely recommend ALOFT to my friend who travel to Richmond/Glen Allen. Thank you for a very pleasant visit. November 11, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sub-Par Hotel When I walked into the room I was immediately disappointed. The room looked spacious in the pictures on the web but the room was tiny and cramped. The bed was one of the hardest on which I have ever tried to sleep. The ceiling in the room was unfinished and very poorly done, it was an eyesore to look at when I was in bed. I plan to never stay at another Aloft Hotel, ever. The only good thing about the hotel was the staff, they were very eager to please and went out of the way to find a comforter without feathers, I am allergic to feathers. November 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pleasant location, very nice staff Reserved this hotel on the fly, just an hour before arrival. Had stayed in other Starwood hotels in the area, but not this one - wanted to try. Well located, near highway and shopping centers, just outside Rchmond - easy to head for either DC or Charlottesville - but off main road - more like an inn - windows overlooking smaller street with shops and restaurants - easy pedestrian area. Have two small dogs - staff very nice about them - easy stay from that aspect, Staff very nice to me, too - at check in, during stay and on check out. Room very comfortable, well lit, had a good night's sleep. As per some other reviews, I found hair in room - a wad on carpet inside door - I'm not sure what the deal is - but I figure something about the carpet or cleaning equipment is not fitting together - rather than any issue with the housekeepers themselves. I would definitely consider staying here again, and certainly prefer to the Starwood properties at the airport and south end of town. November 4, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Disappointed My husband and I usually stay at the Westin hotel in Richmond, Virginia, we try to stay every year for our wedding anniversary. On this trip we had tickets to see a comedian at the Funny Bone. I went on the Starwood website to book a room and discovered that there was a ALoft hotel only five min from the comedy club. I thought perfect it's still Starwood brand and it would be fun to try a new spot. Once arriving we had a bit of confusion as far as where to park. We took a chance and parked in the parking lot in front of the hotel. We then couldn't figure out where to go from there until we asked some people walking by, they put us on the right track. We arrived at the desk and quickly fell in love with the decor, very bright and upbeat. Guest services assistant was very friendly and informed us of all the bells and whistles she even gave us directions to the club and gave us some ideas for dinner. Now here's where we go wrong! The room I will list 1. The floors were dirty, stains in the carpet, carpet looked like it hadn't been vacuumed, bathroom floor was absolutely filthy! Hair, dirt, there was pink mold around the bases around the shower stall. Bed had hair in it, stains oń the neck rolls , stains on the the seat under the television, The walls had several black marks on them. The mirrors in the bathroom area were dirty. My husband was ready to leave but we stuck it out so that we could see the comedian. Once we returned to the room we slept in our clothes. We both were so tired. I wanted to take a shower so my husband let me wear his flip flops to shower in (I was so creeped out!). We finally gave up and went to the desk to check out. The young man on duty was polite and asked me how was everything, I told the issues that we had and he advised me that he would alert the manger. I love my Starwood brands and have been extremely pleased with them but this was a first for us. Well so much for our tenth year anniversary. November 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by will not be back This hotel was recommended by an associate because of its location. The location was fine, the hotel was not. The room was 86 F hot when I checked in. The thermostat was set to 70 F but did not seem to have any control. The front desk said they would fix the problem. It was 79 F in the morning so it wasn't fixed very well. (It turns out the elevator control room was next to my room and the temperature in that room was 90 F which had a significant effect on my room temperature). The shampoo and soap dispenser in the shower were both labeled as body soap even though soap one was blue, one was white, but there was no way to tell which was which. The people talking in the next room sounded like they were in my room, very poor sound insulation. There is no way to watch TV unless you sit on the bed; the couch is located under the TV. Maybe the audience for this hotel is a younger person than I, but once was enough for me. November 1, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Three strikes you are out! Checked in last night with 4 girlfriends - we each booked our own room. Carried in luggage and headed to the bathroom to freshen up for dinner. Saw one hair on the floor by the sink. Okay - I picked it up and threw it out. And even more hairs in the the toilet area. Started to question if the room was actually cleaned. Went to my friends rooms and two of their rooms had the same issue and one of them had a bed that appeared to have been slept in and stains on the carpet. Informed the front desk and the laundry man was sent up to clean. We were moved to new rooms - low and behold - more hair on the floor. Giving up, we checked out. Very disappointed. October 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy access Stayed overnight with late check out provided due to SPG status. This area has gotten busier since our last stay. More restaurant offerings within walking distance since last stay. October 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Friendly team This was my first trip to this hotel and I enjoyed it. The team was very friendly upon arrival and I enjoyed the set up of the lobby and services offered. October 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by ALOFT in Richmond for the Folk Music Festival This was a great location to access Richmond by car (20 min or less downtown). There was easy parking at the hotel and the room was accommodating. We did feel the offer of a "breakfast package" was misleading as we were led to believe upon booking that our room came with breakfast for 2 (AAA Breakfast Package), but in fact it did not. Hotel staff informed us we had a one-time $10 credit to use during our two day stay in there nicely appointed snack bar. Then when chatting online with the ALOFT booking site I was informed, "The Aloft does not offer breakfast. What we included in your rate from AAA is give you a $10 voucher to use at re:fuel by Aloft." We used the voucher, but would have liked the breakfast for 2 extended over the days booked! Enough about breakfast. The hotel is designed and branded for "cool" and it is efficient, clean and nicely appointed. It's arty and edgy. There is a bar and lobby, but be aware that those facilities may be off limits as they were when we visited. They had been rented to a private party, therefore we swam in the pool and hung out there. The kids liked it. We liked it. Lots of restaurants and a Whole Foods right around the corner, too. October 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impressed with the WHOLE Family Friendly Atmosphere! Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. Beds were comfortable. Adjoining rooms was so convienent, enriching our reunion with 2 year old grandson. We walked across the street to the Richmond Children's Museum, and the sandwich shop for lunch and a high end Tex-Mex restaurant that was also kid friendly. I appreciated being able to sit with my dog JEB in the lobby, also impressed with the dog bed, toy and treat. The pool was so relaxing we decided to stay an extra day. Breakfast was delicious. I researched a lot of Hotels before choosing this one and I made the right choice. October 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Totally fails at basic services. The hotel has cool décor and modern style, but totally fails in functioning as a good place for families. Coolness does not make up for the lack of basics! The loft-style room means that the bathroom door does not lock (no fan either - yuck), and someone in the sink area can actually peek into the toilet area. If one has to use the bathroom in the night, he has to go in the pitch dark or turn on the one bathroom light that also lights up the common sink area, waking everyone else up. The bench placement under the TV is inconvenient, because anyone over 5 feet tall hits the back of their head on the TV. There is only one other chair in the room. The hotel pool was possibly the smallest I have ever seen. 2 or 3 active kids would fill it up. The pool table was not in good shape, and the sticks were held together with tape. Lack of signage was a big problem. We are not stupid, but never saw any signs in the parking garage directing us to the registration desk. We walked around the entire outside of the building in the rain to find the entrance. There were two elevators in the lobby that (confusingly) each went to different places and had different buttons. The hotel has 'reserved parking' for each room, but the staff didn't tell some of our party about it, and then told other members of our party to ignore the signs. Needless to say, we wanted our reserved spot, which was in a good location, so we got mad when someone else took it for the night. The bar area had an event planned that night, so the parking lot filled up. Also, the bar area was probably about 100 feet from our hotel room, and there were over a hundred very loud guests at the party until midnight. Despite the fact that the staff said the area was supposed to be sound-proofed, it was very loud. In the morning, one of us went to the "Recharge" area to try to check out breakfast. He never could figure out how to order breakfast, and no one offered to assist him. He was there for at least 20 minutes. So, we ate somewhere else. Oh yeah, last but not least, the fridge doesn't have a little freezer area to recharge ice packs (fail!), and the hair dryer only worked on the low setting. October 15, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Serious retraining needed After driving for twelve hours, we checked in. When I made the reservations I specifically stated we would be bringing our pet. So after the front desk clerk checked us in, in the most unprofessional check in experience I've had, I asked about the area to walk our pet and he stated that he didnt know I had a pet so we had to redo our keys because he gave us a non pet room. We went to our room and it was filthy. We attempted to try and sleep as we were exhausted. However the stench in the room prohibited us from doing so, that combined with the filth you knew you were in made it impossible. We went to the front desk to request another room and he refused, we stated we would be sleeping in the truck and he said alright have a great night. The parking lot ground area is filled with chicken bones. I have no idea where they are from but it's not the first impression I would imagine the hotel brand would want. At 7 am, I spoke with the general manager and he was apologetic and offered us a different room and comped us the night before. We went together to look at the room which we could not sleep in and I was concerned that he said the stench was due to our not operating the air conditioner control correctly, the filth on the wall was dings, however as a guest who stays 300 plus nights a year in a hotel I can differentiate between filth and dings, the filth on the window ledge was chipped paint and the reason for the dirty carpet and the moldy grout in the bathroom and shower was a lack of updates to the room. The new room he offered was better, at least we could breath, a plus, and it wasn't as filthy as the first room. If we weren't in desperate need of a shower and needing to get to our daughters school for the parental weekend, we would have moved elsewhere. We were supposed to stay until Monday but honestly couldn't relax due to the fact that we just felt dirty. We couldn't sit on the furniture, lay in the bed or even shower and feel clean, we spent as little time as we could there- sleeping and showering, and even though its a non smoking hotel every time you get on the elevator it has a strong odor of cigarette smoke, as if someone had just been smoking on it. So on Saturday morning we called the front desk from our daughters school and told them that we would be checking out on Sunday. They informed us that there is a fifty dollar fee if you check out early. this hotel has no incentive to meet the guests expectations. October 9, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by What a let down I wanted to stay at a Aloft hotel for years. This past weekend, my boyfriend and I spontaneously took a trip to Richmond and we booked a king size room at the Richmond West Aloft hotel. When we tried to check in, the front office receptionist was pre-occupied with the half a dozen calls that came in. She picked up each call and had a full conversation with each caller. Since I could hear half of each conversation, I picked up on the fact that each caller had a complaint. One man called to complain that his toilet wouldn't flush. The receptionist snidely commented, after hanging up, that the guest "didn't know how to flush the toilet." She finally got around to checking us in, and sent us to room 539. When we opened the door to the room the used sheets and towels were in a massive wad in front of the door. I called the front office to explain what we found, and I was told to come down to get a key to another room. The second room was room 419. The staff gave us a free breakfast for our inconvenience, and we headed back upstairs. This room had a musty smell and visible water stains. I brushed my teeth, and the water never drained. Then I used the restroom, shockingly, the toilet didn't flush. Either it was a coincidence that two toilets in the hotel didn't flush, or we were given the room that the other guest complained about. I called the front office again. This time they said that they would call me back shortly. Ten minutes later, someone called me back. The same receptionist explained that there wasn't a maintenance worker on sight and she "doesn't know how to fix toilets." Another office worker came up five minutes later to room 411. This room was was clean and everything worked. The Richmond Aloft hotel looks nice in the pictures and from a distance, but the fixtures are cheap up close and the staff isn't trained. I am far from picky when it comes to hotels. My expectations were high for Aloft, however the reality of the hotel measured up with discount mom and pop motels. October 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Superficial Appeal Nicely funky Euro-setting, efficient use of space in the room, though with some loss of privacy re the toilet/shower area. When details are overlooked/ignored, it seems the hotel only cares about the looks, not the operation (i.e., guests). We arrived to 2 pieces of tissue in the box and about the same number of squares on the TP roll (with no extras in the room). Pillow cases were way too short for pillows, so they stuck out. And things like the numbering for the garage levels doesn't match the hotel floors, so you have to learn the difference (push 2B to go to 3). Also, made reservations that included breakfast. At check-in not mentioned. When I asked, receptionist brought up record (I assume) and confirmed b'fast not included. Two days later, when we checked out, they mentioned we hadn't used our breakfast credit as clearly listed on the record. Could have been special; turned out to be like most places, littered with frustrations and inefficiencies. October 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel has European feel:) Enjoyed the "European" feel of the hotel. October 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Heard "EVERYTHING" going on in the adjoining room: I was referred to this hotel beacuse the Westin was booked. The Westin referred me to the ALoft saying it was highly recommended for Westin patrons. Never again. The walls of the hotel are extremely sound transmitting, In twenty five years of business travel I have never heard every word so clearly as this situation. The front desk manager immediately acknowledged that the walls are sound transmitting and gave me earplugs. While my room was immediately comped my wife and i lost a total night of sleep due to the problem. I do not believe I am the first patron to raise this issue. I would like to speak to a corporate executive about this experieince. September 30, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Starwood Property ever stayed in Beyond a doubt, this was the worst Starwood property that we have ever stayed in. The manager of the property needs to spend 1 night to verify what i am talking about - Matress was like sleeping on concrete... Very disatisfied... No more Aloft's for me and my family... I may have just as well flushed the points that i used down the toilet... September 30, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Jackhammer beneath my pillow! After traveling from CA to Richmond on 9/23/13, my husband and I checked into this aloft after midnight. The desk clerk assigned us to a room on the second floor (which is the main floor above the parking area). Being quite exhausted, we hoped to be able to sleep in. However, at 8:00 a.m. the sudden noise of a jackhammer beneath us literally made me jump out of bed! Then a hammer striking a pipe joined the cacophony. Our question is why were we placed in a room so close to construction noise? There are several levels above or beyond that site of construction. We did not complain to the morning desk clerk because we were so angry that we feared that we would lose our temper! Poor treatment of your guests! September 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great staff very impressed with staff, they helped me find best rates for next stay - helped me get tea at night, snacks at the bar September 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Maintenance DIfficulties While we had no problems checking into our room, once there we found the sink was backed up and the toilet did not flush. We called the front desk and they sent someone up. This person was not able to do it (she came back a second time). At about 10 p.m. she said that in fifteen minutes the maintenance person would be there to fix the toilet. It took him close to an hour to get to our room. And while he was able to get the toilet to flush once, it still did not work. We were only staying one night so we let it be. Also the telephones made annoying beeping noises during the night like they were out of batteries. I had to unplug them. September 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A really nice Hotel I picked this hotel because I saw it in the past online. It really meet all my needs, the staff was Great, Donna at the front desk explained everything to me about the hotel and that made my stay excellent. September 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Unique, cozy atmosphere, great featyures I enjoyed my first time stay. The locatin was convenient to the mall and downtown Richmond. Walking to the mall was an option for exercise, I would recommend a sta for others. Rooms were confortable and I was ticked pink at the glass shower doors. Thw shampoo/conditioner was excellent. September 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pet-friendly I'm very glad to have found a hotel that is both pet-friendly and within close proximity to Richmond (about 15 min). My husband and I stayed in a King Deluxe room, which provided sufficient space for us along with our two dogs, an English bulldog and a pug. The gen. manager, Edward, called me in a timely manner the following day (Monday, few days before our booked stay) after I called to inquire about their pet policy and was very informative and accommodating. The hotel is located within a shopping complex surrounded by condos, yet it was pretty quiet and not too busy, a great place to take the dogs out for a walk. The staff were very friendly and welcoming (always greeted us with a smile). We're not very needy so we did not require much of their service and they did not bother us at all, which we liked also. Only suggestion I have is to add a seal to the bottom of the glass shower door as the water still leaks out onto the floor (not even the shower mat could soak it all up) and better filled pillows as the current down pillows fall flat, not providing enough head & neck support. Otherwise, the hotel has many great amenities, including free water bottles, tea, & coffee in rooms, and also promotes green practices (with recycling cans provided in rooms and hotel allows guests to opt out of daily cleaning). September 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average While the location of the hotel is great, the hotel itself is average. The staff are fine, but not overly friendly, which you would usually experience in the south. The remote in my room was broken and the cordless phone kept beeping and while the staff fixed these, there was no apology or anything "above and beyond". This has been typical of my experience with aLoft properties in general. August 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Richmond West Aloft I havent stayed at one of these starwood resorts and this was my first time. I love the atmosphere and the quietness of the room. I got the best sleep I have had in years. Such a unique place with everything a frequent traveler needs. August 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 Still would recommend As usual the comfortable spotless king bed. The only "ding" in this review would be that the bathroom seemed to have been hurriedly attended to, with a slow-draining sink, a shower that had not been fully wiped-down, and candy wrappers in the wastebasket. An odd oversight for this hotel considering the rest of the room was perfect. August 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Erin, Asst Mgr, was very helpful and outstanding Personality.. August 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average hotel Needs improvement on room cleanliness and general cleanliness August 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ok Hotel I was never checked into the room and could not order a movie... even after asking the front desk to take care of it. My room never had towels in it... just a couple of hand towels. I asked the front desk to take care of it before I left for dinner with a group... still not towels. Front desk staff was not very attentive. Would not stay at this hotel again!!! July 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel has thin walls Biggest complaint is that room on one side had a party, and room on other side coughed all night. The front desk took care of the party, but was surprised I could here someone cough in the next room. July 25, 2013
  • 2015-07-29T16:15:29.011-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_246, tr_246
  • loc_en_US, sid_3139, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only