Aloft Asheville Downtown

  • 51 Biltmore Avenue
  • Asheville,
  • North Carolina
  • 28801
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 326 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by love love! Everyone is so very friendly, even when we checked in almost midnight Christmas morning. We traveled with our "canine child", max, and the hotel is so dog friendly (as is the town). We chose Aloft for this reason and the location--perfect location right in middle of town, right in the middle of everything. Perfect for walking everywhere and walking our pup. Housekeeping was so kind. In addition, Caitlin (?Caitlyn) was so sweet and patient with me after we checked out--I left my purse in our room, then my wallet, as she was juggling many at the desk. (Thanks much!) Recommended to people walking through asking about our pup, as well as friends here. Cannot wait to return! December 31, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 maybe if you are 20 years old you might like this place This is basically a self-service hotel. Not sure how it qualifies as category 4. Check-in MAY be available when you go inside - maybe not - you may need to go to the 2nd floor where there is a disco and bar to check in or out. First room smelled vary bad. They moved us to a 2nd that wasn't so bad but still a little smelly. after dinner one night we returned to the hotel at 11:30 pm and couldn't get in. Door to the hotel would not open and no one was there in the lobby. Waited several minutes for someone to let us in. But, if you like loud DJ's and dancing maybe this would be a good place since the check-in/out counter on the 2nd floor is right in the middle of a disco bar. May 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too noisy The heating and cooling system was too loud and the noise from the street was constant. This was the only problem encountered but a good nights sleep is the most important attribute of any hotel and my wife and I struggled April 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Stay with awareness I stay at this property quite frequently. Location is great, nearby to some fine Asheville dining. The staff are very friendly and helpful and recognize me as a returning guest. ( I tip well) The cleanliness is not up to my standards however. Dogs are commonplace here. I would prefer to not have a room where a dog has slept. I think I got a flea bite a week or so ago & one stay there was dog food left on the carpet. Trash is not emptied when opting for housekeeping, leaving last nights takeout remains in the room. Tonight, old lipstick residue on the drinking glasses. A bit of an ick factor sorry to say. October 23, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Noisy hotel Our room was located on the 3rd floor directly above the bar area that had live music each night. We were not made aware of this fact at check-in. It would have been nice to have been given the option of a room further away from the bar area. The room was not insulated for sound and as a result we were able to hear the music and conversation in the bar area below. I called the front desk at 10pm to ask when the music would end and was told apathetically "the music ends around midnight". There was no offer to resolve the situation nor was there an apology offered. We come to Asheville frequently to get away and relax and were highly disappointed with our stay at Aloft. Not everyone who stays at your hotel is there for a party atmosphere. March 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel! Stayed here for just one night while in Asheville for work. What a great place to come rest my head after a long day at the office! The woman working the front desk was polite, patient, and answererd all my questions. The hotel lobby was pretty loud as there was a small band playing in the bar area, but once I got up to my room and shut the door, all that noise went away. The room is very modern in decoration and design. There are a ton of little touches that make this place special - the hotel offers breakfast at your door in the morning (although it's a little pricey) just by placing your request outside your door the night before. There is a carafe in your room that can be filled with water from down the hall (rather than having to buy bottles or (UGH) drink the dreaded tap water from the sink. The bed was AMAZINGLY comfortable. The hotel is located right in the heart of downtown shopping. I was able to walk to get some delicious dinner at night and breakfast the following morning. I'm headed back to Asheville next week, again for work, and will be staying here again. February 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff Emma is amazing! Alex did a great job checking me in. He is a native so he know all the spots to go in town! April 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location! Innovative & modern design. Very hip. Good use of space in the guest room. Hip, colorful decor. Great location: within walking distance to all the best restaurants and shops. Comfortable beds and white, fluffly towels. Environmentally conscious hotel. Friendly staff. Cool bar and lounge area. Well-equipped fitness room w/ free weights and top-notch cardio equipment. The only things which were only slightly disappointing was the un-heated outdoor pool (we were assured the pool was heated before we arrived) and housekeeping's forgetfulness when it came to replenishing the coffee and towels. January 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location, but... Very loud barking dog in room next door barked pretty much non-stop for several hours Saturday evening. He started up again Sunday morning. My wife & I love dogs. I'm glad that the hotel is dog firiendly. They are generally nice to have around, but this one constant barker spoiled our relaxing evening. The staff was symathetic, but weren't able to resolve the problem. The manager did make it up to us upon check out. This is not a quiet hotel. You can hear doors doors shutting, etc. Another inconvenience; this hotel doesn't have hotel parking. You have to use the public lot next door. It was full in the evenings. The staff said that when it's full, guests have to park on the street, often many blocks away. January 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Do not stay here if yoiu have pets. My husband and I checked into the hotel with are three dogs. Our daughter was getting married and we had to go to the wedding rehearsal. We were only at the rehearsal for about 15 minutes when we were called on my cell phone and told that we had to get back to the hotel because our dogs were barking. When I explained were we were they said to get back within an hour. My husband had to leave his daughters rehearsal and miss the rehearsal dinner to be with the dogs.We have never been in a hotel where room doors slam as loud as your establishment. Someone has to check this out. September 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rude Staff Members My wife and I travel as much as possible since becoming SPG members in 2007. This is our first and last stay at an Aloft hotel. The first room we checked into appeared clean on the surface but had a strong sweaty stale locker room odor. We were giving a different room, but it was stuck in the corner of the building and extremely difficult to maneuver the luggage cart without hitting the door of the adjacent room. The pictures online were misleading, giving the rooms a spacious look, when in fact it reminded me of a glorified dorm room. The support staff was very friendly and courteous, but the front desk staff was rude, unprofessional, and confrontational. I will not recommend this hotel to my family or friends. September 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Could Not Sleep I would not recommend this hotel because it is not a restful place. There were so many dogs barking, that I felt like I was sleeping in a dog kennel. The staff graciously agreed to move me to another room, but all floors had barking dogs (and owners were nowhere to be found). Also, the general customer base seemed to remind me of New Years Eve partiers who just turned 21. At all hours of the night, drunken fools would come back to their room, without any regard to the fact folks were trying to sleep. I'm all for fun, but this hotel does not offer a restful night's sleep. January 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great patio & pool, and pet friendly! I really enjoyed the pool area on the first really hot day of the year. And a few cocktails while sitting on the patio, watching the crowd go by on the street below was awesome. April 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Aloft I've stayed in . . . . I have stayed in many Alofts throughout the country. This is by far the best. Every staff member was superb, from Dexter, who checked us in, to the bar tenders and maids. Friendly, helpful, accomodative, and service oriented. This hotel is a model for others. Great location, great property, great service. Don't hesitate to book your stay here. Aloft is working out the kinks and they are improving the attention to details. March 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Guest You need to put in BOLD print re the sink stopper being push down-Most people are not accustomed to that type. The TV is slow to change channels,has low sound volume and your channel guide-needs some improving. The HVAC system is very noisy. March 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anniversary Week-end The Loft at Asheville was an awesome experience!! I have already told a ton of people that they would love the hotel, the town, the food and the nightlife. The staff was really a big help on where to go and what to do. We loved it!!! March 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect location for Beer City getaway The Aloft was our home base for a recent tour of the Asheville craft brewery scene. Centrally located, we were able to walk to all the downtown breweries and only used the car for a trip out to Biltmore. The hotel is very comfortable and great if you have pets. Our only recommendation would be that weekend travelers should request a room above the 3rd floor unless you want to hear the persistent thump-thump-thump of dance music from the lounge coming through the floor on Saturday night. The only con for our whole visit (and this is petty) is that the Aloft needs to upgrade the quality of its toilet paper. Seriously, it was like prison-grade TP. Everything else was top-notch and we'd definitely stay here again (and pack our own Charmin). July 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great accommodations and location The Aloft would be our first choice for a return visit to Asheville just on how we were treated, but the place is extremely accommodating to travelers with dogs as well. Courteous and efficient staff, first-class rooms and amenities, and a killer location on one of downtown Asheville's main drags--yet no problem with street noise. March 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by ok efficiency, staff could use some improvement New property in downtown Asheville. Given the efficiency style it's a relatively expensive property. Check-in is complicated by the fact there is often no one in the downstairs desk, so you have to walk up to the 2nd floor. There's no designated SPG status check-in. The check-in staff was not very helpful nor welcoming. Also had called ahead to leave a message for another guest above my late arrival and that message was never delivered. Room was modest and had not been thoroughly cleaned: complimentary toiletries in the room had not been refreshed since the last visitor and there was toilet paper shoved in the coffee maker. The door between the sink and shower/toilet was ridiculously poor quality and constantly banged into the sink. Would not stay again. December 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel in downtown Asheville If you want a great hotel to base out of to explore downtown Asheville (which everyone should do), this is the place to stay. It's also right next to the Orange Peel for you music lovers. We stayed there a week. I have no complaints, just one minor suggestion: It was annoying to have to enter the WIFI credentials in each time we returned to the room. It would be better off to change the userid/password once every month or so to keep any unwanted users off the system. (And I noticed they hadn't been changed in a few months,) December 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pet Friendly and excellent location My best hotel stay ever. This hotel is in a fantastic location with an attached parking garage ($5 per night), great layout and is super modern. The room and bathroom was bigger and nicer than I thought. Everything was very clean and worked. The third floor has a great bar and hang out area that spreads into a wonderful outdoor area with a great of the mountains, plently of seating and firepits. We walked EVERYWHERE and always ended up in this area. The breakfast and bar food was very good. It was the absolute perfect place to bring a dog and the staff could not have been more accomodating. I will recommened it to others and stay there again, Also, the staff has an obvious high standard of customer service, which was so refreshing. Great deal!!! March 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful location, beautiful views and fun staff ALoft is a lovely hotel in a perfect location with beautiful views. The fun and caring staff surprised us with an upgraded room with paper hearts covering the beds for our anniversary celebration. We loved having the filtered water available and a humidistat in our room with oh so comfortable beds. We shall return soon! March 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Strange billing procedure. I loved this hotel until it came time to check out. I have never had a hotel NOT give you a copy of your bill to review; they expected you to leave without knowing what charges were posted to your bill! They also post pending charges to your credit card and over 10 days later they are STILL pending. Very strange and unexplainable by the staff. The hotel itself is beautiful and in a great downtown location but I would hesitate about staying here again because of the problems at check out. They need to change billing procedures! May 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this hotel This hotel is super! great, airy lobby...cool music playing upon entrance....sweet, friendly staff....my room was very light, beautifully decorated. My view was spectacular....looking out onto the mountains of Asheville....really efficient location of plugs...even a radio which I could put my Iphone in and play my own music.....cool shower....everything modern....very comfortable firm bed....great pillows....love the location....fantastic restaurant right under the hotel...the Blackbird...super good food and atmosphere..... June 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by beautiful immaculate hotel with a serious problem i got no sleep-there is no sound proofing- you hear everything- when i told the desk they said they were well aware of the problems of the hotel and i should contact corporate- i could hear other people in the bathrooms - every time someone opened and closed there door it would slam or sound like they were breaking into my door- i considered sleeping in the car but it was to cold- staff was nice but nothing they could do so i am not faulting them- not sure why you have not done some simple things to help with the problem February 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb This hotel completely met all of our wants and needs. Even in the snow, the poolside fire was lit and the outside seating areas heated. The hotel lounge was warm and inviting and the bar staff was more than accommodating. The workout room was adequately equipped to get a nice workout in, even on the road. The proximity to all of the downtown shops was shocking! It was just mere blocks from most of the downtown shops and restaurants. Our car never left its parking pot. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone! March 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A nice hotel for the money We stayed here for a getaway weekend. The vibe is modern and cool, not exactly romantic, but interesting. The rooms are very small, but comfortable. I like the green aspects of the hotel like getting extra Starwood points for foregoing maid service and fresh towels. TV desperately needs an info channel. There was no way to know what was on other than channel flipping. WXYZ bar is very nice, with great mixed drinks and local beers. Coffee in the room is better than average. Love that the hotel is dog-friendly! May 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A very pleasant surprise and stay! First time we decided to stay downtown Asheville after using motels in and around the area for years. What a pleasant surprise! Aloft provided all the creature comforts of home in a well designed Euro style hotel room with amazing views of the city and surrounding mountains from the large windows. The bedding was absolute quality with down comforter and great mattress, and believe me, I'm the character from The Princess and the Pea! if there ever was one. I would recommend Aloft to all ages as it makes all other places seem a thing of the past. I also loved that we could step out and be right in the downtown area where all the excitement is. Everything within walking distance, great restaurants, galleries, cafes and of course music!! No parking worries. We'll definitely stay here again and again! December 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location This ALoft is right in the perfect location of Asheville. We parked our car and did not move it for 30+ hours as everything we wanted to do was within walking distance. The one thing I did not like regarding this particularly ALoft is the bathroom door. It is not large enough to actually close; when you slide it shut on one side it opens on the other; no modesty in this bathroom. I would highly recommend they replace the bathroom sliding door with either a real door or one wide enough to completly pull shut. February 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel fell short. This hotel was recommended by a colleague who visits the one in Charlotte NC. So we decided to give it a try. Went to the second floor to purchase something from the snack bar and it wasn't open on two visits. I was told by one of the employees who is so nice that they haven't "worked that out yet because they just opened". No ice either! The pool area loaded with happy people had no bar service yet they have a bar area. No wait staff at all. We went to buy our own adult beverages and bring it to the pool. June 24, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 12 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Privacy Statement | Text Only