Aloft Chapel Hill

  • 1001 South Hamilton Road
  • Chapel Hill,
  • North Carolina
  • 27517
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 21 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 167 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible experience We stayed two nights and our room was never cleaned. When I went to the desk they never apologized. I had to ask for clean towels. I doubt that I would stay again March 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Service No interenet access and not anything but we are sorry. Had to go next door for interenet access. March 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by If you want to stay in a Kennel then choose the Aloft in Chapel Hill, NC Beds were not very comfortable. There were dogs everywhere to the point you couldn't get up and down the half-of-the time without having to dodge one. Look I love dogs and have had them all my life, but in a hotel of that level and at that price, if you are going to allow animals then put them all on the first floor so everyone else don't have smell them in the elevators or listien to them bark at night. There are people scared of animals not to mention being alergic to them. In my estimation a pet in a hotel room is no different than smoking you know immediately when you walk in they have been htere. Finally our air conditioner didn't work and the room was hot. Front desk manager was nice when we checked out and voided our parking due to the air not working which I appreciate. That was uncomfortable, but the animals were a real iritation. Would never stay there again if I can help it. March 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Heating not working I visited Aloft hotel in February after the storm. It was a warm day but the night was cold. I woke up in the middle of the night freezing - the heating was not working. When I checked out I asked staff to look into this issue. I was told this will be done but have not heard from the them. Not even a courteous "sorry" when I left. I would never stay there again. March 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trendy Great atmosphere! Delicious breakfast options! February 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff I stayed in this hotel recently for business. Prior to this trip, I learned that a relative was in the hospital. I decided to bring my wife and newborn with me so we could visit the relative. This decision was unexpected, but the hotel representative (Carolina) went over and above to make sure my family was comfortable. She was friendly during check-in and check-out. She made sure there was a crib in the room, and she gave me a room at the end of the hall (quiet to help my newborn sleep). She also let my wife use the room after check-out for the baby. I hope Carolina can be recognized for her great service! February 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Visit: Feb 2014 I've stayed at the hotel 3 separate occasions now for multiple days and the wireless is consistently inconsistent. The strongest signal is by the lobby and it's difficult to work from the rooms. The rooms could also use more light. The overheads are very dim. February 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by hotel has great features we enjoyed everything about this hotel and their staff. we would highly recommend the aloft hotel to all our family and friends. February 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Aloft ROCKS! While in Chapel HIll this is the only place to stay - great staff (especially Corey), comfy rooms, fun bar and easy location. January 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disapointing I have stayed at this hotel a few times and have had good stays, however, this time was not the case. I noticed my toilet , after flushing made an odd noise and then the water drained out. This was in the evening when I was ready for bed so decided to call in the am for maintenance to fix. I called at 7am to report to Eli. I explained the toilet was not flushing and was quite gross. His reply was that no one was there to fix until 9am but I could come down and get moved to another room. I explained that this was not convenient for me, I was not dressed, would have to repack my items etc and asked if they could please bring me key to a new room up to me. He said he was too busy. Upon checkout there was a young woman who assisted, when asked about my stay I explained to her the situation, when then she asked was that all? Didn't offer anything off my bill, nothing to remedy the situation which left me with a very negative taste about this starwood property. January 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by 17-Jan-2014 Comfortable room at a good price. Configuration of "closet" (actualy a shelf with hangers and a curtain) was a bit awkward. Free botled water was nice. Only one issue - my window shade wouldn;t close completely. Not a big enough deal to call maintenance. Overall, I would stay here again. January 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pet friendly...sort of We had high hopes coming to this hotel on New Years Eve, but were disappointed. The reason we booked this hotel, which was further away from where we wanted to be, was the promise of a truly pet friendly hotel. The pet friendliness of the hotel turned out to be they allowed pets...that was it. On my reservation it clearly states "We provide everything your pet needs including bowl, toys treats and a bed." There were two dirty bowls in the room. When I asked about the bed, they simply said "we need to update the website." Overall the room was clean and the woman who checked us out on 01/01 was very nice. It was nice to have our dog with us, but they should change their title from "pet friendly" to we allow pets. January 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Aloft Experience I tend to use this hotel not because of the style and in-room features but more the closeness to where I work and need for late event attendance for overnight accommodations. Not a fan of the bed or linens. The rooms smell funny (air fresherners would be nice, especially in the shower area) and, the water pressure at the vaniety areas are always a mistery. Sometimes a strong flow, sometimes a weak flow.It's a hotel that you can work with but more for kids or teens than adults. I like the plush comfort beds with onsite restaurants and more accommodating amenities like the Westin brand. December 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall great with a big BUT I so wanted to like everything. Modern, hip decor, very professional and friendly staff. Great location for Chapel Hill and UNC. But housekeeping gets a D. My first sight was wrinkled pillow cases and sheets. Were they fresh, or was that part of the trendy look? Stains on the down comforter under the sheets. Dust on the carpet behind the door. Shower drain slow so I had to stand in a puddle. Icing on the cake was aftr the housekeeper left, toilet seat had many drops of water on it and 2 of his or her black hairs on it. Eeew. Paid a lot of my hard earned $ for this. If this is trendy, not for me. December 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Meh Classic example of form over function. Hotel is going for a sleek modern look, but room design was not practical. You enter the room via the open bathroom, which is combined with the clothing storage area. No drawers, only some narrow shelves--area for hanging clothes also awkward. No place near the shower stall to hang a towel without trailing water out of the shower. Room has two beds but the toilet and shower are enclosed together--not practical for shared accommodations. Lacks privacy. Two beds, but only one chair for work at the desk. Pool ridiculously small--no real point in having a pool this small. Overall, aside from the location near the University, there was little that made this hotel more desirable than the much less expensive Comfort Inn. December 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not as expected It is usually a good hotel. But this time my room was not very clean and smelled of smoke. I was moved to a different room, and the new room's AC/heat was not functionning. Overall disappointed. December 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Didn't like the "openness" did not like the open shower to be sharing the room with family. need more privacy. pets down the hall, a little barking??? pets "let out" just in front of the main entrance, unpleasant site for us to look at. they should have a more secluded place to do this which is not possible at this site. December 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice place but major billing problems Nice place to stay but my credit card was charged 3 times!!! Had to have a conference call will my credicard company AND hotel staff to fix it. Not nice November 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel needs an upgrade This hotel is worn out beyond what should be expected by any guest. The first thing that caught my eye upon entering was a bucket trying to catch a drip coming from some pipe above. The drip was so bad that there was more water on the floor than in the bucket. The walls were scraped everywhere. There was valet parking when we arrived for an event which we payed eight dollars a day for. That was good until Monday. Suddenly there was no valet parking, but we payed for it just the same?????? On a positive note, the breakfast offerings were excellent and we had no reason to seek out a local diner. The rooms were cleaned very well and the staff was friendly. This hotel is making enough money to upgrade the worn out furniture and carpeting and wallcoverings.I can't be the only person who sees this. November 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by A Mixed Bag The positives: 1. Excellent lounge area with computer and printer access. 2. Very friendly, helpful staff. 3. Very comfortable bed. 4. Excellent shower. 5. Well stocked snack bar. 6. Excellent, secure safe for valuables. The negatives: 1. Seating in room was very inadequate. The only couch was positioned directly under the TV so the only place to watch TV was sitting on the bed. 2. No dressers or drawers at all. Unpacking was impossible because there was no place to store clothing. 3. Closet space was inadequate. 4. Refrigerator would not get cold. I complained twice and eventually another unit was brought in but it was as insufficient as the previous one. 5. Extra charge for parking. There was no alternative to the fee, even if I parked myself. The fee should be included in the price if it is to be assessed. 6. A bit too modernistic for my taste. 7. The room was fine for one person but too small for two. 8. There was no guide in the room insofar as area attractions, restaurants, etc. 9. The was no Bible in the room. This was a huge disappointment. In all my stays, this is the first hotel in which there was no Bible. 10. No bellhop service. 11. Office chair in room was small and very uncomfortable. November 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Crisp, Modern, Practical Excellent facility, staff and overall stay ! November 13, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by If you like dorm rooms... While the lobby was well decorated, the elevator had duct tape repairs to the floor. The rooms were small and had the ambiance of a college dorm. I am not sure why the only place to put a seating bench in a room would be underneath the wall mounted television? The staff attitude throughout our stay seem to be "whatever!" Lofty ambitions, poor follow through. November 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by PT reunion I really enjoyed my stay here. I loved the bar and sitting areas in the lobby, and that it had a good restaurant next door. October 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by stylish but inconvenient Although Aloft was a modern, clean place, the rooms weren't convenient. Only 1 towel rack made it hard to be green and hang up your towels to dry. I miss having a dresser with drawers. Open shelves seemed so cluttered. The lighting made it impossible to have soft light at night to see your way to the bathroom without being kept awake by the overhead lights. The valet people wanted a time when I needed the car again. Didn't know that and have never been asked to estimate by a valet before. October 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Reception Staff's Attitudes Need to Improve I hardly ever write reviews, but after such a negative experience with the reception, I thought I would leave feedback so that they improve for other customers. I am a loyal Starwood customer so I was surprised to find every interaction with the reception to be cold, abrupt and unpleasant. I left our weekend stay there feeling like I had intruded on their work. Outside of the reception, the cook, valet and housekeeping were very friendly. The hotel is in a great location for touring the campus. Just don't expect any warm Carolina interactions (or assistance) from the reception. October 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Boutique hotel meets Ikea - what fun! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Aloft-Chapel Hill. My room was quite comfortable and the staff were helpful and knowledgeable. The hotel's close proximity to delightful restaurants allowed me to leave my car and the cares of traffic behind as I enjoyed my wonderful stay. September 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incomplete information We were in town for dinner and shopping and decided instead of driving home we would stay in town. Upon going to check-in I gave the attendant my SPG card and told him I would like to use my Starpoints to secure a room for the night. Attendant continued to process information never mentioning that I would have to contact Starwood to use my points. We went to our room and settled in for the evening. The next morning at checkout while doing final billing the attendant told me my amount due it was the full night rental. Points had not been used. I questioned if that was correct she said yes and I told her I had asked to use my points the evening before and was never told I couldn't. The manager was called and came out to review the issue. He told me that the they could not secure a reservation for me. He was very nice and got in contact with Starwood and created a reservation for our rental and everything was fine. It's management like this that makes all the difference in future business and a pleasant stay. Thank you for the staff at Aloft Chapel Hill. September 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pool was my purpose Needing an overnight getaway I chose this hotel because it has a pool. To my disappointment the pool was unavailable for usage. I walked down to the pool area and it was a creepy cloudy blue color with a sign on the door that read "Sorry for the Inconvenience." When speaking with hotel staff about the pool I was not offered any alternatives or compensations for the pool being out of service. Overall my stay was good and for what I paid I was satisfied! September 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2 August 2013 The Hotel was nice, modern, and in fairly good shape. They were steam cleaning the carpets the day we left, which was needed in our room. The staff was very professional, friendly, and looked for ways to help / make our stay more comfortable - well done! My only knock is the indoor pool was very cool - need to raise the temperature 8-10 degrees for comfort. I will stay again when visiting Chapel Hill. I also suggest having local restaurant information/directions from: Squids, Weathervane, City Kitchen, Elements, and Bin 54 on a single sheet for easy information / look-up. All are close and good food September 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by tHIS HOTEL HAS EVERYTHING YOU COULD WANT O NEED The Aloft hotel is a hotel with100% professionalism in service for their guests as well as being friendly and considerate for all. August 20, 2013
  • 2015-05-05T19:45:45.999-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_167, tr_167
  • loc_en_US, sid_3411, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only