Aloft London Excel

  • One Eastern Gateway, Royal Victoria Dock
  • London,
  • England
  • E16 1FR
  • United Kingdom
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

A child who is 12 or younger may sleep for free in a room shared with a paying adult, thanks to our Camp Aloft programme. Cribs are also available upon request.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 18 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 217 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value and yet convenient for London very handy for London business area via the DLR May 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous hotel Fab hotel very modern and comfortable. Very near to light railway and short walk to cable cars which take you over the river to the O2 arena. very clean rooms and comfortable king beds. Also a fridge in the room which was brilliant for snacks. staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again !! August 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by i was very enjoyed in this hotel 1. When i checked in the staff very very kind maybe her name is Victoria? And bar staff as well. 2. The breakfast was very delicious particularly bakery and staff was very kind and helpfulness. 3.There wasn't toothbrush and toothpaste. Usually when i stayed other hotel there was even 3 star hotel they have. So i didn't bring it. But when i looking for that one the staff was very helpfulness and kind. 4. Some tower which hand tower and middle size tower weren't changed. Otherwise it was great time to stay this hotel. I won't forget about staff's kindness. February 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fab weekend :) Me an my Girlfriend booked a double room over the bank holiday weekend... had a fantastic time, very pleased with our stay so relaxing and spa was very good. enjoyed our breakfast the next morning and would diffidently go back to aloft and stay there. Kind Regards Mr Rishy May 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Staff and Facility Hotel features and staff were exceptional. Clean, comfortable, and ideal location to get to the city. With a 3 minute walk to the DLR station that takes you straight into the city, the location was perfect for my needs. May 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Modern comfort Great room, really comfy bed. Only real complaint why have paper cups in the room - not what I would expect from a top hotel! December 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Aloft I have stayed at many Alofts and this particular hotel is the best of the bunch. Very modern and has a full service restaurant. Nice staff. I would recommend this hotel. December 13, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Striking Building, Location Can Be Hit or Miss Have stayed here for a couple of nights prior to the Olympics. Location can be its strongest and weakest point at the same time: it is only 5 minutes by bus to City Airport, and has a DLR station next to it for easy access to the city. Yet, it is located in a post-industrial wasteland, and there’s absolutely nothing nearby in terms of shops or restaurants. Yet, rooms are very modern, light and comfortable. Bathrooms are nice and I especially like the Bliss shower gel and shampoo dispensers. Nice well stocked magazine rack in each room, and good complimentary internet access. The best thing about this hotel, are the communal areas: a nice gym, a great indoor/outdoor pool, sauna, and even a laundry room. The bar is quite cool as well. Onsite food options are very limited. Expect no upgrades for platinums, although the breakfast amenity is worthwhile as it includes 3 items you can pick from the self-service bar area. This is a good, well-priced option for London with easy access to the public transport network, although if you’re considering any type of nightlife activities, this place is a no-go as it will involve a long and expensive cab ride back. Best for business. September 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent staff Good location for meetings at Excel. Excellent service. All facilities available. May 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything was great We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. July 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love the Aloft Brand Having stayed in a newly opened Aloft in Brooklyn recently and loved it, I was excited to see that this hotel was opening at Excel. I travel often to work at Canary Wharf and it's becoming very difficult to get good hotels in the vicinity. Knowing what to expect, I just have a couple of small niggles that can be easily addressed by management (it will be interesting to see if they have been on my next visit!). Firstly there needs to some kind of glasses provided at the wash area for brushing teeth (or having a glass of wine in room!). All that was available was the two cardboard coffee cups. Secondly a wastepaper bin is also needed at the bathroom area. I moved the one from the desk area but annoyingly it was moved back by the cleaner the next day! (told you it was a small niggle!). And finally, why don't guests get refills if they stay another night? For example if you use the body lotion day 1 why is it not replaced? You're paying the same price for subsequent nights! On the plus - great beds, showers, TV, layout and particularly staff (esp Roxanna?). The restaurant on the second floor is really good with a great menu :) I think there should be directions from the DLR though - I went a very long way round the first night. Overall - I like :) November 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Aloft - London Excel I was very pleased with this hotel, it was clean, and staff were very helpful. Unfortunately my kettle wasnt working but this was a minor thing Would definitely stay again. May 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by New Hotel not a bad start The hotel had only just opened 4 days prior to my stay. The things that niggled me was room keys had to be cut daily as they kept failing. The pool had no where to leave your clothes when changing? Also no robes so you had to go back to your room dripping wet. The Sauna and Steam and pool lights were also both broken. The rooms were good the only this that lets the down is storage, no drawers for your smalls and a wardrobe that could hang 4 items in. When you walk in your room your clothes are on full display to the world. Bed great as was shower but strange was you had to enter via the toilet! Overall a good job staff OK under pressure but coped well. November 14, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect when exhibiting at ExCel! Excellent hotel, great facilities, very close to Excel center April 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay Super hotel. Close to DLR then you can go in every direction through London . April 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by mixed review Hotel only opened 31 Oct so staff very helpful and friendly but sometimes slow to get things done. No room service. bathroom design very unusual: its all flat at one level which is very good for elderly or disabled. Quality and price of restaurant FEDE is very good but cannot be charged to room since its independent. for visitors to Excel exhibition location is excellent as hotel is just a few steps away. only bad thing is that I'm spg member and requested check out at 2 pm and everyone was leaving the hotel but staff refused and was hostile replying to my request. all other starwood hotels allowed me before to check out at 2. November 13, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel staff did not look to resolve my issues with my room. I stay regularly at the Aloft and whilst it is comfortable over all , i am so disspaointed that I will not stay again and will be recommending to my colleagues at Barclays not to stay. The room is fine. However my TV volume didnt work, the shower was jammed and I could not change the height. I was handed over twice without one apology to the duty manager. All three staff informed me that the engineer didnt start til 8am. I wasted 15 minutes raising my concerns and as a result missed my shuttle and was late for my meeting. Not offer to make it better o. A hotel can look great but I felt incrediblty stressed after my stay! October 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lovely room but lacking information Great location, lovely rooms, nice atmosphere and Good food. Lack of information on how everything worked. Hotel preferred minimalism to info in room. Also fridge not working and not enough coffee in room or any biscuits. April 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by a great 2 night stay I stayed for two nights , got there and the staff in reception were helpful , the room was lovely and clean when u arrived , the food was good but don't tell u when u book up it was cold food not fry up breakfast , and u don't get alto of choice , the swimming pool was nice and clean and u get towels beside beds u can lay on . there all so the sauna room i went in witch is nice to , and the steam room to was nice , the gym is good but did not use it , due to being a relaxing break. u can use the internet for free on there computers if u need to look for a day out wile u in London or just to check your emails . November 14, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by First stay at aloft Hotel is trendy and rooms very clean, bright and good facilities.Lacks the personal touch when it comes to the Restaurant, Breakfast is a very basic affair, you have to make your own tea/coffee in mugs from an urn so you don't get a good hot cup of tea/coffee and a teaspoon would be nice rather than a stick! Breakfast is laid out under hot lamps scrambled eggs must have been there an hour or more as all dried up and it was only 8.30am! not at all attractive, a choice of eggs would be nice! and staff who actually speak to you! A couple of small improvements could really ,make a big difference here! I joined SPG on arrival so didn't really expect any recognition maybe next time! May 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Clean and Contemporary I loved this hotel. It was quiet but also very close to the hussle and bussle of London. However I am an SPG member and was not asked for my membership details on arrival. I therefore did not get any points for staying there. Also I was in the foyer one evening and found that new arrivals (who came to the door at about 11pm) were unable ot get access to the hotel. When the receptionist eventually buzzed them in only a few from the bus managed to get in at that time. When the rest of the party got off the bus the door was locked again and I had to use my own room key to buzz them in. Subsequently I was asked for information on food and facilitties because they thought I worked there. August 19, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst value for money I ever had! Very bad!!! In room: no drinking glasses; no waste basket in bathroom; only sugar, but no coffee or tea bags with water-heater! No working air conditioner! And no room service to correct this! No answer when trying to reach reception! Inexpericended personel too busy with other guests to help! November 11, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by can't believe this is a SPG hotel The hotel is a brand new addition to the SPG hotels, opened in OCT.2011. But don't expect the type of SPG standards if you are familiar with SPG program as the staff obviously didn't not. Case in point: the reception flat out say that they "don't do upgrades" for platinum members,even though the days I stayed there, the hotel has 5-10 percent of occupancy. I couldn't tell whether the front desk staff was unable or unwilling to serve the guests, upon checking in, I asked for a chair for the writing desk, they said they didn't have any. I asked for a electricity adaptor, they replied that I had to purchase one from their shop. Eventually, I had to seek the hotel manager for getting the chair and the adaptor. December 31, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Needs alot of improvement first if anyone tried calling me directly no diffrence the time of day or night had a verry diffocolt time geting thru first no answere then they would get mail box is full & i lost some meeting of a result of this which this hotel is geard only twords business needs second why isnt there any ice machiness on each floor i am told if you need ice go down to the first floor get it from the bar. third the tv set did not work even thow i was charged for unlimited for one day most of the channels did not work either sound my over all rateing was that this was a failure on my end to choose this hotel i would of gone to any other hotel a couple of min away which i have doneo in the past you get way more for your buck November 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Noisy doors Great hotel in most respects. Comfortable rooms, location next to DLR is very convenient (especially for a trip to Olympic village and Westfield Stratford City shopping). A bit remote in the evenings though only about 30 minutes to central London from here. Right next door to ExCel and airport (though it is quiet - you don't hear the planes or any traffic outside). Staff on front desk very helpful and polite on arrival. Only complaint is that the doors to the rooms slam shut and they are very heavy so make a loud bang. I found this quite distracting and it kept me awake when other guests were arriving during the night. The doors really shut with some force. For that reason alone I wouldn't choose to stay here again. April 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Take Away & Hairdryers Overall I think this is a great hotel at a competitive rate. I understand the concept of the take away service from the restaurant but some food just cannot be eaten pleasantly without a plate so it would be great if this could be reconsidered! Second stay where I had problems with my hairdryer. The first time there was no hairdryer, this time I couldn't open the bag the hairdryer was in - sounds trivial but this disruption to a morning routine can make you late for a meeting! Fortunately the staff were helpful but it would be good to have everything in working order. August 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel, skip the restaurant The hotel is consistent with other Aloft hotels, the restaurant is terrible. They have changed their menu and the quality of ingredients have gone down since they opened in early 2012. Don't bother dining here, hop on the DLR West and go to somewhere around Canada Wharf. March 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bad treatment for SPG platinum members I had a very bad customer experience in this hotel. If you are a platinum SPG member, this hotel refuse generall a suite-upgrade. It is the policy of this hotel not to handle according the SPG Terms and Conditions. The reaction of the management after my complaints: there are other Starwood Hotels in London to get the platinum treatment. We can help you to book a room over there, if you like. If the platinum recognition is important for you, stay away from Aloft London Excel. If this is not important, this hotel will give you a good night sleep. August 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel for the city airport I had no idea what this would be like and it was a little difficult to reach only in that the taxi driver (for once) had not been there before. However, the reception area was great, staff fantastic and the room just perfect and excellent value. It was undergoing some refurbishment in the dining area but there is a reasonable pub nearby. The gym is well appointed, the rooms clean, good beds, modern and tidy. Check out easy and staff super helpful with taxi and even a coffee while I waited. Would definitely stay again if the need arises. November 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by First time at Aloft Excellent reception, greeted by Julia the manager, who's very friendly and helpful. Car park is a fair bit cheaper than the main Excel car parks if you're a guest, and easy to find. Good comfortable contemporary rooms and facilities. Re:Fuel is a little different, but worth exploring for a quick but wholesome breakfast, or even a midnight snack. Only very minor gripe was not enough suitable seats in the lounge reception area if you are eating from Re:Fuel. Had dinner in the second floor restaurant - basically Italian cuisine. And you can now charge this to your room. One point to note - for security your room card will only take you to your own floor in the lifts. If you are with friends on another floor, you'll have to find the stairs to get to their room! October 30, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Privacy Statement | Text Only