Aloft San Jose Hotel, Costa Rica

  • Forum 2 Business Park,
  • Lindora, Radial a Santa Ana
  • San José,
  • San José
  • Costa Rica
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 40 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Thie hotel was great Very nice and relaxing hotel August 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experience! My family and I stayed at this Aloft 3 nights on the front end of a 12 day vacation to Costa Rica and 1 night on the back-end before flying out of San Jose. We enjoyed the stay here very much. - The rooms were modern, impeccably maintained, and very comfortable. - The breakfast buffet was excellent and provided alot of choices, featuring both American and traditional Tico food and plenty of fresh fruit and other healthy options. This helped us make the most of each day here, since we could very quickly enjoy a big breakfast, go out to explore nearby attractions, and not have to worry about having to stop for lunch later on. - The Aloft was about 10 minutes from the airport, and provided a pretty good location from which to make day trips to volcan Poas, Irazu, and San Jose. The neighborhood the Aloft was in was also much nicer and safer than San Jose, with plenty of nearby restaurants, supermarkets, etc... - Finally, the staff was very friendly, helpful, and professional. I particularly enjoyed chatting with Adrian B. and Liset L. at the front desk everyday. They helped make the stay even more enjoyable. August 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Consistently Exceeding Not much of a review writer but I do travel about 175k per year, so I see the good, bad and ugly. My firm would be fine with me selecting a more expensive property in San Jose but I return here (5 times in the last year). Clean, very nice and sincere staff, very reasonable. Food is generally good (breakfast could use a little attention) and fresh. I would recommend this to anyone, casual traveler, business, whatever. And at the price, you can NOT beat it. Period. Did I mention the staff are all really nice? It's true. August 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Phenomenal! Perfect! The free included buffet breakfast was amazing and just rare these days. The staff were super nice and the rooms were very modern and clean. Good location too, to me I thought at least. You'll need a car. Overall, great hotel. July 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved it! I loved this little hotel, idal for a short business trip. Not over priced and great location 15 mins away from the airport. July 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very well, just make sure you do not need an aspirin. As the tittle, in general terms an experience that I would repeat. I hope next time they have an aspirin (or so) they can sell you, Otherwise, you will find your self in the middle of nowhere, needing to drive who knows where (counter clerk does not know) to buy it. During business hours there is a drugstores 1/2 mile away, 3 am (my case) you are in a sad position. When you present the suggestion to the counter clerk, she shrinks her shoulders and say: "Hotel Policy"... So Sad... June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to stay. Best location, close to everything, airpor, multiplaza, restaurants staff excellent I can say enough about this Place great expirience June 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always stay at this hotel It is a great hotel. Have stayed about 6 times and it is always a good experience, the room cleanliness, the staff and the breakfast is great. On my last stay they even had live music on a friday evening. I have kids and they love to stay here and they even set up a cool tent for them. June 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Aloft San Jose It was okay! We checked in early to start our honeymoon. Noisy room facing highway. Came back the following week and checked into a room facing the lobby = music blaring all night! May 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by You need new showers I understand that you use what is known as "rainbow showers" to conserve water, but these showers are very unpleasant. There is a stream of water around you but not directly over you, making it very difficult to wash soap off your body or shampoo from your hair. I was satisfied with everything else at your hotel, but just because of the rainbow showers, I would not recommend it to a friend or family member. May 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel Excellent Service, willing to help staff. May 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent service at the front desk Excellent service at the front desk. Elise and michelle are really helpful. AC blow right to your face at night which made me sick on the 2nd day. May 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly functional and hip place to stay If you are looking for a well priced functional hotel, extra friendly staff with a hip atmosphere (who else has pop art reception area and a pool table next to their bar?) then i would highly recommend the Aloft San Jose. This hotel is now my regular place to stay in San Jose. I have stayed in nearly every hotel in San Jose and this is my pick. The staff cant do enough for you and speak multiple languages with ease. Management in this hotel is clearly different to other places and it shows in the attitude and happiness of the staff. They genuinely like working there and it shows. Extra thanks must go to Gina and Olger for making my stays so pleasant and for helping me find all the things i have asked for with a smile. October 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Terry Review My husband and I stayed at the Aloft for six weeks with our family pet while we looked for a house and awaited our furniture which was en route. The staff was kind and helpful in all aspects of our stay. They became our family and provided advice on many things such as medical care, hair care, and "how we do things in Costa Rica." We can't say enough nice things about this great hotel, the management and the staff. Our stay was awesome and we highly recommend it. October 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by aloft CR: disappointment Before booking the room, I made some research about aloft Costa Rica, I thought about it as a "light" version of W Hotels. Actually your slogan suggests something similar: "a vision of W hotels". And Im terribly sorry to say this but this experience has nothing to do with my previous ones with Starwood. Once my room was booked, I called the property to ask for a room assigned on high floor, as far as possible from the elevator, the person who took the call said that the request was not a problem and he even confirmed. Upon check in no one knew my SPG Number and no one was aware of the request which was supposed to be already confirmed. I was assigned a room on the second floor, out of seven available. When I got to my room there was this huge red piece of dirt on the carpet right next to the bed. Now, I understand that the hotel has an eco-friendly policy and they encourage their guests to decline new sheets and towels on a daily basis, but that shouldn't mean that your bed would stay just the way you left it before service, meaning no one took care of my bed during six nights. Now, food. That's a topic by itself. I ordered room service, an easy one. Steak with some salad (salad instead of fries) and what was my surprise when I got my dish, it was way overcooked (even when I asked to have it medium-well) and tasteless. In addition they charged an additional salad even when they said they could serve instead of fries. A service cart is not offered, the dishes are not even covered. You don't get bread, crackers or at least a tortilla together with your food. Aloft's staff is friendly... Yeah... However they're not exceptional, they are just frontline representatives, not the face and image on Starwood and SPG. Hope someone in the corporate office is reading this and may at least send back an email with an explanation of what happened. August 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel, but staff should know more about SPG This hotel is located not as far from the airport (5 miles), and very close to the supermarket. Friendly bartenders, and cleaning staff. I was disappointed only one thing - behavior of the front desk staff. As Platinum SPG I chose free continental breakfast as my welcome gift. A girl at the front desk were rude, she told me that I have to pay for this breakfast, I tried to explain that this is SPG policy, but she really did not know about this. Finally I could take advantage of the buffet, but I felt really uncomfortable. She acted like somebody who had done me a favor. Strange. Front desk staff should know more about SPG. July 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very average Useful only when you have to catch flight. Front desk manager promised to credit SPG points for inconvenience. But never received (: June 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel We booked multiple rooms at this conveniently located well kept facility. The lobby, grounds and rooms were fantastic as the staff were friendly. Convenient to restaurants as a great evening hangout place as well. Disappointed in the lack of SPG gold points comp we received for booking multiple rooms. Bonus should be based upon the number of rooms booked and not the fact that we had one reservation. All in all a pleasant place so dont mind my spg issue. Thanks June 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel was great and super modern Very good my stay at the San Jose ALOFT, the attention in every moment May 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Hotel, I will stay again This hotel was an excellent value. It's a 1.5 year old building. I highly recommend you include the breakfast. The staff was very friendly and the hotel in general very clean. It has a new gym with new machines, cold water, towels and TV. My room had all the amenities. Lots of restaurants nearby. It has a nice bar and great music. February 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Surprisingly nice Safe vicinity (business part of the city), the minus though is the distance from the downtown, if you plan to do sightseeing (allow for at least 30 minutes taxi trip). It is a new property so everything is fresh and clean. Service was nice and prompt overall, unfortunately not very helpful with the off-the-beaten track advice. It would be better if they could provide both typical tourist information and local information to allow the travelers to choose (e.g. we wanted to travel to volcano Poas with buses, because it was more fun for us, but the front desk representative was able to help us only with providing overview of the organized tours, so we had to figure out everything on our own). February 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantástic Great Hotel. Congratulations to the personnel Beautiful hotel, confortable, modern design Room and bed excellent January 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Staff, New and Good Value I have stayed at this hotel probably about 10 times now, since before it even formally opened. Its the first Starwood property in San Jose, Costa Rica. The hotel is great, its new, great casual atmosphere, tidy and clean, and well located for airport and coastal highway access. The rooms are typically Aloft, and are comfortable with great support for all your IT needs, lots of outlets, USB ports and more. The lobby bar is fantastic, great drinks, nibbles, and entertaining too. The most outstanding thing about this hotel is the service, the team is incredible. They remember me each time, always recall my latest trips or how my work is going etc, they are so polite and yet casual. Nothing is too much trouble for this team, they make it fun to come back each time. From requests for extra pillows, the HDMI connector kit for connecting your laptop to the 42inch room TV, to making reservations at restaurants and more every time it is done with a smile. I cannot say enough about the team working there. I'll be back in a couple weeks, and I am looking forward to it. November 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Welcome suprise we arrived from the rainforest all dirty with backpacks in toe. The front desk staff, even the security guard outside welcomed us with a friendly greeting. the staff were fantastic. Benjamin and the other fellow working the desk were very helpful. they helped us with directions to a great restaurant, and the next day on check out allowed us a late check out so we could do some morning sightseeing in San Jose before our flight departed. The Bartender working the night we checked in was Fantastic. he made some fabulous martinis and entertained us with humorous magic tricks. After a week in a shack in the rainforest, we felt like Kings when we entered our room. The room was beautiful, and very well appointed with fridge and coffee maker, and complimentary bottled water. for a hotel that has only been open 5 weeks, I was impressed with how "Polished" all the staff were! Congratulations to them all on a job well done! March 15, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel éloigné du centre de San José Hôtel moderne avec une belle décoration, confortable, mais trop éloigné du centre de San José et difficile pour s'y rendre. La moquette de la chambre était sale. Le personnel n'est pas très professionnel pour aider un touriste à se déplacer pour visiter. Pas de reconnaissance du statut platinium October 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Recomendable El hotel es muy bueno, muy comodo y el personal muy agradable. Agregaría más opciones al menú al igual que en el desayuno. August 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Recepcion El personal de recepción, ni siquiera te ve a la cara pareciera que la pantalla es el cliente July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Estadia en aloft excelente las habitaciones July 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by atencion personal recepcion La atención del personal de recepción es muy bueno, siempre dispuestos a ayudas July 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Habitación Recomiendo que en los cuartos se agreguen cajones para acomodar ropa limpia y sucia. June 27, 2014
  • 2015-07-30T21:26:12.733Z
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_40, tr_40
  • loc_en_US, sid_3637, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only