The Great Wall Sheraton Hotel Beijing

  • 10 North Dong San Huan Road, Chaoyang District
  • Beijing,
  • Beijing
  • 100125
  • China
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 2.9 out of 5 by 200 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by GOTTA GET WITH THE TIMES OVERALL IMPRESSION: When I came to China the first time in the eighties, this property was the showplace of the nation and in comparison with what else was out there, afforded a level of comfort and luxury unknown in China. But times have changed, the hotel hasn’t. This would no longer be my choice for accommodation in the Capital. SPG RECOGNITION: They do try but in such a factory-like atmosphere it is hard to feel special. Upgraded to a full suite. THE ROOM: Basically two standard rooms (with two standard baths) connected with a common foyer - the strange set-up meant we virtually never went into the “sitting” room. Decor while pleasant is dated and in need of a re-fit. LOCATION: Beijing is so sprawling that virtually everywhere is a taxi ride away but one pleasant exception in the lovely new upscale shopping and entertainment centre at Sanlitun Road just a short walk from the hotel. EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS: Unfortunately most were only just met and none exceeded. DID NOT MEET EXPECTATIONS: In the new service-oriented China, this place really feels like an anachronism. Some really intensive re-training in line with new customer expectations would definitely be in order. As would be a full property restoration. March 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Stay if the rates are reasonable With that I mean I would not stay if the rates are over $100 or CNY 600 per night. I normally do stay when points and cash or points is available. The location is within walking distance to subway station. Hotel is older and looks dated and must struggle to keep good staff. Lounge for SPG platinum members is good! FYI, I have stayed several times in the last 2 years. January 31, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by No hot water for a shower After a 2 hour delay at YVR airport followed by an 11 hour flight all I wanted was a hot shower. It was so disappointing to only have cold water and had to go to bed without a shower. December 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by An old hotel Too old. It's like 2 star hotel. They do not follow Starwood rules. December 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Was good years ago but need improvement now Hotel location is wasily accessible and staffs are all helpful. But hardware is really not up to standard, not mentioning CRT TV and old fashioned washroom. I couldn't believe that there is no WiFi(not matter paid or free) at a 5 star hotel. Guests need to ask fo WiFi password and sit at lobby using WiFi. November 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by 4 night stay Overall its a good Sheraton hotel, but does need a update. TV's need to be updated to flat screens. Pool needs updating. Carpets need updating. Sheraton private Car service to/from airport is over priced, take a cab for around 75 cny. Close walking distance to subway, around 5-8 min walk. Around 20-25 min walk to mall area and nightlife or you can take subway. We stayed on the 13th floor and had access to the club lounge on 17th floor for happy hr. Happy hr was 4-7 and had small selection of drinks and snack food. We were here for 4 nights and the snack food was much the same every night which got old. Breakfast in the morning was really good. Staff response to guest services was excellent. We booked a 1 day Beijing great wall tour from hotel, it was very good. For point value redeemed I think it was a great choice for Beijing. November 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Service The facilities and the rooms are nice. The concierge service and the front desk services need major improvement. Inspite of being gold and having requested the 2 rooms days back - they could not even find the reservation. Check in took 30 minutes. And check out was disastrous too as they invoiced the room to my 13 year old! The concierge was completely unhelpful and we had to mostly figure things out through the net. October 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor Hotel in Need of Renovation, but Excellent Front Office Staff I needed to book this hotel for a one-night stay to be near the embassy district. Already knew that this hotel was old and tired and in dire need of renovation (this hotel still uses the old CRT TVs!; haven't seen those in a four- or five-star hotel in a loooong time!). All previous reviews about the hotel's condition are spot on. No further comment about that. However, I must point out the EXCELLENT attitude and service of one Front Office staff member, Gilda. She was exceptional in her friendliness and willing to please. Checked in at the SPG Platinum Desk, and she was there waiting with a warm smile. Presented all my credentials including my SPG Platinum Card. When, she handed back my SPG Card, she said "Thank you for your loyalty to Starwood". I must say that, in all my years of travel, I have NEVER had anyone at check in to thank you for such loyalty. It is usually "Thank you for staying at our hotel", etc. Caught me a bit surprised, actually. Went back to the Front Office later in the evening to check on some things, and Gilda was there. She remembered my name and addressed me very friendly. Helped out with my requests, etc. Checked out next day afternoon, and once again, Gilda was at the Front Desk. She again remembered my name and addressed me as such. At the end of checkout, she once again said "Thank you for your loyalty to Starwood. Your points will post in three days. Have a wonderful day". There was no fake smile or pre-scripted dialog about her interactions. Everything was so genuine and her service from the heart. She put a very nice "star" on top of a mediocre stay at an old hotel. Hope she does well; she will go far with such good service and attitude. I hope her superior or the hotel GM gets this message. October 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Back To The Future This property has not been refurbished since Michael J Fox installed the Flux Capacitor. Bizarre property for a Sheraton/Starwood. Major gripe is the fixtures and furnishings in room that resemble a set off the Brady Bunch and the price you pay for that. Value for money poor and rates should be relative to standad of Hotel. They're not. Staff make an effort given the drab surroundings. Some good Starwood Properties in Beijing. This needs a major refurb to be at a level even close to others. October 15, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel in Desperate Need of Renovation We've stayed in countless SPG hotels before and have just come from Shanghai where the SPG properties were high above expectations, only to be dropped straight back down to earth with this hotel. Unlike very other SPG property we have stayed at, the pictures on this website do NOT reflect the majority of the rooms, not even the SPG Preferred Guest floor rooms. I would go so far to say that the pictures are misleading unless you are booking a platinum room (which, if you are spending that money/points, you might as well spend less at another SPG property in Beijing and probably end up with a better room). We were told that our room was "upgraded" to the SPG Preferred Floor, yet it would appear that it is still an un-renovated floor. The rooms look like they have not been updated in at least 20 years. The room itself is TINY. We have no wifi access in the rooms, there is a tube TV instead of a flat screen, and the carpet is very worn out looking (who knows how dirty this is). Furthermore, we were told we were on the non-smoking level, and signs on the room doors would seem to indicate we were; however, I still smelled smoke in the air (through the ventilation), and I am afraid everything we have, especially our clothes, will smell like smoke after our stay. I can honestly say without over-exaggerating that I the rooms in this hotel are comparable to a cheap motel in the US (and those are probably cleaner). Starwood really needs to put some money into renovating this property ASAP. It's ridiculous and erodes the SPG brand in our minds to have stayed at a property that claims SPG affiliation like this. September 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by They don't care about you I had just checked out of the hotel to enjoy some site seeing. During the day, my wallet was stolen containing all my credit cards and money. I was able to get back to the hotel so I had a friendly place to sort through what I needed to do to get to my next destination. I was able to get other tourists to give me enough money for a taxi ride to the airport. As I worked through cancelling credit cards etc. I realized I hadn't eaten since the morning. I told the hotel manager my situation and asked if they could spare some toast or a sandwich. I was told no but they would give me a bottle of water. now I understand my stolen items weren't their concern but I had just spent 1000's of dollars are their hotel the previous days. I can't believe they wouldn't offer me any assistance or something to eat until my flight that night. Will not stay at a Sheraton again. August 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Definitely have better Sheratons out there From the point of arriving at the hotel, there really wasn't much passion shown from the doormen. They didn't offer to help with bags or really say much, but rather just looked us up and down and continued on their conversation. Check-in didn't take too long but there was absolutely zero platinum recognition from the staff. I had to tell them that I'd prefer the 500 welcome points and they kind of agreed. No explanation of any of the benefits and thus I went to the wrong floor cause the Club Lounge is actually on the 17th floor. The best part of the hotel was the staff in the club lounge. They were very welcoming and continually asking if there was anything that I needed for both the afternoon and the following morning's breakfast. Overall, it was a place to sleep, shower and continue my journey but nothing that really warranted me to go back again. July 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Old hotel needs a lot of improvements This is the oldest Starwood hotel in Beijing and needs a face lift or renovation badly. However so far only 2 levels have been renovated. I don't get the normal platinum welcome such as welcome fruits, free pressing of garments etc here. To make up for the old rooms, you would imagine the hotel would be generous on other services. Food at the executive lounge is mediocre at best, a much better variety is badly needed. The hotel is old, but that doesn't seem to be the only problem. June 30, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dirty and Old The oldest Starwood hotel I have visited in Asia (and I visit alot). Floors stained, missing bedding, shower/ tub is tiny (if you are over 6', you will not fit) Terrible customer service. June 19, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Probably the worst Sheraton in the world Poor Service and Attitude As a Platinum member I spoke to the Sales as I wasplan to be a long staying guest for 3 months planning to stay at the hotel for 2-3 months and would like to request for upgrade not to the suite rooms but their renovated cleaner rooms with WIFI. William the Sales Manager rudely refused and said there is no way that Platinum would be upgraded to the Elite floors unless they pay for it. The non elite floors rooms are old even for the suite rooms with old dirty carpets and old room smell. There is internet but not wifi, unless you pay deposit and get a modem from business center. The front desk does not recognise gold or platinum member and one has to wait on line easily for average of 20 minutes and they will service others and ignore the platinum line and worse still, non members use that line too. Many of the front desk staff tends to be rude and takes a long time to process check in or check out. often having more than one staff to attend one customer. This HOTEL in general is not Starwood member friendly and is only interest regular guest paying full amount. The only good thing is its location. if you are thinking to relax at the pool - think again...the swimming pool is probably the most unhygienic pool I have ever seen. It looks like a sunken TITANIC. it is rusted and no water cleaning system. just a huge rusted pool of potential germs filled water. Its about time the Starwood management look into this hotel. It is a shame to the name of Starwood. Heard it was a first class hotel 30 years ago... guess, they have not done anything to upgrade since then and still hold on to the snobbish attitudes from front desk. If I were to rate this hotel, it would be a minus and not even zero, having visited Starwood hotels all over the world. May 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel in good location My 3rd time back at this hotel. This is a nice hotel in good location nearby subway and restaurants. Staff and service is excellent. The TV is old and needs upgrading to the new flat screens. Also there is no wireless internet in the room which is almost a must in todays world...how do you plug a wired internet cable into an ipad? Nevertheless I had another wonderful stay. April 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Internet access was a big problem Stay there from April 10-12, 2013. The Internet went down in mid night April 11/12 and never resumed. So all I was forced to stop working. Also there was no Wi-Fi in the room. If you have many work related stuff to finish during night time, then this hotel will surprise you. April 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Old hotel – but Good service and SPG recognition The hotel is old and needs to be renovated. But for Plat members it’s still a good choice if getting an upgrade to suites which are clean and tidy. I will come back to this hotel for non-biz travel. Good cash+points option (really great value). Good service, convenient location but could be hard to get a taxi in the morning. April 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Old but Good 1st SPG hotel in China, facilities are old but maintained well, needs some refurb to enhance customer experience. Convenient place but too hard to get a taxi in the morning... March 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Service, Worst pool in SPG I love the location of this hotel and the service is above average. The bones of this hotel are good-I cannot fathom why they wouldn't do an update. Case in point, the windows in the first floor lounge are huge and the space is great but the view is of what looks like an abandoned amusement park from a horror movie. If they just knocked all this down and replaced it with grass it would be fantastic. The price is more affordable than the other SPG hotels in the area, but is still too much to pay for this. The breakfast itself was excellent. The area you dine in couldn't be more tacky. Don't try the pool-it looks like what you would find in a soviet training camp in the 70s. Please please please update this hotel. March 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5 star service It is the best SPG hotel among those I have stayed across United States, Canada and China. Firstly, I like the excellent service here: the baggage delivery to the room, baggage storage within 30 days of guest leave, beverage zone at 17th floor. More importantly, the front desk ladies were very patient to address my questions and concerns, they have even provided the solution smartly. I appreciate such professionalism. Secondly, I like the view from my room, it gave me much chance to stay around the big window and see the changes made in the past in this beautiful city. The first thing my 2 kids in the morning to do is to watch the buildings, sunrise and the moving cars/bus on the avenues. Surprisingly, the room is pretty quite and we can't hear the noise outside although this hotel is next to one of the heaviest traffic roads in Beijing. I am very satisfied with the hotel and would definitely stay here in the future, furthermore, I would strongly recommend my friends and colleagues to visit. March 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good service and SPG recognition, but hotel needs to be renovated. Overall a nice hotel, great SPG recognition, good service, and location is ok. However, quite outdated and in need of an upgrade. Carpets in hallway is stained and soiled, common areas bit dark, old big box Tv and limited channels, only wired internet and very slow, although the hotel has great potential with some modernization. Fitness center etc. is large, but very run down and equipment is old. Food at hotel is not to be recommended, quite bad. Overall, great potential with some new investment to modernize, and better chefs to improve on dining expereince. March 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by about the TV system i think great wall sheraton hotel is almost excellent, but maybe just only one thing could not be satisfied, it s TV. I wish this hotel could equip new flat TV when i stay again next time. February 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Severely Dated Hotel This hotel looks like its from the 70's and the rooms feel the same way. As a platinum member we were upgraded to a "jr suite"room. First, this room looks nothing like anything they advertise on the website. Tube Tvs, (who knew hotels still had these) barely any spacce to walk. The bathroom is a joke, as a tall american my head almost touches the ceiling while showering. It reminds me of my college dorm years. January 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good service but old rooms and no real SPG upgrades This hotel has a OK service. The staff is friendly. The rooms are very old and you can't expect a SPG upgrade for platinum members. The food variety in the club lounge is very limited. The parking needs to be paid. December 30, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by great service in a sad hotel First off, I need to say the staff and service were great-better than average. But this hotel feels miserable. The lobby looks like an 80s train station. The bathroom is dark and dreary. The TV also looked like it came form the 80s and CNN was the only English channel. I expect better from the Sheraton brand. October 22, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Is this a SPG hotel? I been to many of SPG hotels around Asia region and I must say that this hotel is one that I never felt its a SPG. The main issue here is the service. Staff are not attentive to me, and was trying to negotiate with me on a different room types as what was both stated in the room booking confirmation as well as in my SPG profile. Calling the Express service asking for several items but what arrived was short of what was being asked or the items are not what was being asked. I guess the service level of this hotel remain at the ' Great Wall' and have not integrated into the SPG service standard. October 17, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed The location is great, close to many famous sites in Beijing. However, in price with more than $200 per night, you will NOT get wifi in your room and have to watch a small CRT TV. The carpet looks old and dirty, and the bathroom is small. September 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by great location, easy access Great location, easy access. Club lounge was nice. However, no LINK@Sheraton in the lobby, and no workstations at the lounge July 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Still my choice for a cozy hotel in Beijing I still choose this hotel each time I return to Beijing mainly because of the service and staff. Sure, the hotel is a little old and the rooms could use some renovation, but there is nothing more welcoming than good service and a friendly smile for weary travelers. The location of the hotel is outstanding. June 29, 2012
  • 2015-07-04T13:47:06.023-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_200, tr_200
  • loc_en_US, sid_175, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8 next>>
Put the world at your fingertips.
With an app for every device, and a tool for every travel need, get the SPG apps and get packing>