Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 2.7 out of 5 by 251 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Experience Stayed in the same hotel 2 x while in China this month, First time my Starwood number was not in the booking and had to push to get a decent room, Second time i got a room but on the 5th floor so could here the band noise down stairs eventually changed the room ro a normal room. I do not understand if the hotel knows I am checking in why they can't allocate a quite room in the first place. May 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Sheraton Ever! I have been staying at this hotel for the past 5 years. It has progressively become worse. This particular visit was unbearable so I will not return to this hotel. The staff were extremely rude on check in and check out. I have never written a negative review for Sheraton (or any Starwood properties) but this has to be done. May 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Starwood property in world For years I have head they are going to update and remodel, but still only one floor has been updated, and 100+ night platinum members are not entitled to an updated base room. Terrible hotel. Only benefit, LOCATION May 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great wall The service and attention the staff gave us made us feel as though we were their only guests. The food was exceptional. The VIP room provided a very pleasant space for relaxation. May 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best deal in Beijing Yes, it's true the hotel does need to be updated. If you can put that aside you will find yourself a very good value for your money. Most importantly the rooms are kept very clean and well attended to and of course there is the comfort of that sweet sleeper bed. Always a guaranteed comfortable bed. The staff is so very friendly and attentive. We were very impressed with the gym having heavier weights than are usually available in a hotel gym. The Sanlitun area is an easy 20 minute walk from the hotel. Metro station within a 5 minute walk. May 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by No aircon There was no aircon cool air supply during my stay from April 22 to 25. The hotel staff said it is not supplied because it is not hot outside and suggested me to open the window. I was quite frustrated with that considering the air quality outside. Of course, I did not have much sleep as a result. May 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by not a good hotel obsolete equipment, bureaucracy services April 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by My favorite staying place in Beijing I love the place for the comfortable rooms and lounge on the Executive floor. The staff is really caring and efficient. April 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointment Rooms were too warm, AC was ineffective, room was cramped and inadequately soundproofed, internet speed in lobby was slow and spotty, breakfast buffet was over-priced for quality of food, entire hotel is in need of renovation. I stay in many Sheraton hotels and this is the worst I've ever experienced. April 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by good to stay except... every day cleaning up a room expensiveness of a room per day April 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Standards are not in line with Sheraton brand The location of the hotel is convenient for my business, and the airport, and this is why I stay here while in Beijing. But, the hotel is outdated, old, and needs modernization. This was my 3rd or 4th time at the hotel, and the food continues to disappoint me,. Boring, plain, and no real taste, one would expect a lot better from a Sheraton hotel. The check in and check out is quite slow, every time, without fail, the SPG Platinum line (even if only 1 person ahead of you) moves much slower than the other check in line. And, the staff doesn't care to open the second SPG counter or prioritize those SPG member in that line. Perhaps a small issue, but nevertheless extremely annoying, the Bell boy outside who helps with taxi's, doesn't speak English, and was very difficult to have him help give driver directions etc. Every time I had to ask another guest in the taxi line who spoke English to assist. The hotel definitely has great potential, just need some investment and management who is willing to bring it up to international standards! April 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Traveling back in time, in a bad way Let me sum it up for you in a few characteristics: no wifi, smoke smell in all rooms, very outdated rooms (e.g. TVs from the early 90s/late 80s), quite expensive. There are lots of nice hotels in Beijing, this is not one of them. April 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel I heard that this hotel is the first Sheraton Hotel in China. Long history but the service are as good as before. The rooms are good enough after decoration. April 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible hotel My family and I just recently stayed at this hotel and switched hotels after a few nights. The staff was not nice or welcoming, the rooms were very dated (no flat screen TVs, etc), the thermostat controls didn't work in the room so it was VERY hot, the toilet kept running, the pool was in desperate need of attention (the bottom was stained and the paint coming off). I have never written a bad review in my life, but this was one of the worst hotel experiences we have had and we travel internationally several times a year. April 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Oldest Western Hotel In China Knowing that I was staying in the first Western hotel in China colors my view of our experience. Yes, the outdoors carpets were very worn. Yes, the décor was somewhat dated. Yes, the television was pre-HD. But overall the building was clean and well maintained. The staff was helpful when we checked in and out. The only need for improvement is to replace worn carpeting, new television, and fix the outdoor patio area so that this can be restored to the five-star that it appears it once was. April 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location Overall not a bad hotel but definitely worst among the Sheratons. Positive things: 1. Hotel has friendly staff and responsive even though their language skills (at least English) are extremely poor. 2. Excellent service at the Elite Lounge. 3. Excellent housekeeping in the room. 4. Hotel is very close from the Agricultural Exhibition Center, subway and 10-15 min walk to major shopping and entertainment area. 5. Hotel is not far from the airport so if you are planning to stay only for one night, this hotel could be a choice. 6. Decent choice of food at Elite Lounge for breakfast and happy hour. Negative things: 1. Check-in takes FOREVER 2. I am not sure I got upgraded to the suite that I used my Suite Awards for (they have numerous types of suites) 3. No wi-fi in the 21st century Sheraton and wired internet is so slow that it would actually take less time to WALK to the satellite and deliver an e-mail. 4. Public areas do not seem to be very clean and partly because of the age of the hotel. Carpets are stained, wallpaper had some marks on them and etc. 5. Even though it is called Great Wall Sheraton, it is nowhere close to the actual Great Wall. think it is about 70 km. 6. Hotel does not offer Green Choice. Don't be fooled by photos posted on the website!!! April 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Wall Sheraton Hotel: Under promise and over deliver The hotel surprised me positively with every single thing. From check in, timeliness, adhering promptly to requests, personalized service, etc. Rooms had a great view of Beijing, the SPG dining room was a pleasure to enjoy breakfast in, the front office executed every request first time right, and on time. It was a great experience which few hotels will be able to match. There location is great and central. I will without doubt recommend this hotel to anyone and I already have friends who wants to go to Beijing next year so guess where they will be staying. Really well done and thank you for the effort from the general management and front office management. April 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has a GREAT band On business trip in April 2014 over the Qing Ming holiday weekend and stayed in Great Wall Sheraton once again (it is my home in Beijing). A Beijing subway station is very close by and provides great access to all of Beijing as you can get anywhere in the city for just 2 RMB! The traffic can oftentimes clog the streets and highways, so I use the subway a lot, saving time and money. ( Guess I hate sitting in taxis stuck in traffic in any city). I was on Exec floor and it is worth the extra with lounge access for breakfast, evening drinks/snacks and internet access included. Wonderful staff there (Hi Celia!) will help with any needs you may have. I loved hanging out in the Atrium bar in the evenings - the drinks are a little expensive - but hey, we are in the Sheraton, right? So here is the Great Wall Sheraton's "little secret"...it may even by Beijing's little secret...6 nights a week there is a simply outstanding resident band called "The Stagelights", who will play/sing cover versions of just about any song you care to ask them. I have traveled the world for more years than I care to admit [ :-) ], so I have seen many forms of alleged "hotel entertainment", some good, some not so much - these 4 lovely people never ever (!) fail to impress - not only with their considerable talents but with their genuine sense of humility and proud dedication to their craft, whether the bar has a few seats filled or is empty. To the manager of the GW Sheraton - while it's none of my business, I have to say this - a band like the "Stagelights" should be playing to a busy bar every night; especially a bar within an iconic brand like The Sheraton - you need to better promote the bar! Call me if you need some suggestions; I'm in marketing. And I'm not kidding. I will be back. Ciao, Eric. April 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stay away from this hotel and staffs I checked in for a weekend getaway in Beijing and was in for an unpleasant surprise at Sheraton Great Wall. When I first came in, I went straight to the Platinum / Gold member check in and was helped by a staff by name of Jenny Chen. Jenny was very impersonal and rude. She never smiled, she was very demanding and seemed really annoyed that I "bugged" her. She proceeded to tell me that the room does not come with breakfast and internet is with a fee. She then tried to upsell me by offering to pay 1500 points for breakfast. I said no and she seemed more annoyed at my response. When I asked to clarify whether it was 1500 points or RMB, she rudely responded by raising her voice saying "No, of course not!! It is not rmb. I told you that it is points, SPG points". and sighed really loudly while rolling her eyes. I was astounded. She finally checked me in and gave me key without saying anything else. I made a mental note to write this in the review, which will be my first time ever writing a bad review for a hotel and calling out a specific staff. I proceeded to the room and was shocked to see what awful condition the room is in. For $160 all inclusive tax, I would expect better. The room is outdated, there is no wifi (only cable internet since the hotel clearly did not want to pay extra few dollars to put router on each floor) and the carpet in the room is very very dirty. Plus no flat screen tv. I was so disgusted that I ended up upgrading my room to the elite floor that is newly renovated, adding extra $100 / night to my bill and paying a very ridiculous price for a very outdated hotel with lack of facilities and rude staffs. The next day I decided to try to go to the great wall. When I tried to ask concierge, again the lady in the concierge was very rude and unaccommodating, saying that we go talk to the hotel travel agent and discuss prices there. Oh and on saturday night, there was a black-out in the hotel where all the lights and ac shut down. And then the internet stopped working for a while. And the ac does not seem to work at all in the room. My whole stay I kept dialing the temperature down to 18 degrees, but it remained in 28. Again, maybe cost saving in the hotel and they dont want to pay any electricity? It seems that this hotel is all about making money and trying to upsell you. I will never ever stay in this hotel again. I am almost convinced to never want to bring my business to any sheraton ever again, especially considering how bad the experience here has been. I am afraid that the sheraton brand will be tainted with one-off hotels like this. March 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Staff Professionalism I left some money in my laundry while they were being sent out for washing. The housekeeping staff found them and contacted me immediately. Money was return fully intact ! March 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing I booked this hotel for my friends and me while we were visiting Beijing. I booked a 3 bed room and asked for it at the check in again. I booked and aske as well for a Non-Smoking room... We have been placed to a room with a single king size bed and no space for an additional bed and it was a smoking room as well. After a long day of traveling it took the staff more than 45 min!!! to change the room for us. Additional issues: -No free wifi on the room (even if I'm platinum member) -No-one helped to carry the lugguage even if enough people from the staff have been staying around in the lobby - check out took 20 min while our car was waiting - breakfast just average/poor (e.g. no fresh omlete or anything cooked fresh offered) This is not Sheraton style! March 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by GOTTA GET WITH THE TIMES OVERALL IMPRESSION: When I came to China the first time in the eighties, this property was the showplace of the nation and in comparison with what else was out there, afforded a level of comfort and luxury unknown in China. But times have changed, the hotel hasn’t. This would no longer be my choice for accommodation in the Capital. SPG RECOGNITION: They do try but in such a factory-like atmosphere it is hard to feel special. Upgraded to a full suite. THE ROOM: Basically two standard rooms (with two standard baths) connected with a common foyer - the strange set-up meant we virtually never went into the “sitting” room. Decor while pleasant is dated and in need of a re-fit. LOCATION: Beijing is so sprawling that virtually everywhere is a taxi ride away but one pleasant exception in the lovely new upscale shopping and entertainment centre at Sanlitun Road just a short walk from the hotel. EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS: Unfortunately most were only just met and none exceeded. DID NOT MEET EXPECTATIONS: In the new service-oriented China, this place really feels like an anachronism. Some really intensive re-training in line with new customer expectations would definitely be in order. As would be a full property restoration. March 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Stay if the rates are reasonable With that I mean I would not stay if the rates are over $100 or CNY 600 per night. I normally do stay when points and cash or points is available. The location is within walking distance to subway station. Hotel is older and looks dated and must struggle to keep good staff. Lounge for SPG platinum members is good! FYI, I have stayed several times in the last 2 years. January 31, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by No hot water for a shower After a 2 hour delay at YVR airport followed by an 11 hour flight all I wanted was a hot shower. It was so disappointing to only have cold water and had to go to bed without a shower. December 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by An old hotel Too old. It's like 2 star hotel. They do not follow Starwood rules. December 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Was good years ago but need improvement now Hotel location is wasily accessible and staffs are all helpful. But hardware is really not up to standard, not mentioning CRT TV and old fashioned washroom. I couldn't believe that there is no WiFi(not matter paid or free) at a 5 star hotel. Guests need to ask fo WiFi password and sit at lobby using WiFi. November 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by 4 night stay Overall its a good Sheraton hotel, but does need a update. TV's need to be updated to flat screens. Pool needs updating. Carpets need updating. Sheraton private Car service to/from airport is over priced, take a cab for around 75 cny. Close walking distance to subway, around 5-8 min walk. Around 20-25 min walk to mall area and nightlife or you can take subway. We stayed on the 13th floor and had access to the club lounge on 17th floor for happy hr. Happy hr was 4-7 and had small selection of drinks and snack food. We were here for 4 nights and the snack food was much the same every night which got old. Breakfast in the morning was really good. Staff response to guest services was excellent. We booked a 1 day Beijing great wall tour from hotel, it was very good. For point value redeemed I think it was a great choice for Beijing. November 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Service The facilities and the rooms are nice. The concierge service and the front desk services need major improvement. Inspite of being gold and having requested the 2 rooms days back - they could not even find the reservation. Check in took 30 minutes. And check out was disastrous too as they invoiced the room to my 13 year old! The concierge was completely unhelpful and we had to mostly figure things out through the net. October 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor Hotel in Need of Renovation, but Excellent Front Office Staff I needed to book this hotel for a one-night stay to be near the embassy district. Already knew that this hotel was old and tired and in dire need of renovation (this hotel still uses the old CRT TVs!; haven't seen those in a four- or five-star hotel in a loooong time!). All previous reviews about the hotel's condition are spot on. No further comment about that. However, I must point out the EXCELLENT attitude and service of one Front Office staff member, Gilda. She was exceptional in her friendliness and willing to please. Checked in at the SPG Platinum Desk, and she was there waiting with a warm smile. Presented all my credentials including my SPG Platinum Card. When, she handed back my SPG Card, she said "Thank you for your loyalty to Starwood". I must say that, in all my years of travel, I have NEVER had anyone at check in to thank you for such loyalty. It is usually "Thank you for staying at our hotel", etc. Caught me a bit surprised, actually. Went back to the Front Office later in the evening to check on some things, and Gilda was there. She remembered my name and addressed me very friendly. Helped out with my requests, etc. Checked out next day afternoon, and once again, Gilda was at the Front Desk. She again remembered my name and addressed me as such. At the end of checkout, she once again said "Thank you for your loyalty to Starwood. Your points will post in three days. Have a wonderful day". There was no fake smile or pre-scripted dialog about her interactions. Everything was so genuine and her service from the heart. She put a very nice "star" on top of a mediocre stay at an old hotel. Hope she does well; she will go far with such good service and attitude. I hope her superior or the hotel GM gets this message. October 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Back To The Future This property has not been refurbished since Michael J Fox installed the Flux Capacitor. Bizarre property for a Sheraton/Starwood. Major gripe is the fixtures and furnishings in room that resemble a set off the Brady Bunch and the price you pay for that. Value for money poor and rates should be relative to standad of Hotel. They're not. Staff make an effort given the drab surroundings. Some good Starwood Properties in Beijing. This needs a major refurb to be at a level even close to others. October 15, 2013
  • 2016-07-26 T16:58:35.085-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_251, tr_251
  • loc_en_US, sid_175, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10 next>>