Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Astir Palace, Athens

  • 40 Apollonos Street - Astir Palace Complex
  • Athens - Vouliagmeni,
  • 16671
  • Greece
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 104 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pleasant stay Despite chilly whether towards the end of the say, altogether a pleasant experience with Matsuhisa Athens restaurant next door crowining it all. October 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful location, stunning view The room was nice, it was supposed to have pillow-top mattress' to U.S.A. pillow-top standards it wasn't even close. The bed was pretty hard. I had a sore back by the end of my stay. There were no plugs in the bathroom, which made it very inconvenient for getting ready purposes. The full length mirror in the bathroom was put in a spot that you had to stand within two feet from it and couldn't stand back a little bit unless you jumped in the tub. Our last night was ruined by not being able to swim in the pool. I really wanted to swim and hadn't had a chance to try it out yet and the pool cleaner told us it was not available for use after dark. The front desk confirmed that the reason is due to no lifeguard. I have never seen a lifeguard at any hotel pool and never heard of a pool closing at 7:30 pm at any hotel. So I was pretty upset about this, not to mention that the pool is extremely lit up. The faucets in the tub and sink when turned on a normal pressure level to wash, make the water splash all over the place. The toilet also has a splash back affect when using it. On the plus side they were pretty generous with towels and even came to our door asking if we wanted extra. House keeping seems to be cleaning rooms all day and evening so you could get your room cleaned at different times, which was nice. However we were at the end of Sept. so I don't know if housekeeping is as awesome in peak season. The bathroom was beautiful and new and huge. the tub was large. the room itself was nice and the balcony was AMAZING. I don't know if they have rooms w/o one but its worth every penny more for a marble balcony with sunbeds, chair, and table. The view is out of this world. The breakfast was very good and they changed it up a little every day..lots and lots to choose from, and the dining area is amazing. We would stay again despite the negatives. September 30, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Big Disappointment If you are expecting a flawless 5 STAR experience, think again. While the physical facility is nice and clean, the staff is ill-trained and ill-equiped to meet the world standards of 5 star Luxury hotel. At best, the service was uneven, and in some cases confrontational and rude. The spa was quite nice although no hot tub and to use the indoor pool costs extra, or you can swin in the freezing outdoor pool (before they close it without notice).The infinity pool was tiny and very cold in the middle of August, (if it is not warm in August, when would it be warm? - the water in the ocean nearby was much warmer) and this pool was not open during the published hours. Or you can walk half a mile to an adjacent facility and use their pool (not convenient). The Italian restaurant in the hotel was good but overpriced. The breakfast was clumsily served and amateurish. We were verbally abused by the hostess claiming (wrongly) that we had not been given the 'complimentary breakfast' as our SPG gift, even though the reception desk clerk had furnished two vouchers for us. The concierge service was non-existant, and try to get simple driving directions to the airport and you will surely be lost in greater Athens from the hand directions we were provided. This hotel is a remodel of one obviously built in the 1960s, on a great site, but the whole word "hospitality" #let alone 'luxury'# was not understood by the staff. It doesn't matter if the place looks good, if you are not treated right, what is the point? August 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mrs The housekeeping was not up to my expectation, otherwise, the property location, beach and food was great August 11, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by 5 star location with 2 star service In my 25 years of staying at 5 star luxury properties throughout the world, I have rarely been as disappointed in the level of service as I was at the Arion. From check in to departure, the staff let us down: 1 Upon check in we had to wait while desk clerk spoke on phone with someone about a reservation while other clerk dealt with irate couple complaining about their allotted room. He did not know we had 2 rooms booked, and was confused about which one was to be set up with twin beds vs king. He did not give us a map of the resort or explain where things were. 2. We were taken to our bungalow rooms and there was rubbish and dirty laundry outside the doors at 9pm at night- a terrible first impression 3. Bedding arrangements (see point 1) were mixed up, and we called for assistance. Two hours later after dinner we called again...and bedding was sorted after midnight. 4. Breakfast staffing inadequate 5. Beach attendant overwhelmed . Took 39 minutes to get towels and try to put up broken umbrellas (see below) when you could find attendant. 6. Condition of chaise lounges and umbrellas at beach very poor/broken. 7. Concierge/front desk help very poor. No menus for other restaurants in the resort (westin) . When asked about the difference between the 2 Greek restaurants at the westin, was informed one was "modern" and the other traditional. I was not informed that modern one that we booked was 2x more expensive, and less appropriate for my family of 5. Help with booking cars/site seeing equally useless. 8. Housekeeping responsiveness and consistency terrible. Missing chair cushions on terrace, burned out light bulbs, missing robes in room, failure to replace exhausted shower gel, failure to replace bath mats, leaving honey covered cutlery in room for days...shocking. Most requests took hours ... Or days... To satisfy. 9. Lobby bar service very poor-had to ask for bill 3x and wait 30 minutes to pay one night. 10. Most hotel staff did not smile or say hello or acknowledge presence when passed them on grounds. The above is not all inclusive, but provides a sample of the range of failures in customer service that is very unexpected at a Luxury Collection property. It is highly unfortunate given the beautiful location of this property, and entirely unacceptable given the prices charged. I will think twice before making another Luxury Collection reservation in the future. August 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Swimming and Dockside Whilst this hotel has great swimming and beach facilities, its best restaurant is only open during the daytime. You would expect to get a good Greek Meal at night, not Italian or Japanese. August 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Hotels has great features Simply one of the best Hotels I have ever stayed in Greece. The service is was brilliant and the location fantastic. I highly recommend it to anyone that would like to have a weekend break or longer break. Its central and on the beach, its in the Capital and within suburbs. July 26, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Elektra Sub standard service @ it's best. Right down to the maid service & front desks knowledge. The 1st floor that we were staying on always had a bad lingering odor. Not fresh & clean. July 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A bit of Paradise As seasoned citizens and seasoned travelers as well, we are seldom surprised and somewhat hard to impress. But our stay with you in Vouliagmeni was unforgettable and excellent in every respect. The staff were outstanding from top to bottom and the facilities and view are breathtaking. Thank for adding to our store of great memories. July 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 Rest and Relaxation! Perfect weather in Greece! We had a wonderful experience at Arion. For me in particular I'm pleased the owners decided to remodel and maintain the bungalows and main building. Mid 70s international architecture. The staff was very friendly and attentive. It felt like "summer camp" for adults. Thanks very much. Jeff G July 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The hotel needs updating We have stayed at this hotel every summer for the past seven years and this year we noticed that it has been been neglected. The rooms were not up to par to other years in cleanliness. The bathrooms and beds were not in pristine condition and the amenities were average. No chocolates or turn down service. The beach was dirty with plastic garbage on the shore and the sand which was unacceptable. The staff was lovely as usual, particularly Georgia at the front desk and Demetri at the front door. We are staying there again for 2 nights in August. July 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by SPG MEMBER NO RECOGNITION INDIFERENT IN RECEPTION MEMBERS IF YOU ARE SPG MEMBER ! THE SEA SHOULD BE CLEAN IN THE SMALL BEACH June 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome beach property in Athens We spent 5 days here in Dec and Jan which was good beacuse we got upgraded to an awesome cottage apartment right on the water. It was cold but we were here primarily for Athens's historical places and with the shuttle service felt great along with excellent service from the friendly staff. Highly recommended for a family trip. June 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by An amazing week spent at Arion It has been almost two years since our last stay at Arion. In the past while we were leaving in Athens we used to stay there between 2-4 times per year. To be frank, before going there I had fears about the service level, given the general deterioration of workng conditions in many companies in Greece. I must admit that I was wrong. Staff was extremely polite, helpful and efficient and we probably had the highest level of service until now. The two points the management should review are: the food quality level -with the exception of Matsuhisa- and the cleaning of the bungalows that should not be out sourced. All in all, thank you Chrysa, Dimitris, Kostas, Gogo, Nikos, Stephanos, Georgia, Alexandros, Giorgos, Thymios ... We had a wonderful time in Arion, one of the most beautiful areas of the Mediterranean, and we already miss you. May 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Starpoints 2nd time in a row I'm told that my Starwood account does not have any points left when I have close to 50'000 points accumulated. Otherwise still the best place on universe which I highly recommend to anyboby. May 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Classy facility, but sevice needs improvement With an average room, priced at $450, I expected a higher level of service. From the very start, upon entering the facility we were not met at the door by the bellhop, neither were the front desk ladies very friendly, they were operating as if they were just there to do their job, check us IN and tell us our room number. No hello, how is your day going, thank you for booking with Arion. Just simple robots, with no expression. We did not receive an escort to our room and thus, got lost. (our room number was not in sync with the other rooms -- strange) However, a nice fellow (a man working on the premises showed us and helped us with our bags. Overall, the rooms were very clean and the facility was nice, but that is not what makes the experience, those are just the black and white pieces which are the building blocks, it is the PEOPLE, the STAFF that bring color and set the tone for the atmosphere, which is the experience! I was really disappointed with the front desk ladies, even after we freshened up and came downstairs to plan our day, they were busy having a conversation between one another, even though we were standing in front at the information desk (which is located directly beside the front desk AND they were only the two present, obviously we need their assistance!.) However, the gentlemen at the Skybar, by the dock, was friendly and gave great suggestions about the surrounding area. the gentleman also by the inside bar in the lobby was great! May 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful option in the outskirts of Athens Pros: - wonderful starwood platinum upgrade policy. Loved the suite AND the fact that the upgrade was given without having to ask at check-in. - nice and quiet rooms, really liked that the door shut themselves quietly. Hate those slamming doors that wake all guests in nearby rooms. - what a great idea having a separate elevator on the top floor going directly down to the spa/fitness center on the ground floor. - free self parking. - magnificent sea views from almost all of the rooms. Cons - selection at breakfast was poor and the same every day (stayed fire nights). The quality was also quite low, e.g. the cofee and juice selection was awful, And why not offer nespresso coffee at breakfast when there is a nespresso machine in the lounge? - one, horrible CD playing again and again at breakfast. Some soft versions of modern hits. Not very classy. - club lounge had a nice setting with balconies on both sides, but the food selection was limited and poor. The breakfast in the morning here was a joke, and the evening offerings were gone in 20 minutes, The wine was horrible, a hotel is better off serving no wine instead of some extremly cheap stuff. - no staff in gym. Sorry parents, but it is not okay sending your children to the gym to play with the equipments. Had a work-out ruined by a family that obviously was bored and decided to use the gym as a fun factory. April 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great resort Lovely resort, beatiful view from evey spot. We were upgraded to a beautiful bungalo with the bay view and enjoyed evey second. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Very good service. March 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good overall quality Food, location and hospitality are all excellent. I highly recommend to all travelers March 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs renovation & update in services Excellent location.Magic.Kind staff but not for a luxury collection. Very pool variety in breakfast, service is just ok, decoration & equipment is very pool (like coming out from the 80s). Suite really nice. Executive area...very poor. Frite potato on the coffee table for 2 days...Ordered plate of cheese at the bar...cheese as if taken from breakfast and bread not fresh...disappointing. Spa area very nice. Overall: Public Areas as well as F&B services need to be updated. March 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent staff and the view is breathtaking I love staying at this hotel ! The view is amazing, the staff are wonderful attending to your every need. When ever i come to Athens , it is my prefered hotel further out of the city centre, quiet, amazing views , private and Lovely food. March 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A magnificent Hotel in magnificent place next to the sea I had 2 wonderful days in a magnificent place. Hotel provided all comforts and even after meetings you could relax and enjoy all facilities in maximum March 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 the amenities of the room are not in the level of a luxury hotel the slippers was in paper, the towels very old, only one soap for all the stay, no fruits of welcome. February 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great view and location Beautiful hotel, excellent location & view, February 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Splendid experience We spent 14 nights and mornings in impeccable comfort, with nothing whatsoever to complain about, with a very friendly and helpful staff, with an excellent breakfast and with a splendid, romantic view over the shoreline and the sea towards distant hills. February 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing hotel / Wrong season We spent one night in Arion during Valentine's day. We got both room upgrade and late check out due to membership. The room was quite excellent and had amazing sea view of the small bay. Spa facilities are good. The Nobu restaurant is really a must. Do not miss it. Breakfast was also in high standards. On the other hand, a drawback of this hotel is staff service, which even though it wasn't bad, it was not impressive and should be better based on the hotel's category, . One more thing that got my attention was security procedures during driving in. Even though we were stopped and asked why we are entering the area, no one ever checked if we had a reservation. In total we were happy with the experience. February 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by View Wonderful views if you have the right room Excellent bar staff inside and lovely music February 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has it all Great location with large, comfortable and well equipped rooms. Pleasant staff, nice lounge/lobby areas, good gym/spa and reasonably priced (Corporate rtae though). Only disappointment was EUR 6.50 for small bottle of water in room mini-bar!! February 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is unique!!! Amazing hotel!!! Excellent staff, nice food, well organised gym, clean space, perfect decoration on the rooms & location!!! January 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Below expectations for a 5 star hotel Poor and inaccurate info by personnel at the Reception, poor quality of breakfast, very small fitness center, room furniture in average condition January 3, 2013
  • 2015-07-05T14:01:12.354-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_104, tr_104
  • loc_en_US, sid_1984, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>