The Westin New York Grand Central

  • 212 East 42nd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10017
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 634 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Stay at the Westin Grand Central I can't say enough about what a wonderful stay we had at the Westin Grande Central. I was traveling alone with my two young children and the staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. They ensured that we had connecting rooms, something many hotels will not guarantee. They said hello to my children each time we entered and exited the lobby. The Doorman found us cars/cabs with little to no wait. The front desk was simply wonderful. And the rooms are like new. This is now my top Starwood property in NYC after this stay.. March 4, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not ready for prime time... This hotel is not ready for prime time: Pros: Descent location, newly renovated rooms of good size for NYC Cons: 1. Business center closed, no advanced notice 2. No platinum recognition at check in, no ask for amenity preference 3. No glasses in bathroom, only plastic cups 4. Internet requires log in every 5 minutes after 1st day (may not be common) For the $415/night I paid with a corporate discount, the hotel was an awful value. Choose a different SPG hotel in NYC. October 11, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location, but bathroom lights made me feel like I was having a seizure Stayed at the Westin Grand Central for one night while in town for a friend's bachelorette party. The location was good for what we were doing as it was centrally located to our planned activities. Valets were not terribly friendly or attentive. They constantly needed to be flagged down instead of being attentive and ready to help you. Room was clean...couldn't seem to find a clock in it. My major issue was with the lighting in the bathroom. It was so bright, the level of what you would typically see around a small makeup mirror, but around the entire large mirror on the wall. I could barely stand to be in there at any time. It truly made me feel like I was having a seizure. I hope there can be some adjustments as this would honestly prevent me from staying there again. March 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by The staff is rude The staff is inconsiderate. We checked in and were told to wait for a couple of hours for the room. Five minutes later, when we checked in with another person, we were assigned a room! Clearly there were rooms available and the first person we spoke to was just being weird. Outside the hotel, when we asked for a cab, that person was dismissive. We obviously did not tip him considering his behavior. I was really disappointed with the overall attitude of staff at this hotel. March 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Love the location but not quite impressed about the associate. Was staying for Superbowl weekend, Jan 29 - Feb 3, 2014. My stay overall was wonderful, the room was big enough for New York standard hotels but was not really pleasant with most of the associates in front desk and lobby. I agreed with most of the reviewers here about how poor customer service skills from front desk and the greeter associates in the lobby. The greeters should have a friendly smile and willingness to help in any way would go a long way with hotel guests entering the lobby, instead, most of them was just talking each other and careless about guests walking to lobby without smile or even bother saying "Good afternoon, Welcome to Westin Grand Central New York". Also my friends and I realized that the greeters was looking up at us from head to toe and judge us from our appearance every time we walked in or out the lobby without smile and without greeting us at all, Maybe because of my race? I believe every guest staying in Westin hotels or with any Starwoods Hotels & Resorts deserve to receive an EQUAL service level from the hotel, regardless of their appearance, race, age, sx orientation and religion For Westin Grand Central New York GM : Please watch surveillance camera periodically in the main lobby, and please pay attention to the greeter and front desk staffs, you will find out why most of SPG elite members staying in your hotel complaining for. Also, I hope your hotel participate for Make a Green Choice Program soon to save our environment. February 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not so great Bed was awesome so had a very restful sleep and room was very nice. Lots of little things weren't so great. Never was recognized for being a SPG gold member until the end of checkout and then she said I would get free internet or 1,000 points. I chose Internet. Not enough towels in room, lights over the bed were burned out, empty box left on table, big wad of paper on floor, no soap in shower, horrific water pressure, and then when I got out of the shower with wet hair I couldn't find a hair dryer. Called down and they said it should be under the sink, but I told them it wasn't there. By the time they brought it up I found it in the closet. Then at checkout I was charged for Internet. No help in getting a cab the night we went to dinner and theatre. November 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing stay at The Westin Grand Central We have stayed in the hotel before and had a very good experience. This time was the complete opposite. We had 2 rooms on the 14th floor. There was construction on the floor that began at 6am on Saturday morning. When I called to complain the front desk did not believe what I was telling them! One of our rooms was half cleaned one day, (only one bed changed and no towels or toiletries' replaced) on the second day we returned from all day in the city to find the whole floors laundry piled up outside our room and the room had not been cleaned. When we called to complain the front desk had a terrible attitude and the laundry remained outside our room for several hours afterwards. Even the doormen were rude and unhelpful, one of the men in question was so rude to my daughter and I, that I simply could not believe he worked at the hotel. The service in the bar was very slow on both nights. All in all, it seemed as if there was no one of authority at the hotel during our stay. We asked to speak to the Manager prior to check out and he/she was not available. November 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Need to improve quality of service *No one pick up a phone for services (message only) *Even when picked up by operator is not friendly *Everyone too busy to fulfill guest's satisfaction *Restaurant service extremely poor. *I was awarded free breakfast as a platinum member but no waiter explained properly how I can use it (Showed up early at 6 am) *Under this situation waiter was treating me like as an idiot and was not a good experience. *Waiter & Waitress was holding their hands and flirting with each other. *Totally unacceptable December 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by The worst hotel I have ever stayed in NYC I am a business traveler who visit NYC 3-4 times a year. This was my first time stay at Westin Grand Central last week for a conference. I would say this hotel is a mess. First of all, the reception staff checked me in as someone else. She didn't even ask for my ID/visa. After I got back I found that I got charged one night penalty because the system thinks I've never checked in this hotel. Secondly, overall attitude of the staff was terrible. The staff at concierge were not willing to help at all. They were mean to everyone coming for their help. I have never got greeted by any staff in this hotel except room cleaning lady and doorman. Not even the hotel manager I met when I walked out of the gym (it's near the management office). The room wasn't clean - there was used tissue paper under the desk and in the toilet when I checked in the room. I made a complain and got no apology from anyone. The cleaning lady and her supervisor were just trying defending themselves. I have told what I feel about this hotel to the conference organizer and they feel the same way as I do. There must be something wrong with this hotel. November 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Staff of any Starwood Hotel I spend a lot of time staying at Starwood hotels and for the most part, I'm usually pretty happy. Never - and I mean never - have I encountered worse staff or felt so unwelcome in a Starwood hotel before. 1. Upon arrival, and with considerable luggage, three porters were standing outside the hotel doing nothing. Not one offered any assistance whatsoever and were quite happy for me to struggle on my own after travelling for more than 20 hours 2. The check-in process took a very long time and it seemed the front desk was very understaffed with only two agents manning the desk 3. On the first morning, I noticed my credit card had been double billed for my stay, so I approached the front desk to query the matter. As I asked for clarification, the agent treated me with absolute contempt, trying to intimate I was stupid, while saying "why don't you listen?". It was only after I asked for the Duty Manager's intervention that the issue was resolved and I was shown to be right, but an agent trying to demean a guest in such a way can never be excusable 4. The attendant at the continental breakfast counter on the first few mornings of my visit was offensively rude. On trying to place my order, on two occasions, the attendant rudely interjected and shouted "so is it coffee or tea?" and then slammed the items down on the counter when they were ready, pointing at the bill to which he shouted "sign" 5. On two mornings I was unable to have breakfast as the service simply took too long. On one morning, it took more than 10 minutes for my order to be taken, and on the other, no one had come to take my order so I had to leave. While I found your a-la-carte breakfast staff pleasant, you appear to have too few of them during busy periods in the morning. On the days I did have time for breakfast, the whole service could take up to an hour which is very unsuitable in a busy city like New York City 6. Bath towels on some days were nothing short of threadbare 7. The worst thing - I wrote directly to Edward Maynard- the General Manager of this hotel about my experience. I never received an acknowledgement or any response to my complaints. Clearly the poor service comes right from the top. Starwood has much, much better hotels in New York City. There's no reason to stay here. November 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Does not meet Westin's level of proper guest service. Pros: Location is decent Nicely renovated/clean rooms Cons: Service, service, service October 15, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Chaos at best! The hotel is a disaster! I have stayed in many NYC hotels and NEVER one where the rooms are this small. The check in process is just plain chaos. There is no effort to control the SPG Gold and Platinum line. The check in desk is a free for all and very chaotic. If you are an SPG elite member and expect an upgrade, you have to ASK for it. They do nothign automatically for you. Which is why I guess the front desk is run so poorly. Once you get to the rooms expect something that looks like it was designed in the 80's and as a closet. The plugs in the desk didn't work and while most new hotels are putting in plugs beside the bed...this one didn't. Hope two people are not traveling together and plan on being in the bathroom at the same time...You practically have to stand on the toilet to close the door. All of this and I was in a corner room.... The SPG breakfast amenity is just a joke. A cup of coffee, a 600 calorie muffin and inedible yogurt. All in all pathetic! August 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Facilities...but So how does a Westin Hotel have no SPG check-in. No Sign, No Recognition, just a long line to wait in to check in. Very Disappointing from this SPG Lifetime Platinum Customer. On the upside, the hotel was very nice. Room was very comfortable, bed was great, Bathroom very nice. Even allowing for the "New York" that comes out in some folk in NY, the staff starting with the front desk was very kurt, short, not quite rude but close. Clearly they had something more important than me to deal with and I wasting their time. Overall A great location and good hotel. Get the staff some training and get an SPG checkin line and this would have been a five star stay. January 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoyed our Stay The hotel was perfect for our vacation, allowing easy access to both uptown and downtown via the Grand Central Station subway terminal. Rooms were well-situated, newly remodeled, and larger than expected for NYC standards. Upon arrival we received an SPG upgrade to a high level room with a lovely view of the Chrysler building. The only downside is that the building has older windows that allowed some of the outside noise to be heard during the nights/early morning. This is somewhat expected in NY, though, and not an issue if staying on the weekends. We would definitely stay here again! Great drinks in the lobby bar/restaurant, too! July 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel, but non-responsive For a member that brags on the SPG collection and to have a large amount held for incidentals on a stay where I used Star Points for a night, is unheard of. I have not been contacted or compensated for the inconvenience of the Hotels mistake and I have not gotten a response back from the General Manager, Colleen Senters, after leaving a voicemail message with her concerning this issue a couple of days ago. Clearly they are showing me that my loyalty to them is not very important. Very disappointed in this hotels response to their error! December 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Staff do not care Checkin was a disaster and we did not get our room until 6.30pm even though we are both platinum spg members. Staff did not care and the apology given was totally insincere. February 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by The staff here is awful The location and overall hotel is good. Unfortunately, the staff is less then mediocre. I've stayed at this property several times for business and have not been recognized for my platinum status. I've never encountered hotel staff that could care less if you are loyal to Starwood or not. December 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff The last time I stayed at this hotel was still called "New York Helmsley". I have wonderful memories with my parents from Japan. As I stepped in, I felt sad to see the piano bar has been removed... However, my son and I were greeted by the familiar faces from old days and we immediately felt we were welcomed again and our stay was very comfortable. I have recommended to my friends in publicity in France right away. We pop in NY often and this hotel now is on my list to stay again. Thank you for giving us a good quality. February 7, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unhappy with treatment and quality of service at the Westin for three nights this past weekend, the first of which was in a suite. I requested an early check in and that another platinum member, who was sharing the room with me and arriving earlier, to have his name added to the reservation. Both were promised but neither happened. The suite was not ready until a quarter of 8 on a Friday night, a night on which we had diner plans. I myself waited in the lobby for over an hour waiting on the room receiving little explanation and poor estimates of when the room would actually be ready. I was only offered a drink ticket after my third or fourth inquiry into what the holdup was. We also asked for cups to be brought up to our room - took over a hour - and for an extra toothbrush - we had to wait, and then were given toothpaste. A lot of this I could have overlooked if I didn't feel as though a large portion of the staff I had to deal with were so rude. I have always enjoyed excellent service at SPG properties but, this was unacceptable. May 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Grand Central - great location, wonderful staff My wife and I recently enjoyed a 3 night weekend stay at the Westin Grand Central. This was our second stay at the hotel (having previously visited it 4 years ago) and we were delighted by the improvements made during its recent renovation. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable (we stayed on the 24th floor and had a spectacular view of the Empire State Building). We were warmly greeted by Kenneth at the front desk, who went above and beyond to make our stay memorable and relaxing (please extend our great thanks to him for his efforts). The location, just a few blocks from Grand Central, is perfect for easy movement around Manhattan, but a comfortable distance from the immediate hustle and bustle of the transit hub. Perfect spot for a weekend getaway or business travel. February 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Service, Decent Location, Amazing Gym I really liked staying here during the US Open for Tennis. Tons of tennis themes going on with giant tennis balls everywhere. Brought life to the hotel. The rooms were on par with other Westins a surprisingly big for a NYC hotel. They were clean, cleaned daily, and smelled fresh (surprisingly some SPG hotels have some funky smell). Now, the gym was the highlight. Huge gym with a ton of equipment and weights. It was clean, had ample water and apples, and two TVs. This is one of the best SPG gyms I have been to, if not the best. It was twice as large as any other SPG gym I have seen in NYC, which is impressive. I'd say this is my #2 hotel to stay at in NYC of all the SPG properties, which means a lot. February 19, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by House Keeping Issue Before leaving for breakfast we called housekeeping and request to have the room cleaned up. Upon returning around 4PM the room was still not cleaned. Went out again for dinner and the room was still not completely cleaned upon our return - Blanket on the floor, room not properly stocked���.etc. Not sure what happened with the house keeping staff but it was totally unacceptable. April 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Westin does not always mean Westin To keep this short: - Arrival and check-in ok (very unfriendly and arrogant valet parking staff, but nevertheless friendly check-in staff ladies) - Next day: very unfriendly, educational and arrogant valet parking staff on the phone (call from room) - Shirts and other clothing ended up on the sideboard (I thought roomservice has been invented to clean rather than mess up. If I'd mess my room up myself I would consider this to be a different story. 2$ tip per day obviously is not enough in this City. - DO NOT DISTURB means? Why do I welcome roomservice in my room when the sign is at door handle? - Check-out: No bill under my door as promised. - Luggage: 10 miutes waiting ato get it back... In a nutshell: Not my favorite Westin. April 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Spotty This past week I experienced two days of cold water and a poorly stocked room. The facility is falling down on the little things such as restocking tea and coffee, shower caps etc and at this location it was not the first time. The most concerning was not having hot water to shower for two days las t week. January 26, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Is this an SPG Hotel? We live in the NY metropolitan area (40 min by Metro North), a few times a year we like to come and spend the night in a hotel. We've always loved the SPG chain for it's great costumer service, nice comfortable rooms, hospitality and family feeling. We even celebrated our sons wedding at a Westin in Ohio. Unfortunately, this is the second time we stay at this one and the second time we have problems. We got to the hotel at 2 pm and were told that we needed to wait until 3 to get our room. We understood their policy and decided to go out for a while. We came back at 5 and when we asked for our room the receptionist seemed very confused and uneasy. She said she would go upstairs herself to check on our room. We waited almost a ½ hour and she finally said the room wasn't available but she would give us someone else's room. She said she would give us a breakfast voucher to make up for the confusion. We thought maybe she would offer an up grade which we are entitled to since we are gold members. The next day we went to breakfast and were told that those vouchers were only for coffee, a piece of bread and juice. We told the receptionist we wanted to add to that eggs etc. She told us we couldn't since one side of the restaurant was a la carte and we couldn't bring our other breakfast in. It was one or the other but not both. Very confusing!!!At this time, quite hungry, I was very upset and went to the front desk to complain, telling them the terrible experience we had had so far. Bernardo, who knew us from last visit and the day before when we checked in offered us a full breakfast and internet (just for one day, though). We knew Bernardo from the last time when we also had similar problems. At check in we were also given a drink voucher, we ordered a Chardonnay and it was terrible. Does this mean SPG is going downhill, or is it just this one on 42nd St. ? Another problem with breakfast: I asked for a small pitcher of hot milk and they weren't able to get it right after asking 4 times for it. The food was bland, cold syrup (even though it was free). Regarding the cafe con leche (hot milk) he waitress looked at me as if I had just asked for caviar or I don't know what. They said hotel was recently renovated: my opinion is that's very dated. There's mildew in the shower area, the heater was too hot but couldn't be adjusted. I asked for a lighter blanket and they said they didn't have one, there were amenities missing from the room, no complimentary water, the only available restaurant is dark and furniture is beat up. We will certainly not stay here again. December 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good location but... I come to NY about 6 times per year and always with a group. We usually stay at the Westin Times Square but decided to switch it up and try grand central. We are all so disappointed. There are 10 of us and over dinner, we all compared stories about something wrong with each of our rooms. Overall the rooms seem to lack the level of cleanliness we are accustomed to. My room has a terrible odor, and a few of my colleagues said their room smells of smoke. This does not feel like a Westin. February 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room's larger than expected The rooms are much larger than expected for NYC! I'd definitely stay there again! February 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sales Manager great location, great views, heavenly bed, nice staff especially Dave Locke, he is wonderful. Will come again and tell friends!! February 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Catching the siberian express from Westin Grand Central The cold snap roared into NYC about the same time we did. Travelling with 2 young kids, I was glad that the Westin was a very short walk from Grand Central station, extremely manageable even with kids and luggage. As it was a redemption, I wasn't expecting a great room, and just as well that my expectations were pretty low. I was allocated a room on the 6th floor and the adjoining rooms were used as conference rooms for the NBA all star event that weekend. I had previously been allocated a high floor room and the view was wonderful. No luck this time... The check-in experience and the room itself was fine and everything was as it should be. During my stay, I had misplaced my gym clothes and the housekeeping staff went to great lengths to try to locate it. When they couldn't, the even offered to replace free of charge. I did not take up the offer and finally found my stuff in my shoe bag. Great service and many thanks for all your efforts! Overall, no complaints and I would certainly stay there again due to the friendly staff and the super location of the hotel - really useful when average daily temps were no higher than 20s! February 22, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Shocking Lack of Customer Service Front check in to check out the staff here are unfriendly bordering on rude. No greeting no smile not even looked in the eye most of the time. Check out was abysmal with a surley gentleman at 6am who could not even explain the bill and was downright rude when we asked for help in explaining it. I had upgraded the room and was given a room on check in right next door to the lift - despite asking for a quiet room. Asked to be moved and was offered a king bed room - despite the fact I was there with a girlfriend and had specified 2 bedded. Declined and was given a noisy damp smelling room on the 18th floor. Lower floors are allot more noisy due to traffic and I have asthma so room was not good. Finally back home and nearly $1000 is still holding on my account which was taken at check in and has not been released yet. In conclusion this stay was extremely disappointing and as someone who stays at Westin hotels often it was shockingly bad! May 1, 2014
  • 2015-03-27T17:57:09.931-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_634, tr_634
  • loc_en_US, sid_3789, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 22 next>>