The Westin New York Grand Central

  • 212 East 42nd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10017
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 702 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff rep All the staff and management are great and made us be part of the family especially Lilly!!!! September 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by All Aces for Service My staff and I stayed at this Westin for the National Tennis Teachers Conference during the US Open. Housekeeping inadvertently ran over my headphones with a vacuum. They left me a note to see the front desk for replacements (I was impressed that they left a note. They could have thrown them away. I probably would never have known). Molly Deutscher and Li Tang from the Front Desk made sure that I was completely satisfied with the replacement and went "the extra mile". Their service was "All Aces!" Thank you. September 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room was not clean Found a wallet on the floor belonging to the last occupant, no robe in the room, needed to be cleaned under the bed. But after pointing this out at the front desk it was fixed immediately. September 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Below average for a Westin Other than Pei(Front desk), my experience at the Westin Grand Central was way below average. First room I was provided had a nasty smell from the shower curtain. The Head of the housekeeping looked at me like I was crazy for pointing out that the room had a nasty moldy odor. The junior staff acknowledged the smell. Pei was able to change the room for me, but the second room had a nasty tub ( i have pictures). The shower did not drain. Again the housekeeping personnel that responded to my call looked at me like I was a complete idiot for pointing out that during my shower I stood in a puddle of water that drained well after my shower. The room again was below average. I had requested for a king bed, but my platinum status got me nowhere in this hotel. The platinum breakfast is a joke. We used the Platinum as credit towards the $63 hot breakfast, which was so underwhelming that we skipped breakfast the next day. They have cold pressed juice on display, but when we went to grab it, the breakfast host pointed that the free breakfast included tropicana and not the fresh squeezed juice. I requested to use the platinum credit of $16 towards the fresh juice ($10) but was told that that is not an option. On a positive note, the hotel has a good location, easy access to a jogging path along the FDR and offered a late checkout without any problems. September 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice hotel Good location and attentive staff at the reception. Hotel feels very clean and in good condition. Comfortable room. September 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Terrific Experience All Around From the time we were greeted by a super-competent/oh, so congenial Gold representative throughout out stay, everything was as it should be. Staff was responsive and pleasant. The hotel was abuzz because of US Open Activity but not one member of your staff showed any wear and tear. September 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Quality of Sleep Not As Expected Upon checking in, we did upgrade to a higher floor as offered... we stayed for 2 nights, and both nights we had troubles sleeping, our room was right across from ice machine which constantly makes a lot of noise, and not to mention the traffic noise from outside, although we stayed in 38th floor, we could still hear traffic. The walls are also thin, we could hear people from 3 or 4 rooms next to us. I do not think we will be staying in this hotel, while we're expecting at least level 4 quality of sleep for the money we spend. During check-out, we were asked if everything was fine, I did tell the story above, and the receptionist promised someone would contact me for this horrible experience, but I still haven't got the call yet. Totally not recommended. August 31, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rude and unhelpful staff Rude and unhelpful staff. August 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Value for the Price I enjoyed my stay at the Westin. The staff were friendly and recognized me each time I returned to the hotel. The room was what I've come to expect from Westin: not luxurious, but certainly comfortable. My only complaint is the shower. There was a rain-shower head which means your whole head gets wet unless you use the handheld. Unfortunately, the handheld could not be positioned in a way to effectively shower and kept spraying all over the bathroom. August 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location on 42nd Street The location was ideal - away from the noise & congestion of Times Square, yet close to some of my favorite spots (Bryant Park, Grand Central Terminal, Madison Ave shopping}. On the downside - we arrived in NY at 10am Sat morning - did some sightseeing, had lunch and arrived exhausted at the Westin to check in at 3pm. We had to wait until 5pm for a room! With no time to rest before a 6pm appointment, Also the bellmen out front - very inattentive the two times we were trying to get taxis. It's like we were invisible. August 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Birthday weekend I noted on my reserv that it was my bday and my first time in NYC but this was never mentioned by the FD agent. She was really nice but serious all the time she didn't make me feel welcome or special. Bellman were rude when I checked in and when I left, they looked at me as if storing my luggage was a horrible thing to do. In room dining was awesome! Fast delivery and delicious. Housekeeping did great too!!! And my heavenly bed to die for, as always! August 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by customer service extremely poor service for a platinum member- they said i didn't request the suite night - i asked to be added to the reservation - was told i had to do myself on-line - staff would not help at all, I asked every day if a suite upgrade was available - was told a manager would call me - never got a call - In an empty restaurant I asked to be seated at a bigger table to read - was told no - I ate elsewhere I usually love the westin properties - I will not stay at the grand central ever again August 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This was great for a quick overnight stay We needed a hotel in close proximity to the UN and this was AMAZING! the room was comfortable and clean and we really had a very positive experience! August 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by clean and comfortable Clean well appointed rooms - great location and a friendly efficient staff. The bathrooms are small and although I liked the shower - its is impossible to turn it on with out getting blasted with cold water - my only complaint! August 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location Hotel is updated, full service and conveniently located within walking distance of train, bus and subway station. Rooms were clean and comfortable. My only complaint was the noise from the street at night -- sounded like construction noise nearby -- but my family enjoyed our stay and will stay there again next time we visit NYC. August 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel is in a very convenient location. We were only in New York for one night and this hotel was perfect. The location, the staff and the room were all great. August 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by House Keeping I was a let down when the rooms were not made. I had to call several times to reach someone to notified them of this. On several attempts. I would get an answer machine when I was transferred. I also had a valet attendant give me a unpleasant look when he was handing my car keys. It was very strange and unsettling. I was locked out of my room on the Sunday night. Had to go back to the front desk 2 time to the to see why the keys would not let me in. They had to send security to the room. I asked for a 2 double beds in the room and my request was not filled. I believe that the manager should have assist in meeting my request. August 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another perfect stay at Westin The Westin Grand Central in New York was perfect for our girls weekend getaway. Great location, service, comfort. What more can you ask for? August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay on the East Side My family and I stayed here overnight to spend some quality time in Manhattan, and chose to try out this new Westin. We were very pleased with the comfort of the room and the excellent views of the city. Despite being close to the hustle of Grand Central, the room was nice and quiet. I would definitely stay here again. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay We checked in a little early & our room was ready. Everything was lovely. One thing that we thought was a little odd though- a very nice woman at the front desk had no idea if any rooms were available on a specific weekend in December or the cost. She told us that we had to call Starwood directly. August 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel was great It went beyond my expectations. Ms. P was great providing us with free wireless as compensation for not getting our required room type. August 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Security lacking We put guests up in the hotel. A drunk banged on their door at 4:00 AM and tried to get in. Security was called and they took a very long time to get the drunk away. When our friends left the room in the morning they saw the drunk had urinated all over the floor and their door. Nobody contacted them to see how they were, or apologized for such an unpleasant experience. We wanted a great experience for our friends, it was anything but. August 17, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Need new management Front desk understaffed requiring long wait at check in and for assistance thru out stay. Bathroom not clean with open soap in shower, coke in sink and washcloths on sink. Room key didn't function causing me to be late for a meeting because I had to go back down to lobby to get another key programmed. Very disappointing. August 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Professional Service I came to this hotel as direct result of a brief conversation with Lilian and Molly during an impromptu visit there. These staff were courteous engaging and genuinely committed to their work beyond belief. The human touch also conquered my kids who endorsed this choice throughout our stay. August 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Concierge definetely needs improvements Hotel good. BUT concierge, dear Lord, bitter people, bitter answers . Seems we were asking for favours and not being a guest paying for their accommodation. When asking for a map, the only man there was like... ufff another guest bothering guest. When purchasing city tour information was not clear. When requesting packages delievered to us.... that was the worst. Answer was.. "whenever we recieve the message, we will let you know " . I informed the lady that twice there was no message and there was a package (a blond-red headed). The answer was.. As I said whenever bla bla bla... Of course important package never appeared . Is not about the package, is about the lousy way we recieved answers and allways with a ...don t bother us with your requests... As a travel agent this would be a second thought if I´d hat to recomend this hotel August 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay! From the moment we walked in the staff made us feel welcome. Would highly recommend this hotel! August 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ideal location WE chose the hotel for it's central location and used it as a base for exploring Manhattan. Helpful staff, clean room with a good city view. Only downside? I don't understand why any hotel should charge for wifi these days. Thankfully, an excellent team member went out of his way to ensure we were not charged for wifi use. August 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Close to Grand Central This hotel is a short walk to Grand Central Station. It's clean, has fast elevators and a helpful staff. I think its location makes it a bargain in Manhatten. August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel This is a beautiful hotel. The staff at the desk, doormen and bell hops were courteous and helpful. The room was awesome! The bed was very comfortable and the shower was amazing. August 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Chaos at best! The hotel is a disaster! I have stayed in many NYC hotels and NEVER one where the rooms are this small. The check in process is just plain chaos. There is no effort to control the SPG Gold and Platinum line. The check in desk is a free for all and very chaotic. If you are an SPG elite member and expect an upgrade, you have to ASK for it. They do nothign automatically for you. Which is why I guess the front desk is run so poorly. Once you get to the rooms expect something that looks like it was designed in the 80's and as a closet. The plugs in the desk didn't work and while most new hotels are putting in plugs beside the bed...this one didn't. Hope two people are not traveling together and plan on being in the bathroom at the same time...You practically have to stand on the toilet to close the door. All of this and I was in a corner room.... The SPG breakfast amenity is just a joke. A cup of coffee, a 600 calorie muffin and inedible yogurt. All in all pathetic! August 9, 2014
  • 2015-11-29 T07:06:42.945-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_702, tr_702
  • loc_en_US, sid_3789, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 25 next>>