The Westin New York Grand Central

  • 212 East 42nd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10017
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 686 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location Hotel is updated, full service and conveniently located within walking distance of train, bus and subway station. Rooms were clean and comfortable. My only complaint was the noise from the street at night -- sounded like construction noise nearby -- but my family enjoyed our stay and will stay there again next time we visit NYC. August 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel is in a very convenient location. We were only in New York for one night and this hotel was perfect. The location, the staff and the room were all great. August 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by House Keeping I was a let down when the rooms were not made. I had to call several times to reach someone to notified them of this. On several attempts. I would get an answer machine when I was transferred. I also had a valet attendant give me a unpleasant look when he was handing my car keys. It was very strange and unsettling. I was locked out of my room on the Sunday night. Had to go back to the front desk 2 time to the to see why the keys would not let me in. They had to send security to the room. I asked for a 2 double beds in the room and my request was not filled. I believe that the manager should have assist in meeting my request. August 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another perfect stay at Westin The Westin Grand Central in New York was perfect for our girls weekend getaway. Great location, service, comfort. What more can you ask for? August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay on the East Side My family and I stayed here overnight to spend some quality time in Manhattan, and chose to try out this new Westin. We were very pleased with the comfort of the room and the excellent views of the city. Despite being close to the hustle of Grand Central, the room was nice and quiet. I would definitely stay here again. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay We checked in a little early & our room was ready. Everything was lovely. One thing that we thought was a little odd though- a very nice woman at the front desk had no idea if any rooms were available on a specific weekend in December or the cost. She told us that we had to call Starwood directly. August 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel was great It went beyond my expectations. Ms. P was great providing us with free wireless as compensation for not getting our required room type. August 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Security lacking We put guests up in the hotel. A drunk banged on their door at 4:00 AM and tried to get in. Security was called and they took a very long time to get the drunk away. When our friends left the room in the morning they saw the drunk had urinated all over the floor and their door. Nobody contacted them to see how they were, or apologized for such an unpleasant experience. We wanted a great experience for our friends, it was anything but. August 17, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Need new management Front desk understaffed requiring long wait at check in and for assistance thru out stay. Bathroom not clean with open soap in shower, coke in sink and washcloths on sink. Room key didn't function causing me to be late for a meeting because I had to go back down to lobby to get another key programmed. Very disappointing. August 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Professional Service I came to this hotel as direct result of a brief conversation with Lilian and Molly during an impromptu visit there. These staff were courteous engaging and genuinely committed to their work beyond belief. The human touch also conquered my kids who endorsed this choice throughout our stay. August 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Concierge definetely needs improvements Hotel good. BUT concierge, dear Lord, bitter people, bitter answers . Seems we were asking for favours and not being a guest paying for their accommodation. When asking for a map, the only man there was like... ufff another guest bothering guest. When purchasing city tour information was not clear. When requesting packages delievered to us.... that was the worst. Answer was.. "whenever we recieve the message, we will let you know " . I informed the lady that twice there was no message and there was a package (a blond-red headed). The answer was.. As I said whenever bla bla bla... Of course important package never appeared . Is not about the package, is about the lousy way we recieved answers and allways with a ...don t bother us with your requests... As a travel agent this would be a second thought if I´d hat to recomend this hotel August 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay! From the moment we walked in the staff made us feel welcome. Would highly recommend this hotel! August 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ideal location WE chose the hotel for it's central location and used it as a base for exploring Manhattan. Helpful staff, clean room with a good city view. Only downside? I don't understand why any hotel should charge for wifi these days. Thankfully, an excellent team member went out of his way to ensure we were not charged for wifi use. August 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Close to Grand Central This hotel is a short walk to Grand Central Station. It's clean, has fast elevators and a helpful staff. I think its location makes it a bargain in Manhatten. August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel This is a beautiful hotel. The staff at the desk, doormen and bell hops were courteous and helpful. The room was awesome! The bed was very comfortable and the shower was amazing. August 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Chaos at best! The hotel is a disaster! I have stayed in many NYC hotels and NEVER one where the rooms are this small. The check in process is just plain chaos. There is no effort to control the SPG Gold and Platinum line. The check in desk is a free for all and very chaotic. If you are an SPG elite member and expect an upgrade, you have to ASK for it. They do nothign automatically for you. Which is why I guess the front desk is run so poorly. Once you get to the rooms expect something that looks like it was designed in the 80's and as a closet. The plugs in the desk didn't work and while most new hotels are putting in plugs beside the bed...this one didn't. Hope two people are not traveling together and plan on being in the bathroom at the same time...You practically have to stand on the toilet to close the door. All of this and I was in a corner room.... The SPG breakfast amenity is just a joke. A cup of coffee, a 600 calorie muffin and inedible yogurt. All in all pathetic! August 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Such a great location I love to stay at the Westin GC because of it's location and the staff are very helpful and friendly. Especially Lilly and Marlin. They are a great asset to the hotel. August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliably comfortable and friendly comfortable, clean room with a great shower August 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by very good location I had stayed in this hotel several times in the past. This time, I found the staff less professional. The person that checked me in was chewing gum! She told me that I could have a 4 pm check out,but it was entered in the computer as 3 pm. August 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Weekend The hotel staff was great. from the minute we checked in they recognized i was a gold member and gave us our benefits. the concierge was great too giving us many place to see and restaurants to eat August 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Room was Given away after a verbal confirmation 5 hours prior Due to our plans in NY we were slated to arrive at the Westin very late. We were called by the hotel staff at 11pm to confirm our arrival. We clearly stated to the woman we would 100% be there. We had two rooms reserved and were traveling with 4 adults with lots of luggage. Upon our arrival around 3-4am the manager on duty informed us that he gave one of our rooms away because he felt that 4 adults could be crammed into 1 room. He also informed us that we were lucky to have a room at all since he had turned away 13 other groups who needed a room. Im not a fan of someone (manager on duty ) acting like their doing me a favor after Ive made a reservation. Heaven forbid If you cancel a reservation on them and then they punish you with fees. To compensate us he added 10k SPG points to my account (which isnt even enough for a room in NYC) and comped the 1 room they held for us and sent up a bottle of 10$ chardonnay This policy of giving away reserved rooms is really bad business and is only going to persuade people from booking with you again. And if your going to compensate someone for having to sleep in a crammed room with 3 other people and to share a bathroom as If we were staying in a Hostel then please make it an appropriate amount. 10k points is a slap in the face. August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great except for outside smokers Overall, my stay was excellent. The facility was modern, recently updated, and very comfortable. We were impressed by the efficiency of the elevators. However, the smoking area immediately outside the main hotel street entrance needs to be eliminated. Each time my guest and I arrived and departed we were forced to walk through wall of smoke. This smoke was offensive, unnecessaary, and provided a very poor first impression of the property. August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Needs Improvement We have stayed at this Hotel a few times before and have always loved it. This time we had an incident where we checked in and after an hour or so someone opened the door without knocking or identifying themselves. Luckily I had the safety latch on so the door would not open fully. I yelled and they said sorry and closed the door. I reported it to security and after doing some investigating they found out it was someone from housekeeping. This should have never happened and my wife was quite startled. Also the shower curtain had a terrible odor, similar to an old wet towel. I told the front desk at check out but I should have told them sooner so we could have changed our room. This was not one of our better stays here at The Westin Grand Central. Hopefully you can rectify these issues so they do not happen again. August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very comfortable Had a really good, quiet room. The staff was very helpful. Had a really pleasureable stay August 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good hotel selection in New York Regrettably, my room on July 1 was not refreshed during the day and cleaning after 7 pm was not complete. August 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Disappointing internet I find it amazing and very disappointing that in room wi-fi is treated as an additional charge!!!! You pay so much for the room already and there is free wi-fi in the public areas which to be honest anyone off the street can use but yet you have to pay for the "luxury" of having wi-fi in your room !!!! Disappointing & frustrating ! July 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by NYC good hotel and clean and great central location July 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient to business district and attractions Nice hotel, staff responsive. The only issue i had was with breakfast area cramped and two concierges or more on the weekend would help the flow. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved the location! First time at this hotel, and only because I was in the city for a function. We enjoyed it! Definitely would stay there again. July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel Since you are in Manhattan, it is a bit more expensive. We ate meals at nearby less expensive places. The rooms are terribly comfortable and were great after walking all day. Unless a business expense, avoid valet parking. July 28, 2014
  • 2015-08-31T09:39:53.367-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_686, tr_686
  • loc_en_US, sid_3789, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 24 next>>