The Westin Bund Center, Shanghai

  • Bund Center, 88 Henan Central Road
  • Shanghai,
  • Shanghai
  • 200002
  • China
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children who are 12 or younger sleep for free in the existing bedding of a room shared with a paying adult. Rollaways, child rollaways and cribs may incur extra charges.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 84 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful staff, lovely rooms and fantastic SPG club level benefits! I recently stayed at the Westin Bund in an executive club level suite, and as an SPG Platinum member, I was thoroughly impressed. The room was spacious with a nice bathroom equipped with a fantastic rain shower. The bed and pillows were wonderful, and as someone used to an expensive memory foam bed, I am a tough critic. The inclusive breakfast and happy hour food for club level guests was an unexpected and delightful surprise as one of the things I most dread about my trips to China is finding good food that isn't too wierd and unedible. I had an omlette every morning with a freshly made cappaccino and sushi and salad every night accompnied by Tsing Tao beer. I could not have been more thrilled! The service and smiles from the staff was wonderful. One example of the exceptional service was when I was concerned about not being able to find the entrance to the river boat cruise on the bund after not being able to book a tour thru the concierge due to a government road closure. Ken at the concierge desk asked his collegue Cami if she would accompany me to my location in the taxi and escort me to the entrance. She so kindly did, accompanying us in our cab ride and making sure we made it to the hard to find entrance of the river boat cruise. This kind of service should be proclaimed, demonstrating the quality, professionalism, and high level of training the staff in this hotel demonstrate. The service at this Westin is comparable to the most expensive hotels I have ever stayed in. The GM of this hotel should be paid a compliment. If you are considering a visit to Shanghai I cannot say enough great things about the service at this hotel as they truly lived up to their mission statement to "rest easy." I truly felt at home at this Westin. Congratulations Westin Bund, my experience was one of my favorites as a platinum SPG member. September 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional stays! We have stayed here two different times in the last 12 months and now I have finally gotten around to submitting this review. Both times, from our initial check-in to our departure, we were treated to the utmost in courtesy, respect and helpfulness. As an SPG platinum member, I was upgraded to a Jr executive suite once and a deluxe corner room another time. I realize that all upgrades are dependent upon availability at check-in, so I am always very pleased and appreciative when we are offered an upgrade. The suite was amazing - one small bathroom off the hallway, a large office space with desk and sitting room, spacious bedroom with it's huge attached bathroom (jacuzzi tub large enough for four, separate shower, separate toilet enclosure, double sinks with large vanity), then another small hallway with two closets off the bathroom. Both rooms had very sweeping views of the Bund area and the river.The A./C worked extremely well and was very quiet! Mattress and pillows were extremely comfortable.The executive club lounge was one of the nicest that I have had the pleasure to experience. Breakfast buffet in the restaurant was quite varied and had both Eastern and Western options. There was a slightly different selection of dessert pastries each morning for breakfast. On our final day I found one type that was almost exactly like one of my favorite pastries in France - sort of like a cinnamon twist with a custard cream center. There were only a couple left on the buffet serving tray, so I took them and shared them among the four of us. I kept waiting for a new tray full to come out, but no such luck. I saw a restaurant manager walking by, so I went up and asked if there would be any more of those specific pastries brought out, as we really loved them. Apparently, we finished off the last of those made for the morning buffet. He left and soon returned to our table with another person, whom he introduced as the pastry chef (whom we heartily congratulated) and he gave us a few more of those specific pastries that he got from one of the "coffee shops" in the hotel. A very warm and friendly gesture on their part.The only thing that we felt that was not first class all weekend, was when we dined at Prego. Service was great, but my pasta was overdone and soggy - almost like mush. I should have sent it back, but I had gotten a late lunch and was not really all that hungry - and the hotel had done so much for us already! So I ate "around" the pasta. Other than my one meal, this was one of the best experiences that I have had in a Starwood property this year. Any time we are in Shanghai, we will certainly include the Westin Bund in our plans. October 10, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unbeatable exec. lounge A very warm wlecome upon arrival, smooth check-in while room was not ready even I came back at nearly 1600hrs. Impressive jellyfish at the lounge did a great job to kill time when relaxing at the lounge for my room. Being upgraded to suite with no view at all, I'd prefer to have room with bund view other than a suite with no view at all. This is something really disappointed during my stay. I can't find any better exec. lounge other than this. I will be back again for sure, Westin the Bund leaves me no choice for any other starwood property in the area, or any chain can do so. Love the very "Chinese" carpet as well... February 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff around the hotel are like statue This is one great 5 star hotel with beautiful room. Front desk reception was also very friendly. In fact, they allowed me to check-in few hours earlier. Which I very much appreciated. However, the hotel lobby have many staff that stands around. Maybe not staff, but more like statue. They won't greet you and they won't even smile. From executive / manager wearing hotel suit to front line service ladies in cheongsam. A very COLD experience. January 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The early morning cab coordinator needs to be fired Needed a cab at on Oct 17, 2013 at 7am to go to my first meeting. 3 cabs in the parking lot. I told the cab coordinator I need a cab. So what does he do? Runs out to the street to try to get one for me. With 3 parked right in front of me why you ask? Those cabs are waiting to take people the airport. And guess who gets to gate keep and take a cut from the cabbies? Very common practice in China. Cab coordinators act as gate keepers to skim off the hotel. Hotel and guests are the losers of this game. Room, inside staff, all okay, but no coffee maker in the room and hence 3 stars on the facilities. September 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lots of Tough Competition in Shanghai OVERALL IMPRESSION: After three weeks of the best Starwood properties in China, this one, coming at the tail end, paled a bit in comparison. Nothing inherently wrong with it but the bar has been raised so high with fabulous properties coming online seemingly daily, they are going to have to play a tough game of catch-up to stay in the game. SPG RECOGNITION: Starts with a special Platinum Dedicated Desk which is a real boon in this huge and crowded property. Upgrade to a Junior Suite. Complimentary access to beautiful and well-stocked Executive Lounge. THE ROOM: Newly-restored. Very beautiful well beyond the usual Westin utilitarian style. LOCATION: Not what it is cracked up to be as the hotel is not really on the Bund at all but a good 10 minute walk through some pretty dodgy streets with no sidewalks. The Metro is a hike of several blocks as is Nanjing Road. EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS: The buffet breakfast - even by the over-the-top standards of China - was exceptionally copious and excellent quality. DID NOT MEET EXPECTATIONS: N/A. ONE THING TO KNOW: As Shanghai is so huge and traffic is so intense, plan very carefully to find lodging in the area where your greatest number of interests lie. January 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by your staff needs to back up a little bit Great hotel. Have stayed here many times but this experience makes me question if I will continue to do so. When I ask for my bags, I want my bags. I don't really care if your staff wants to put them in a cab or not. I WANT THEM. I checked out and left my bags with the hotel while I went out shopping for a gift for my wife. When I returned I wanted to put the gift inside of my luggage. I almost had to fight the attendant to actually get my bag back from him. He DEMANDED to know what airline I was on (probably to tell the taxi) and absolutely refused to let me have my bags. Once I made it clear that I would TAKE THEM if necessary, he gave my bag to me. I sat it on the floor to open it and put my wife's gift inside. He stood over me while I did. So close that his crotch was uncomfortably close to my face as I knelt to open my luggage. I asked him to back up. He refused. I picked up my bag and walked a few feet away, he followed. Intensely rude and flat out disgusting. Once I had the gift inside, he pulled the bag out of my hand, I in return pulled it out of his. UNFORGIVABLY BAD SERVICE. January 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mr Very nice Grand Studio room and great location. Good value for money! January 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by It was great but is it keeping up I have been staying at this hotel for over 10 years. The facilities are still good, the rooms clean and tidy and the location convenient. However over my last couple of stays the standards seem to have fallen. Shanghai is such a competetive market the hotel needs to keep up. There just seem to be quite a few small problems and customer service seems to have dropped. I had issues at check in, with the breakfast and in the Exec lounge. In the old days they were also commercial in terms of tempting you back and that seems to have gone as well., November 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Splendid hotel in the Bund area Our group stayed here on a tour of China in the Shanghai area. Good location near the Bund & outdoor shopping center. The Bund is a great sight to see with the old European architecture on one side and the new modern buildings on the other side. A great video span of both worlds coming together. The hotel is quite modern with a large lobby area & stairs with neon lights. A restaurant is in the back with a great buffet breakfast. The rooms were clean & beds & linen comfortable. Bathroom was large & impressive. The pool area was indoors but not really for lounging. A great stay! May 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Service The air con in the room (Dec. 20) was out of order. Super over-heated. First time I called the front desk, it's promptly responded and taken care of. The engineer came to fix the issue (43c degree). Yet, it's still super hot that I couldn't get into sleep (12:30 midnight). Second time I called the front desk, it took 20+ minutes to respond. I felt dying in the room due to the heat. Finally by 1:30am (dec. 21), I got to change to another room. December 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good, but slightly below expectations Good, clean hotel like all Westins. But timing of the workout refurbishment is untimely given the holidays approaching. I believe the initial notice when I was booking stated the gym facility will close from 18th onwards, but it turned out it was the 16th, the day when I checked in. The washroom is nice though, pretty big and one of the largest tubs Ive seen. Unfortunately, there was little to none SPG recognition during my entire stay. December 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay Our stay was perfect from the moment we walked through the doors. Front desk was efficient and courteous. Platinum recognition was excellent. Our Executive Suite was spacious, comfortable, and very quiet. The Club Lounge was also spacious and comfortable with an excellent breakfast and happy hour. Compliments to Daisy, the lounge manager, made sure that everything was perfect. She really made us feel at home as did the rest of the lounge staff. The hotel location was perfect for our needs and visiting Shanghai was very enjoyable with the Westin as our base. December 15, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nothing exceptional I wanted to stay at the Bund and not in my usual Pudong area hotels, and figured that with my Liefetime Platinum, it could be a special experienence. Not that I wanted a brass orchestra greeting on entry, but at least a recognition and some sort of special treatment upon checkin, stay and checkout, None of that happened (no band, either), the stay was plain vanilla, no ups or downs, suppose that's a good thing. BTW, didn't care for the gym not being open before 6, or being in a weirdest location between floors. November 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Business-friendly Westin Bund is an excellent place to stay, especially for business. I must commend the staff for their service levels, especially accommodating my super early check-in (and their tri/quasi-lingual capabilities) and arranging bathing facilities late at night on my last day. The executive club also offers a good range of drinks, and the breakfast is simple, filled with variety. It is in close proximity to a lot of main corporate offices. Definitely pick this if you are here for business. Leisure-wise, I believe you can find better-situated properties. June 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel - world class service Beautiful hotel and the service was icing on the cake. My girlfriend flew out to meet me in Shanghai and the staff went absolutely above and beyond to make her visit an unforgettable experience. Thanks to Terry and Amy for not giving up on finding a way to apply a suite night. I will never forget the friendly faces and would recommend the hotel to anyone staying in Shanghai. Some notes: Restaurants in the hotel were surprisingly good. Loved the Italian spot; the manager from Italy even shared some of his homemade limoncello - shows you the type of place this is. Gym had everything I needed (serious weights and tons of treadmills). Pool looked cool but never went in. Rooms were clean / modern - suite with tub facing out to city was amazing! And once again, service set it apart. Thanks! Will be back. November 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experience This is the first time I have stayed at the Westin Shanghai, Bund Center. I was pleasantly surprised. I am a Platinum SPG member, and was upgraded to a very nice suite. Once I settled in, I wanted to stay for more than a night. The room was appointed very well, more than sufficient amenities. The Club lounge was quite nice for a evening cocktail and appetizer before heading to the Italian restaurant, which was awesome. The overall service at this hotel is no less than Great! Very nice hotel, I will stay here again. December 16, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sleepless It is hard enough to fall sleep. it is improbable when someone persistently ring your door bell at 1am. it is now impossible when after struggling to the door and turn on the do-not-disturb sign, the phone rings asking me to open the door so that someone can collect room service tray. i did not order any room service. is it not a sign that i turned on do-not-disturb? please be very careful with door bells and phones after 12am. a lot of stressed out overworked people in this hotel who is dying for some sleep. June 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Staff You have a great staff. James and Jim (Concierge Staff) are the epitomy of what guest relations are to be. I would reccommend your hotel, and plan on doing this in the very near future. May 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Terrible wifi My work is mostly done on ipad and iphone. Over the six days we stayed, the room's wifi was terrible and connection was constantly dropping. Despite asking for help twice, the situation was unchanged. The first time I was told that the IT team will look at it. Several hours later I called to enquire and was told the IT team had gone home. Calls on the next day brought no improvment either. November 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Staff I have been in Westin whenever I was in Shanghai but never been that happy before. They finally hired great staff for their restaurants especially the one at the lobby area which is open all day long. I had an unforgetable brakfast experience as well as dinner experience the day after, I have been served by a Restaurant Manager who is a lady from Russia, (if I am not mistaken her name is Lana), I just told her once what I like and I dont like and all staff were aware of my points during my enrite stay. I just want to say that, she was born for this industry I believe, lastly, people are the important element for the places as they make the places unique, Westin becomes my popular hotel from now on... I wish her a great sucess and thanks that let me be more loyal to Starwood Hotels. January 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Better hair dryer? Overall it's a good SPG hotel, always my priority choice in Shanghai. But the hair dryer really needs a change, it's so obsoleted and useless that I have to bring my own one for a longer stay. December 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always great This is the second time this year that I have stayed in this hotel. Both times I have been checked in by Terry who has gone above the call of duty to make sure all my needs are looked after. The rooms never disappoints! December 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff Since it was business, I didn't get to spend much time at the facilities or in the hotel. However, every time I talked to a member of staff, whether it was for getting a taxi or front desk services - I was met with exceptional service. I forgot to obtain a copy of a receipt and Gordon, the manager worked with me via e-mail after I left to make sure a copy was sent. Room was a bit small but comfortable. Great location by the bund. Will come again. July 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice hotel There were a few spots where the facility could use some work but overall the staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. It is in an exceptional location, and I was treated very well during my stay. Be aware that Pudong (PVG) airport is roughly 45 minutes away in light traffic. Oh, and check out the jellyfish tank in the lounge, its beautiful! November 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed with my stay at Westin Shanghai last week. This is the first time I'm complaining about your hotel. I've been staying at your hotel for all my Shanghai trips since 2009. I was very disappointed with the room I stayed last week. The A/C was not working properly, not cold even I set it to the lowest the room temperature remained at 26C. The shower area was stink whenever I took shower. Now I'm really have to think whether I will stay at your hotel for my upcoming trip to Shanghai. Thanks, June 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel but signs of age I have been staying at the Westin Shanghai for a couple of years now. Great hotel but the facilities are starting to show signs of age. The gym has a few machines down and some of the working ones are getting old - felt and looked heavily utilitized. Same for the pool as well. The positives, great location, nice rooms and very professional (if not exactly friendly) service. June 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Hotel in Shangahi It is a very unique property with an exceptional location and great value. November 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Hotel in Shanghai I have been staying here since it opened in 2002. Everything you would expect from a hotel is here. Food choices might be limited, but you wouldn't eat in a hotel when you are in China anyway. Restaurant staff are very eager to help. You can tell they are new, but they are trying. Only suggestion is to inform guests if they want to visit Banyan Tree Spa, book in advance. August 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location This hotel was great. Location wise, it was close enough to the bund and metro lines. The staff all seemed friendly and the room had a good price/value ratio. October 28, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>