The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

  • 3555 South Ocean Drive
  • Hollywood,
  • Florida
  • 33019
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve and to check-in to a room.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 1096 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE LOVE LOVE I HAD A GREAT TIME. I LOVE THIS HOTEL. I WISH I COULD HAVE STAYED LONGER... HOPE TO STAY THERE AGAIN SOON May 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not quite what i expected.... Many people praise this hotel if they are PLAT as they have allot of suites so your chances of an upgrade are excellent, on that front it was fine we received a corner suite. What I didn't like about the hotel was the location and a maintenance issue that took 2 days to resolve itself. The location problem is that it is located in what I can only describe as a condo jungle. Its nothing but huge condo buildings and not much else. Not even restaurants or a place to go for a walk. So if you want to go eat you have to drive, and usually 10+ minutes to find half decent places on US1. Also, these huge buildings blocked out allot of the sun for a good portion of the day. If you happen to get the north building you will hear not the waves crashing below but the incredibly loud a/c unit of the building next door. Plus beach access is out through the South building so its a hike just to get to the pool. Also if there is an event (wedding in our case) you are prevented from direct access to the beach due to the ceremony area being dead centre to the beach access. Finally the breakfast in the lounge is fine but the hors d'oevres in the evening aren't much, and its like feeding time at the zoo, at 5:30 PM when it opens. Get there say at 6:30, its very picked over and the staff told us they wont replenish it. Finally there is a flaw in the controllers (thermostat) for the a/c units. We had an issue with our unit only allowed to be in the AUTO setting, putting the fan to low or high just didn't work. So all night the a/c went off and on as the room reached temp, thus the room temp and activation occurred through out the night, meaning a lousy nights sleep. I called the front desk, they said maintenance would fix the issue. Back to the room at night and the problem seemed fixed. Accept as soon as we turned the temp down at night it happened again (we didn't discover this until about 2:30 AM). So I called to speak to someone in service and they then talked to someone in maintenance, they told us that when they fixed the unit the first night he should have told us that it wasn't totally fixed, that when you changes the temp settings you needed to reset all other settings as well. A note explaining this would have prevented a second lousy night sleep. With this knowledge in hand we slept well on the third night. Upon check out I mentioned this to the CSA and the only response was we will have maintenance look at it again. Anyways my expectations for Cat 5 hotel were not met. The room was very nice, but if you go as a PLAT insist on the South building as you may be able to hear the waves there. November 1, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by good facility everything just good, wish they have a bigger bar area. June 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Ugh! Wow, what a disappointment. The room was dirty. The maid told me that no one cleans the rooms but only replaces towels. The front desk said they would send someone to deep clean but no one showed up. Then the noise from the balcony sliders was like rolling thunder. And, the roar from the road was loud even on the 30th floor. The person next door not only smoked, but had a dog, knocked on the walls and yelled every night. I called the front desk 3 times before they sent security. Huge disappointment. I would not recommend this hotel. February 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Desk Service I sent this letter to the manager of desk services -- I just wanted to write you a note about a very special experience I had with (employee name). I arrived on Wednesday, February 12 attending a conference at your hotel. My husband’s 60th birthday is on February 15 and I was planning to have a surprise birthday trip for him. When I entered the room I was so disappointed. I was hoping to have an ocean view, but if not an ocean view at least a balcony. The room a got faced another building and without a balcony. I know when I check in they said the hotel was booked, but I hoped I would have a better option. If it was just me, it wouldn’t have made a difference but for my husband’s birthday I was hoping for a great experience. That’s when I met (employee name). My savior! I went back downstairs and asked her if she could help me. I explained my situation and really wanted to see if my room could be switched. She said she would try, but the hotel was booked. She looked and looked and found one room available that was an ocean view and had a balcony!!!! The story is really about (employee name). She took a personal interest in me. I felt that I was not just a guest, but that she really cared to make sure my stay was exactly how I imagined it would be. When I first came up to her desk, she met me with a smile, listened to me and her goal was to make me happy. When she found the room and I was all set up, I thanked her, she said something that is so truly unique in this day and age, she said, ���No thanks needed, I’m here to make your dream of how you imagined your stay to be come true.” How can you top that!!! She took a personal interested in making sure I was happy. I really wanted someone to know what a dedicated employee you have in (employee name). She’s special. February 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Go here instead of Miami! This place is top notch. The staff was polite & attentive. All the amenities were perfect. I would go here again. May 12, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Experience My stay was fabulous until today, I was charged $7.63 for an item from the honor bar, which I did not do. I feel like you are treating me as a liar, which I don't appreciate. I don't use honor bars, never have, and now I am being accused of using something I did not. I am extremely upset about this even if it is only $7.63. It is the principal..If I had taken something from the bar I would gladly pay for it, but for you to say I did and just charge me for it is inexcuseable. How do you know the housekeeping department didn't take it and hit me with the charge. I am really upset about this and my recommendation would be to remove all honor bars from rooms as it is certainly not an honor to be treated in such a manner. September 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Noisy Room This room (2164) is adjacent to the elevators. You can hear the elevators going up and down the shaft and this disrupts sleep. NEVER, EVER AGAIN WILL I STAY AT THE WESTIN, ANYWHERE. March 1, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by DROP IN SERVICE Wow! I went to this hotel for many years and always had a great time and loved the service. I went this time and the service dropped. I am a gold member with SPG and it does not make any difference with this hotel. They told me that there are no upgrades and when I called SPG they told me they are plenty. They are don't give pool towels on the lower pool level and they only give 2 towels per person on the top pool . They don't smile when you come in, and if you are a gold with SPG they will not give you the club level or breakfast in the morning. I have been to many hotels and never seen such a drop in service like this hotel. Warning you can do alot better in other hotels for your money. Stay away if you like good service. January 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by What a disappointment We stayed at this hotel for a family function.The property is visually attractive and the room was nice. However we were stunned that things that come standard at other properties were all at a fee. Sitting on the beach, wifi complimentary coffee or water that was openly displayed and not in the honor bar were all at a cost. We were charged over $7.00 for 2 cups of coffee and bottled water that was openly displayed without a price tag. At this point it is insulting to the customer who is all ready paying for a premium hotel experience to have to pay for simple, inexpensive items that are truly complimentary at value chains. There is a lot of competition in the Florida resort industry and the Westin should rethink their policies. October 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing value This hotel was amazing! One of the best I've ever been to. I would recommend it to everyone. Wonderful prices for the experiences I had. June 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is the perfect getaway! My experience at the Westin was an unforgettable one. The interior absolutely harmonized with the breath-taking exterior with the hotel's amazing lobby and welcoming staff. Either in the room itself or pool side, the amenities were endless exactly why I plan on returning soon. June 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonder stay despite the weather Great family vacation at this Westin despite the weather. The pools were great! The water was warm and we all had fun despite the weather. We did read the reviews about the expensive prices for food and drink. This is true but you could get all you want within walking distance and we had a fridge in the room. Also, the beach was wonderful. We had two days of sun and even played in the surf during overcast days. The room was wonderful. Totally recommend a suite for a family of four. The staff was extremely friendly. We all hope to go back. December 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Spa Disappointment - but great staff in hotel I travel a lot and like to let hotel management know when service and staff are great and when it isn't. This is a dichotomous review with both good and bad, but where the bad, just ruined my entire impression. Hotel staff was excellent, and Dave at check in was fantastic. Made us feel appreciated and was simply great. Room was also great. Our big complaint was the spa. While I golfed, my partner used the spa where she received a massage and facial. Only when we got the bill at check out, did we see a charge for "spa other" of $50.00 for treatments that totaled $187.00. This amounts to an almost 30% service charge (I see online it mentions a 20% service charge) on top of the tip for the staff performing the service. When queried about the charge, we were told it was stated in the brochure, and on checking it was -on the back page, in print so small it was ridiculous. It is simply deceptive, and outrageous as far as I am concerned. It you want to include the service charge, just put it into the price and state it includes a 28% service charge. In addition, the spa staff was about as snooty and condescending as could be and services mediocre. As someone who travels over 100k miles a year and spends way to many nights in hotels, it soured my otherwise nice experience in this hotel. And it wasn't so much the money as the deception and attitude of the staff. December 9, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Management makes for Bad experience Celebrated 25th anniversary in a room with double beds that smelled of smoke with stained coverlets, peeling wallpaper and red marks on wall. Coverlet was changed but front desk clerk stated that demand is so high they just don't have time to make repairs. Requested room change to King bed was like pulling teeth. Ended up in the same room with double beds the whole weekend Front Desk Clerk told me I was only a Gold member. I am SPG Platinum, (have been all year) but was admonished by the front desk clerk that I was only a Gold member because I had not stayed enough nights and I should just stay more nights. Had dinner reservations. Valet service brought car to front then lost the keys. Waited almost an hour for them to find them. Management failed to follow up with me for my entire 3 night stay about these and other issues as requested by Platinum Concierge. Poor customer relations. Problems occur. That is just how thing happen sometimes. It is how those problems are handled that make a huge impact. I believe the mark of a great hotel is not just good customer service when they are slow, anyone can do that, but the ability to give good service when there is a heavier demand. That is what makes a hotel exceptional. The Westin Diplomat did not meet those standards. If all is going well with your stay, great! Enjoy! If there are issues, don't expect much concern or response from management at this hotel. July 1, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Eleven things to consider at the Westin Diplomat This property may have four stars for its beach location and outstanding pool. However this poor rating is based on these events in order of occurrence during a three night stay: 1- Some in our group were able to check in while others were sent away to the convention center depending upon who you spoke to at the front desk. 2- I ordered a calamari appetizer to find it was mostly bread crumbs and fried lemon slices. The fried lemon seemed to be left-over dregs. The food at the Rivals Waterfront Sports Grille was terrible and the service was hostile, the first thing the waitress said was the table required five or more people (we had eight). 3- Housekeeping left a voice mail message saying they will not be servicing my room because of the "do not disturb sign." I had no such sign on my door, and when I returned the call the person did not speak English, and hung up. 4- The water in the spa was so dirty you could not see the bottom because of the scum. 5- The concierge was absent, so I used the house phone to call the operator. The house phone rang directly to the concierge desk, that was unmanned. This shows poor management. With the hotel fully booked, why is there only one person answering the phone? 6- We asked the concierge the common question about local dining. She told us we must take a $10 cab, and made no mention of the $1 trolley that stops at the hotel. 7- I asked three different fellows in white uniforms at the front entry drop-off for help hailing a cab. Each one pointed to the guy with a hat. The guy with the hat was a guest at the hotel. Other guests were also frustrated by the confusion here. 8- The omelette chef is amazing, cooking three custom orders simultaneously with impressive skill. It is a mystery why he has no help and must switch out fuel cartridges while a long line of guests wait for food. This is a management decision. 9- On our last day we went to the beach and were prohibited re-entry into our room at 9 AM by the housekeeping staff, even though our keys opened the door. She showed us an "app" on her phone that says we checked out. We had to get the front desk to verify we paid for this room and had not checked out. This is a systematic error indicating bad software or bad management. 10- I was overcharged for internet services. Although the front desk corrected it right away, it is a reasonable expectation to be billed correctly. 11- I left behind an item, due to the confusion with housekeeping (8 above). A call to the front desk connected me again to a non-English hang-up. I reached the lost and found who promised to call back, after several days I have no such call. Most of these problems can be fixed with proper management but other issues deserve careful consideration by potential guests. January 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing hotel! We had a fantastic experience all around (hotel, staff, location, pool, etc). I would highly recommend this hotel! April 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible, noisey room Room was really, really, really noisy, temp control didn't work, had a terrible bathroom with no bath, no towel rails and a teeny, tiny sink area. It had a view of a concrete wall about 4 feet from window, had random ugliness like an ironing board just propped up against the wall beside the bed, broken wardrobe door and was expremely impractal in many other ways becase it was designed for a wheelchair bound person which is not practical for someone who needs a wardrobe bar higher than 3ft from the floor or prefers to stand in the shower and finds a seat in the middle annoying. It was horrible but I was too busy to pack up all my stuff and move rooms (assuming they would have offered that). I'm just amazed they have the gall to charge full rates for such a terrible room. February 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by only 1 complaint this hotel is beautiful. location is outstanding. our room wasn't ready by check in so they put us in an oceanfront room. view was spectacular. the ONLY complaint was with the concierge. she was no help at all. i had to ask her specific questions about things to do in the area, then stand there until she reluctantly gave me a few brochures, one that specified to inquirew about coupon from hotel. no coupon offered. big deal? no, just the principal. Asked about rentals on the beach, and she told me they were on the beach somewhere but she doesn't go out there much? huh?! figured it out for myself, but,hello, isn't that your job?! where do i apply? May 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow - fantastic 'property' From the moment we checked-in to the moment we checked-out - - the service was fantastic. I was checked-in and -out by the same male desk agent (who was EXCELLENT) The Lobby is beautiful and the pool-area was outstanding - - just off the Ocean beach. I can understand why you need to wear a 'wrist-band' to get into the pool/beach area because of the number of condos in the area that would want to use the Hotel's excellent facilities. I would not hesitate one second in booking a return 'stay' at this resort. July 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impressive one of best hotels I have ever stayed at May 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent meeting failities Convention meeting area impressive May 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, not great!! As a lifetime Starwood Platinum member, I was a bit let down by this property. They were INSANELY busy, service on many fronts were compromised!! Our TV's didnt work properly, the A/C didnt work well. had to buy a fan!! The valet parking was awful, one time lost my car, took over an hour to find my vehicle!! I used to love this property, don't know if I will stay there again! February 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great location, staff need help I spent 3 nights and 4 days here and this is a great location, but the people need help to give guests a stay that rivals other resort quality destinations in the area. Staff forgetting to fill wine buckets with ice, staff who do not know their bar selections, staff who are unable to do what they say they are going to do, it all gets tired after awhile. Westin should take all the people opening doors and shuttling cars and put them to work IN the resort to take care of people's needs IN the resort. This should be done when there is a line of people checking in at 4 pm, and only 3 staff at the check-in. Also, show the pictures of the resort, as it is now, under construction as you cannot see the ocean from the lobby due to the construction. Disappointed with the service at the Diplomat Hotel! November 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST HOTEL EVER IT IS ALWAYS A PLEASURE STAY AT THE DIPLOMAT HOTEL, EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE, SUPERB FOOD...AMAZNG June 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Issue Had an issue and they did not take care of very well. I was naked and some one came in my room!!!!!! June 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keeps Getting Better Spent nearly a week at the Diplomat this past January This was the third year in a row and we are already planning for NEXT January. Please Ignore those complaining guests.because when one travels enough, nothing is perfect. The trick is to find a staff person who can correct a problem effectively and quickly, and the Diplomat staff was awesome. For special requests, No is not a word in their vocabulary.Oceanfront rooms are beautiful and just sitting on the balcony eating breakfast is so relaxing. Location is near so much and yet just far enough away. When in southern Florida, the Diplomat is a must. March 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great comfort and service My husband & I were guests for one night to attend a HS reunion, & were very pleased with the comfort and appearance of our room (I have back problems and am generally not that comfortable sleeping on hotel beds). As well, the rooms appear to be soundproof, as we heard absolutely no noise from any other rooms. We were there for a reunion so didn't use your restaurants, but the banquet food was quite good. Also a big thanks to the two porters who helped with our luggage when we checked in and out. When we checked in our porter made sure that I didn't have to wait in a long line as he saw that I was limping, but directed me to reservationist with no waiting. Wow! when we checked out, our porter waited with me while my husband retrieved our car and then loaded the trunk for us. We were very pleased with the whole experience. May 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad stay I wouldn't stay here again if you paid me. There were very few things that were right with our stay. Room service had to go back. Lunch at the ocean front had to go back. Blood stains on the sheets. Every pillow case was soiled and gross. The TV went out. The internet went went out. The robe they sent us was completely frayed. One day we'd have bath gel and the next day the maid took it away. That happened 3 times. The manager Don was made aware of all of this, but it kept happening. Lots of the food is prepared for each shift, if you happen to come and eat at the end of that shift. You get food that was prepared a long time ago. That's what happened with a chicken quesidilla. I asked for a BLT with fresh bacon and they told me NO CAN DO. January 13, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Perhaps the worst experience ever Upon arrival at your hotel on Saturday evening, it tooks us almost 2 hours to check in. You only have one gal at the check in desk....on a Saturday night, with prom and a huge conference starting the very next day????? Then when I asked if the ocean view was reserved as i had requested...the front desk gal said that she "was not able to reserve rooms". My room was not clean or updated, as you state on your website...Overall it was horrible, May 29, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 38 next>>