The Westin Bear Mountain Golf Resort & Spa, Victoria

  • 1999 Country Club Way
  • Victoria,
  • British Columbia
  • V9B 6R3
  • Canada
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 166 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by restaurant/pub We went for dinner Wed May 14th about 7 pm on the way past the desk we asked where the restaurant was and if it was open, it was at the end of the lobby on the right. We waited beside the sign that said wait to be seated for 10 minutes and no one was seen moving in the restaurant. We then walked across the hall to the pub, it was open and had about 10 people in it, 2 servers and a bartender. we sat at a table and waited over 15 minutes and no one came over or acknowledged our presences. so we left and went elsewhere for dinner, reporting it to the person at the desk on the way out. this is certainly not what i have experienced at other starwood/westin resorts May 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by felt like a vacation Room was large and comfortable and had a nice balcony with a view. We live in the same city, but would recommend the Hotel for a "staycation". May 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasant Hotel Our stay was very relaxing and pleasant. Just what we had in mind when we booked. May 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent for golfers I attended a "family friendly" business meeting at this hotel. It is in a relatively secluded but very picturesque location and any serious shopping would require a half hour trip to Victoria.The facilities however are very good, and excellent for golfers. I am not a golfer but am told by my golfing associates that the course is first class. The view of the golf course and the surrounding estate from the relatively large room balcony is excellent. Highly recommended. May 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Played golf and wanted to see if things were different under new ownership We have been to this property many times. We saw a great attitude and optimism with the staff now that there is a new owner. New beds were coming into the adjacent area where we stayed because our standard poodle was with us and that is the dog stay area. The golf staff was very nice because the weather was windy, chilly and it rained on and off throughout the day, but we decided to play anyway, but later than our scheduled tee time. Wanted to have dinner, but were not told to make reservations when we arrived, and it was sold out. Recommendation: Have staff tell guests to reserve at restaurants when they check in. Changes bring made at golf course, and maintenance is 100 % improved. Thankful for new ownership who are smart business people. Plan to come back several times during the summer. Read there will be big improvements to pool, and a new family fun area. Sounds smart. April 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing Family Vacation We had booked into two adjacent rooms, as we were arriving with extended family. We were under the impression we had booked two regular rooms but when we arrived they said it was a 1 bedroom suite with adjoining room which would be an extra $50. We declined and took two close rooms. First disappointment with booking service. After rushing to the hotel and stopping to buy swim shorts we are told-after my husband inquired about where the pool and hot tub were-that it was closed due to a power outage, the boiler was broken and they didn't know when it would be fixed. What? We chose this resort for the amenities and they don't even know when it will be fixed and they don't seem very bothered about it at all. We left not being told where to park and my husband had to ask the front door person. I was furious not just because the pool was broken but the carelessness and the this is your problem NOT my problem attitude. Rooms were lovely...I proceeded to call and speak with management who did not try to smooth the waters but instead just repeated the same thing as at the desk. They are aware of the problem and trying to fix it. The pool would be cold and and it may or may not be warm in the morning. No apologies. NOTHING!! Next we go down for dinner and are asked if we have a reservation. No we don't so we are shuffled to the lounge for drinks while we wait up to 1.5 hours. After our kids are getting very hungry, my husband checks and then I check. For 15 minutes the hostess is setting up a huge table and I make eye contact many times but am not acknowledged. During this whole time there is a table set for 5 (for us?) ready. Finally with hungry children waiting I go into the dinning room and ask her about the table and where we should eat because our kids cannot wait anymore and are falling asleep at the table. She seats us- no apologies. She clearly forgot about getting us.Our waitress and food were great- a shout out to the waitress she was amazing and very attentive. Back to the room- temperature gauge stuck at 70 and boiling hot at night. tried to lower temperature and nothing happened. Terrible sleep. New day back to the restaurant at 9:30 for breakfast. Again greeted not with good morning but do you have a reservation? No! But if somebody had told us last night we would have happily made one. The manager came over to say she could not open the lounge for us to sit in to eat. We never made it to the pool even if it was warm enough because we had to leave the hotel to get breakfast. Appalling. That is unless we want to wait 30 to 60 minutes with hungry cranky children. At that we returned to our rooms packed up and left. This has been the most disappointing hotel experience ever. Not at all what I expect from a Westin. On so many levels this hotel failed to meet even basic Westin Resort ideals and expectations. March 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by BLISS I would like to thank Francis and the whole Westin team for making our stay at Bear Mountain last week an unforgettable one. The service was outstanding, the grounds were beautiful, the rooms were well maintained and the staff were professional and very helpful. The whole team had amazing time and had so many generous things to say. My family and I will definitely be returning in the summer for some R&R! March 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super deluxe accommodations This hotel had an unbelievable view from our view side balcony. I overlooked the golf course and couldn't ask for a better equipped room. I would recommend this place to anyone looking to visit Victoria. Definitely hang out in the lounge for some Great convo's with the ultra friendly bartender and beer cart girls. March 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by THE BEST!!! never been to Bear Mtn before, but i must say we definately will be ONLY staying there in the future! the room was amazing, the free driving range for my son was just what he needed after a long day of motocross :) March 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Great Experience During our stay at the hotel we celebrated my husband's birthday. Our room overlooked the golf course and it was spacious and comfortable. The staff could not have been more helpful. The food was excellent and we especially enjoyed the Sunday Brunch in the company of family members. It was a most memorable visit and we shall return.. March 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Da Bear Very nice property all round. Have stayed here several times before although I don't travel to Victoria frequently. Great gym/pool/whirlpool next door. The gym and whirlpool are outdoors and heated, so very nice to enjoy, particularly in winter with all the steam rising up. Staff are very professional and helpful. Self parking is complementary and easily accessible, which is a nice change from the downtown hotels. Very solid restaurants in the hotel or within walking distance. If you need to be downtown, then be advised that this property is about a 20 minute drive to the downtown area. This has never been a problem for me. I never got to golf, but the course looks very nice. February 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is a wonderful place to stay at The staff is friendly and welcoming. Our room was clean and spacious, very relaxing . We will definitely stay here again . December 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Winter Getaway We had a quick weekend getaway at the hotel. There was snow on the ground and on the mountain so it was a perfect setting for the holidays. The rooms are always large and comfortable with fireplaces and DVD players. The hotel itself was beautifully decorated. The Athletic Club is one of the best hotel gyms I have ever used and the outdoor pool was heated, so the pool and hot tub were great with the snow all around. I love this hotel year round but especially good over the holidays! December 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by excessive noise You have a beautiful hotel and the room was very nice, however the stay was somewhat marked by the loud people in nearby rooms. we had to call the front desk twice around 2:00am to complain. November 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by NO Hot Water Great suite... to bad about the hot water. The chocolate dipped strawberries were a good start at a heroic recovery but didn't make up for the lack of basics! November 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another exceptional stay Bear Mountain is fantastic hotel with beautiful rooms and a wonderful staff. Got upgraded to a Clubhouse Suite so was like having an apartment. Room service food was very good and delivered fast. The bar was fun and the drinks superb. We will return here every time we go to Victoria. Is close to town but far enough away to have it all!!! Also ideal for heading to Butchart Gardens. October 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel if you Love Golf. My husband and I are not golfers but if we were we would love this place, peaceful and beautiful. We were able to hike the mountain which was great, and use the fitness faculties which are GYM grade at the location is also used for near by residences. The room rate was great, and the service was super helpful. A rental car is needed if you wish you leave this location for Victoria or other sites. This location is a 80$ cab ride from the airport, it is cheaper to rent a car then cab. October 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Consistently very good however... I stay at this property approx. 12 times per year and enjoy the hotel's amenities and surrounding area. Staff is what gives your stay that extra bit of satisfaction so in this regard, I would encourage them to pay more attention to details (correct billing, correct rate) and when a mistake is made to offer an apology along with a quick resolution. October 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel I stayed here with my family for a few days, The staff managed to get us connecting rooms which was really nice. The only thing annoying is the pool being in a separate building and full of people not from the hotel. Otherwise, it was a great stay. October 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoyed our stay. We stood mesmerized on our balcony looking at the breathtaking scenery. I know that superlative [breathtaking] is used so much that it has become cliche. In this case it is correct. Thanks to the front desk for their help and friendliness. I was especially with the valet/bellman who not only brought our suitcases bur also offered to get us some ice in the ice bucket for us. October 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing Check in was great, front desk agent was excellent. However, I had asked for a room with king bed and was actually given handicap accessible room with two queen beds (was not told at time of checkin, found out when we got to the room). Room was extremely noisy, hallway noise was incredible at early hours of the morning. Could also hear conversation in next room very clearly. No staff evident in Fairways building during our stay until the morning of check out. Complained of noise at checkout and was simply told sorry and that they had multiple complaints about noise. September 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel Restaurant service terrible and needs attention I checked in Aug 27 -31. I have stayed here many times and also extensively at worldwide locations. The POSITIVE: excellent courteous\ service from Front Desk, Service Express and Housekeeping. In addition, evening restaurant service and morning restaurant service on Aug 28, 29 was very good. The BAD and needs attention: The MORNING Restaurant Waitress (s) on Aug 30 and 31- sorry but they need a talking to! On Aug 30: Asking for coffee cream and toast that should come with meal and waiting over 10 minutes and still not arriving because they forgot. Everything became cold while waiting! I had to go to back service area and get it myself. The Bear Mountain breakfast comes with OJ, was not offered or brought till we reminded her. Her response was " Oh right, do you want orange juice?". What a moran! Why would we remind her and then not want it! My 10 year old niece ordered chocolate caramel \whipped cream waffles and white milk. She was brought chocolate milk and buttermilk waffles (lucky we caught mistake and got kitchen to fix order). However, she got a bowl of " bad sour whipped cream). I had to insist we were not paying for the bear mountain and waffle meals. I also used the platinum breakfast bonus ($22 value) so in reality everything was free (slight $ difference). They should have paid me money ! On Aug 31, my sister went down for breakfast by herself. Different waitress, but apparently just as bad! Again asked for jam for bagel and she waited over 10 minutes and never came because she forgot it! My sister did not finish eating her breakfast because bagel cold now. It was not busy, and the other 2 tables had finished eating. The waitress was not to be found. My sister had to ask another server to see if she was on "break". My sister was not offered any apologies or any discount for her meal. September 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Property With a Friendly Staff I stayed in July 2013 for my birthday. I had a great time, I stayed in the fairways building so it was quieter and more peaceful. When I arrived at the room I noticed a couple of burnt out light bulbs, the staff resolved all of my issues immediately and provided top notch service. THE only thing I didn't like about the property was the packed pool area. It seems that it was not designed to handle the actual amount of people that are in the hotel. (Or when the weather is good people in BC flock to the pools.) September 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel, menu misses mark Menu choices, meal quality and dinner prices were disappointing. Breakfast was great. Room was spectacular. Golf course was not to the standard advertised. Too many blind shots. August 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Getaway Excellent location, beautiful scenery, nice spacious rooms, friendly staff, good for walks or hikes & excellent golf courses to challenge even the best golfer. Can never get enough of just relaxing on your balcony or the patio with a refreshing drink & taking in the golfers & views you never get tired of seeing. August 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff extremely helpful I found the hotel and golf staff to be extremely helpful. This included Saturday night when my wife had a medical emergency. Your valet on staff who is also a paramedic was very helpful as we tried to determine the best course of action. As guests from USA we were not familiar with your medical procedures, but he and the front desk staff quickly helped us in our hour of need. Thank you to all involved! August 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Could have been 5 Stars Beautiful location, beautiful Resort and friendly, helpful staff....They really seemed to care. I think this could have been a 5 star visit but unfortunately we had an issue. Upon arriving to the room we noticed that the carpets were all wet and so we called down to have them check it out. Well come to find out there was an ice block that had formed on the A/C unit in the room. They then had to bring one of those industrial dryers in to our room. Well you can't really have a conversation with that thing going off in the room. After a couple hours they came back because they had to turn up the heat in the room to try to melt the block off from the coils....We'll that didn't work either....They then came back with a propane cylinder with the torch on the end to try to speed up the melting process...after 20 mins of that, the room started to fill with light smoke and it left the room smelling terrible. Maintenance left for a little again and I had to call for room deodorizer as you could imagine what that smelled like. They couldn't move us either as the hotel was booked to 100% capacity. After a few hours they removed the carpet drier and let us be for the night. Even though the whole ordeal was very frustrating, I will say that I really want to go back there and stay again and hope for no issues, as I think we really could have enjoyed that night had we not had all the problems. Plus with two golf courses....I would like to try one of the courses. Please compliment Bryce as he was an amazing Maintenance Tech and he was really trying to fix the problem but he was up against such a stubborn block of ice...He was doomed =) At checkout I believe I heard the front desk saying they were going to take the room out of service to go repair the issues. July 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful Views We stayed here for the second time in a few years. It's a beautiful hotel, but only if you get a room with a golf/mountain view. Otherwise you overlook a noisy valet/waterfall and half constructed buildings. We originally reserved a golf course view, but upon seeing we were using our SPG points, the hotel staff moved us across the hall to a lesser view. We were unsuccessful with our request for them to honor our booking, stating it was not possible because it was a different rate and could not be booked and the hotel was overbooked. They did move us on the second night to a 1 bedroom suite, but still there was no view. It was very disappointing. The hotel has a great lounge and breakfast was good. I would skip the Sunday night pasta buffet though. It wasn't worth it. The pool is completely unapproachable. It is full of neighborhood families and children all day long. You can't get near it. July 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great 7-night Stay This was my second stay here - first time 2 years ago. It is consistently excellent in terms of rooms, service, staff, and dining. A beautiful location. Special praise goes to the front desk and bell staff for doing a huge favour for us upon check-in. July 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by No time for golf Very nice hotel , pool area is laid out well with tiered lounging levels . Walked some of the Valley Course , I'd get a cart for a round . Suite upgrade was very nice . July 21, 2013
  • 2015-12-01 T09:41:41.010-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_166, tr_166
  • loc_en_US, sid_1747, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 next>>