The Westin Tampa Harbour Island

  • 725 South Harbour Island Blvd
  • Tampa,
  • Florida
  • 33602
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 301 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall, very good stay. Will return! POSITIVES: View from room- We were on the 12th floor (top floor) with a view of the city skyline and the bay. Very nice. The view was a paid/reserved view which is further discussed below. Friendliness and efficiency of bartender- We ended up eating in the bar on our night of arrival. The food was good and the service and drinks from the bartender was excellent. The bartender was also the waiter in the bar. Cleanliness of room- The room and bath was spotless. We requested that the room be cleaned during a specific period each day before we departed for the day. The room was always ready when we returned. Gold welcome gift in room- There was a letter addressed to me by name welcoming me to the property and recognizing my SPG Gold status. Next to the letter was a small box of chocolate covered almonds. Very nice gesture indeed that went above and beyond what is required. Water temperature & pressure- Pretty self-explanatory. Valet parking- The valet parking attendants never took more than five minutes to retrieve our rental car. Valet attendant placed our luggage in the car's trunk upon check-out. See also note about valet upon check-in below. Maintenance- We had a towel rod fall in the shower our first morning. Staff was very quick to replace the towel rod with a new one. Location- Great location and within walking distance of convention center and the Tamp Bay Times Forum which was great as we attended a Tampa Bay Lightning hockey game our second night. NEGATIVES: Check-in experience- Check-in was efficient but I was told that I had been "upgraded to a Premium Room with a view of the bay/skyline on the 12th floor". I told the front desk agent that I had not been upgraded because I reserved and paid for a Premium Room with a bay/skyline view located on floors 10/11/12. He just muttered "Oh, it shows traditional here." I then asked about an upgrade to a Studio Suite but he said none were available. I really dislike this "You've been upgraded" song and dance I sometimes receive at Starwood properties when the room I receive is exactly the category of room I reserved and paid for. Lack of electrical outlets- Even though the room was in excellent condition and perhaps had even been updated recently, there was a dearth of available electrical outlets. The bedside lamps and the desk lamp did not have outlets in the base of the lamps. The previous guest had unplugged the alarm clock (housekeeping had not plugged it back in) and I left it unplugged in order to utilize the electrical outlet. There was a pull-up electrical outlet "pole" in the top of the desk which provided two electrical outlets. Lack of in-room safe- No in-room safe so no place to secure valuables, laptop, etc while not in room. Restaurant- Our first night we went down to the restaurant around 8:00 pm to have dinner. The property's website shows the restaurant would have been open until 11:00 pm. The hostess stand was not manned and the restaurant was empty. We went around to the bar and asked about the restaurant and were told that they serve dinner in the bar and only use the restaurant for overflow. They also stated the restaurant was really not used for anything other than the breakfast buffet. Bar menu obsolescence- We seated ourselves in the bar area and were brought a dinner menu. Also on the table was a booklet which highlighted different drinks available and containing about six pages of "Bar Bites." We asked if we could order from either menu and were told "The Bar Bites menu is obsolete except for the Buffalo Wings. I wish they would get rid of that menu." Well I wish they would too since I had selected some menu items from that "obsolete" menu. Valet parking upon check-in- The valet attendant watched as my wife and I tugged to get our luggage out of the trunk of the car and never offered to assist. I guess he was there just to park the car. Overall, this was a very good stay and I would not hesitate to return to The Westin Tampa Harbour Island again. March 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Filthy Dirty Hotel I have been a Platinum Member for several years and stay over 200 nights a year in Hotels - Often Westins. OMG - As Noted it is a Great Location But this is perhaps the most disgusting Hotel in Tampa (Maybe Florida). I took Pictures of the Hallways to show my Friends. Food, Trash and Dirt on the carpets. Same overflowing Trash in the Elevator Disposal for 2 days. I was on the 9th Floor, My Collegue on the 7th Floor and both corridors were the same Filthy Condition. If I were the GM I would be so embarrassed to have Guests on this property. February 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gasperilla Race I stayed at this hotel for the Gasperilla Race weekend. It was simply amazing, wonderful views and it was very close to the race. The staff was very friendly, clean room and it met all my expectations. My friends and I ate at the restaurant that was adjacent to the hotel I think the name was Jacksons and it was great. Overall pleasant stay and I would do it all over again. March 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel needs help I am a loyal fan of the westin properties. However this property fell well short of the standard one would expect from a Westin property. I was shocked at the lack of detail and the failure to modernize the hotel. I would definitely not stay at the Westin Harbour Island. April 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tampa Bay Rays Game We stayed at this hotel because we were going to a Tampa bay Rays game that night. Our room was spacious and the view was spectacular. The people at the front desk were exceptional. They looked after all our needs and gave us great tips for our walking tour and local restaurants. We will return again next year. We loved it. April 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff Needs Customer Service Training I had 7 rooms booked with you for the Florida Thespian Convention. One evening, a security guard- un-anounced burst into my room and yelled at my students who were having a meeting with me. Un-identified- did not ask for an adult ..just yelled that he had a complaint about us running through the halls and that we were going to be thrown out of your hotel if it didn't cease. I called the front desk to register a complaint about how he handled this situation- which by the way later was discovered it was NOT my students but another group staying on the same floor... so your guard accused and mishandled the entire situation without the facts. That is only the beginning of this fiasco...your front desk person- Adrianna informed me and my students SHE DIDN"T CARE ABOUT HER GUESTS FEELINGS..she was upset and nervous and didn't want to deal with the situation..I was informed there is no manager on duty to handle anything during the evening if an emergency arises, I was told it has to wait until the morning. I kept using the words CUSTOMER SERVICE..I kept being told that no one at the front desk that evening cared about customer service...... Your day manager, the next morning met with me about the situation but I never received a follow-up or an explanation or apology from any of the offending parties...is this what Westin Considers CUSTOMER SERVICE???????????? April 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Avoid... Dated, dirty, dusty. Toliet requires a yoga pose (about a foot off the ground) Staff did their best, but the facility was horrid. April 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great customer service and a wonderful hotel I used the hotel for business and had part of my staff members staying at the property with me. It was a great opportunity to treat them with a really nice hotel accomodations and outstanding customer service. March 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel exceeded expectations Our room had a fabulous water view and everything was so clean and comfortable. Unknown to the front desk, it was my husband's birthday and Associate Mike was so kind about seeing we had a comfortable room with a great view. Thank you Westin and Mike for a special birthday celebration weekend. March 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tremendous Stay This facility provided an excellent experience from check-in to check-out and ensured all our needs were met. The valet attendant provided tips for the area prior to check-in while the restaurant and bar staff ensured great service. The Westin experience was alive and well at this hotel. March 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Romantic Getaway I desperately needed to get away to rest body, mind and spirit. This place fit the bill. The location is superb, right on the bay with restaurants and attractions nearby. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff is very friendly and supportive. There was a large contingent of high schoolers staying there, but they told me not to worry, they would put me on the Starwood Preferred Guest floor. It pays to be a member! I will return shortly. March 26, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disappointed As a Starwood member, I have stayed at many Starwood resorts and each time have been very satisfied. This trip was different as many other reviews have stated. We arrived at 2pm, one hour earlier than check in time after 8 hours in the airport/flight. We were told that a room was ready however, as we requested a nice view, the room with a view would be ready at 3pm. The bar was right there so we gladly waited. At 3:20, we had not heard anything so I went to guest services and was told that the prior hotel personnel I had dealt with was incorrect, the hotel was oversold, and that I would never get a room with a view. Also, though I had asked for a kind bed, the only bed arrangement available was two doubles. We reluctantly took the two doubles which were slighly larger than twins but less than a full bed. Sleeping well at night as the walls are terribly thin and the bed was very uncomfortable. Carpets in hallways look stained and dirty. Some floors smell of mold. Our room was fairly clean but the bathroom was rusty and the toilet paper roll was on the floor having fallen off the broken holder. Also, the hallways felt like 32 degrees as did the room. The restaurant Jackson's which is attached to the hotel but not truly part of it is excellent! That was a true plus. Great cuisine with spectacular views! None of these things make the hotel unbearable for sure, but when you are paying top dollar for a hotel and expecting top quality, this was highly disappointing. As another has said, I am also surprised, Starwood has put their name on this hotel. March 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very disappointing The hotel staff were courteous and professional, breakfast was exceptional, and the location was excellent. However, our overall experience with this hotel was very disappointing because of the ongoing facility upgrades and the quality of our room. Most disappointing was the aggravatingly slow elevator service. We understand the need to upgrade facilities, but to be fair, you should have informed us in advance that the ongoing elevator upgrades could create significant inconvenience. Then, we could have made an informed choice to stay at the Westin or seek other accommodations. I also had much higher expectations for our room based on your website photos and the price we paid. What we got for nearly $400 per night was a mediocre room, on par with much less expensive hotels, with a disappointing view through cloudy windows. We are not inclined to stay at another Westin. January 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Harbour Island Westin It was fantastic accommodations from staff, management, housekeeping, and valet. Definitely close to all the action and I highly recommend this hotel in Tampa. March 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by convenient Carpets need cleaning everywhere. room had funny smell-probably carpet as linens were clean, bed comfy March 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not your typical Westin Level of luxury & comfort much lower than what I expect from a Westin. Staff was great but facilities are in dire need of an update. March 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Hotel with a Few Kinks Nice location (on a private island, quiet but very close to eveything, e.g. downtown, Ybor City Channelside district etc.), friendly and helpful staff, good SPG recognition (upgrade to a corner suite with nice water views). A few areas need improvement: First, the elevators do NOT work properly. We pressed the down button from our floor and the button would light up for a few seconds and then go out. This happened constantly, so we had to press the up button to get an elevator to then go down (this worked most of the time; at other times, we just had to pray that the elevator would stop on our floor to let someone off). Secondly, the carpet in the room is a bit old and worn and needs replacing. February 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not up to the Westin standard We stayed at the Tampa Westin for four nights. The room was not up to traditional Westin standards. The room was musty. The toilet paper holder was loose on the wall; you can't miss this during cleaning. The thermostat would fall off of the wall when you changed the temperature. One of the night stand lights was plugged into an unsecured plug with out any cover. The tub drain was very slow and the shower would fill up when taking a shower. Only one day did we receive one heavenly bath towel. I like Westins, I chose to stay at this location instead of other hotels. This was not how a Westin typically is or should be. March 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This can't be a Westin I was looking forward to coming to Tampa for my business meeting and staying at a Westin. Unfortunately this is not the case in Tampa. The whole place needs an overhaul--chipped paint on doors, dirty carpets, dirty and slow elevators (the one by the pool is scary slow and the door scrapes when opening and closing). The workout room was in disrepair--2 out of 4 treadmills were broken--the TVs built into all the treadmills didn't work. Bathrooms need upgraded and reapaired--toilet paper holder falling off the wall. Where are the mini bar amenities--the fridge is here and its empty. January 18, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvement still The Westin's hallway had a smell as soon as you got off the elevators. Needs to have free wifi in the rooms. March 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel was very helpful The hotel staff was very helpful an attentive during our stay. They assisted us by contacting another hotel to provide us a complimentary playpen for our son during our stay because the hotel playpen was broken. March 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by needs updating We stayed 2 different times over our week in Florida. The rooms really need updating. In one room we had a cool place to plug in our phones and computers to charge (it was hidden in the desk which was odd) and in second room that equipment was not there at all. No outlets in room except in bathroom. And they hide the ice bucket from you. To put something in the safe you have to be limber and small as it is very low to the ground. They were very helpful with transportation to the cruise ship and the airport. March 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room was not ready When we arrived to check in after the volleyball tournament, our room was not ready. I understand that check-in is at 3, but when you have a contract with the host of the tournament next door, you need to plan ahead and make sure the rooms are ready as soon as possible. We were told that we had to stay at your hotel by the tournament hosts, which is fine with me because it is a nice hotel, but when you have everyone staying there you need to plan better for it. March 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Needs a bit more updating The hotel seems to be showing its age a bit. The elevators are pretty slow. The door locks are balky. The public areas have been upgraded recently and are very nice, and more work is probably planned, but this hotel has a lot of competition in the area and might be falling behind a bit. The front desk is understaffed (but extremely nice and professional people!). It was surprising to arrive after 4:00 pm and have to wait for a room because they hadn't been cleaned yet. The location is convenient, especially to events at the convention center. March 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing For a Westin property, this facility leaves a lot to be desired. The location and surroundings are outstanding, however the rooms are below average at best. If I didn't look, I would think that I was in a budget hotel room. The rooms need a makeover and some better amenities. Very poor! March 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The Westine Tampa Harbour Island We reserved a premium room and was assigned 1104; which in my opinion, was not. The shower would not drain and the toilet paper holder was loose and crooked. The view was however, excellent. March 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Improvement We stayed for 2 nights in February 2013. The hotel wouldn't provide our room block with rooms that had double beds, so we requested a roll away / cot for our room when making the reservation (2-3 weeks in advance). When I checked in they mentioned that they saw the roll away reservation but they were out of them because they didn't hold one for my room. The hotel staff did nothing to rectify this over the course of my stay. The Elevators have been "under renovation" for a couple of months now. We consistently had to wait 5-10+ minutes every time we wanted to use an elevator. They had signs pointing us to the service elevators, however we would wait just as long for them to come. Whenever we used our shower, it leaked all over our bathroom floor. February 19, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Major Problems! I was staying On friday and Saturday for a quick weekend getaway to busch gardens with my 1 year old and 4 yr old daughters. upon arrival the escalators was broken. so fine we took the elevator around the corner. on check in we arrived to our 10th floor and there where workmen fixing lights with wires and ladders everywhere. not exactly luxurious. but to top it off saturday night the night club downstairs pounded music until 3am. fun when you are there to party but not when you are there with kids and trying to sleep. not happy I also . May 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent From the moment we pulled up to the front door the friendliness of staff was well evident. Valets were courteous and explained our options. Mike at the front desk was very friendly and accommodating. Our room was excellent and had a beautiful view of the harbor. Room was well supplied with linens and beverages which we appreciated. First class all the way. March 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The "View" First time in this Westin and I was quite happy. Upgraded to two room suite, two room bathroom and a huge walk in closet! But the view was the winner, great views of the harbor/water--what a delight. Did not eat any meals here but would return simply because of the wonderful room. December 18, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>