The Westin Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort

  • 321 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard
  • Fort Lauderdale,
  • Florida
  • 33304
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 nights, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book up to 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4 out of 5 by 677 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great view, poor service First time @ The Westin, Overall room view was beautiful 15th floor , once I was allowed to check in. No early checkin as this place, changed into my bathing suit in the bathroom to head to the beach to wait for my room. No working over head light in bathroom, or ventilation fan. Bathroom door is a louver door, same with the window in the bathroom that opens to a view of the bed. No privacy! VALET PARKING ONLY, very expensive, I did not see this on the website. Also had a package shipped to the hotel, fee for them to process my package aka hold it. Was not offered a bellman to help with my luggage, also no knowledge of self check out provided. Carpet on each floor was filthy, not what I expected for a 4-5 star hotel. Fire alarm sounded Saturday evening 1:30am, no emergency thank god! But we still evacuated in the event it was a real emergency. Numerous conventions while I was there, I'm sure someone pulled the alarm. No accommodations were offered to us for the incovenience, when I asked the desk clerk about the emergency, she knew nothing about this, and offered no explanation. We were right next to the elevators, that wasn't as loud as the slamming room doors, not to mention the light that shined in from underneath the door, I had to throw a towel there to keep the light out. I had read some of the reviews online, and had hoped to form my own positive option. Well this is my honest option. May 6, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by I do NOT recommend this hotel I do not recommend this hotel. There were problems from the moment I checked in. The customer service was non existent. I have never in my life been treated so poorly by the staff at a hotel. Despite having called and twice and been told it was absolutely no problem to have an adjoining room with my friends (whose name and reservation # I provided) and despite being told that a note was placed on both of our reservations, I was told when I checked in that my room was not adjoining, not on the same floor and NOT EVEN IN THE SAME BUILDING!!! Another issue was that there are not enough chairs and umbrellas at the beach and pool and each time we arrived at either location we were told there were no umbrellas left at the beach and the next day there were no chairs or umbrellas at the pool. The pool area is far too small and the chairs are literally on top Of one another to the point that you can't walk between them without moving them to the side to make a path. I have never experienced such poor service, especially at the prices charged here. There was hardly ever someone at the concierge desk and when I called it was either busy or went to voicemail. I called the concierge desk the evening before I was leaving to reserve a ride to the airport. I got the voicemail which said to leave a message and I would receive a call back. Of course I never received a call back despite leaving a detailed message that I was calling to arrange transportation to the airport the following morning. Never received a call so I called again in the morning. The line was busy for 30 minutes. So I called the front desk. I was told that there is no concierge at night and after three Calls back and forth I was told that there were no town cars available for transportation to the airport with the company the hotel uses and I'd have to pay significantly more for a van which I didn't need. The rude desk person then chided me for calling at the last minute. I told him I had called the evening prior and left a detailed message about needed transportation to the airport and nobody called me back. He then told me there was no concierge at te time I called; offered no explanation as to why someone else didn't call me back; and offered no explanation as to why the concierge didn't return my call when he or she came on duty that morning. Instead, he said I should have dialed zero which the message says to do for an "emergency". I told him it was not an emergency and that his response was inappropriate for someone allegedly providing guests with "customer service." Overall the service at this hotel was very poor. It's easy to be nice and accommodating to guests paying over $1200.00 to spend three nights here in the cheapest type of room but apparently treating people nicely or being accommodating isn't on the agenda here ESPECIALLY WHEN THE GUEST PRE-PAYS for the stay like I did. There is no reason to have so few umbrellas at the beach and pool. It's these little things that make a big difference in a guest's stay and this place doesn't have it. I'd rather pay more to stay at a more expensive hotel and be treated with respect and courtesy-not to mention to be able to get a chair and umbrella at the beach or pool without having to reserve it by 8:30am. Sadly a few bad apples make everyone here look bad. LASTLY , this place nickels and dimes you to no end. They charge for wireless internet!!!! This chain Could learn a lot from their competitors down the road. April 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent The general manager at Fort Lauderdale is awesome. He really cares customers and tries every means to deliver excellent customer service. The front desk staff such as Louis Cortes from Puerto Rico, akeen Robinson are fantastic, the other front desk staff are excellent as well. When I arrived, I was greeted warmly by the team of the general manager. They made me feel home. Thanks for your kindness and 1st class service. April 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by So wanted to give this 5 stars, but couldn't I so wanted to give this location 5 stars. This hotel has many appealing aspects: beach, pool bar, great beach location. But, the service was simply inconsistent, and at times schizophrenic! The rude: The front desk check-in gal was just robotic and unsympathetic to checking in guests; the lady pool bartender 'greeted' guests with a frown and a surly 'what do ya want?'. The spendid: The valet and bell folks were playful and kind to guests, making each person feel welcomed upon arrival and departure. Even the maintenance men would smile and greet guests warmly when passing them in the halls or at the pool. (Maybe management needs to promote the valet and bellmen to front desk and bartenders and fire their current bar and desk staff.) It was irritating that my humble SPG status meant nothing to this particular hotel. At other SPG hotels, I get 'the love' simply by being a registered SPG member. I'm thanked, offered upgrades, and never have I been denied a small request like a few hours' late check-out if needed. But, not at this hotel. Every minor request of mine was denied with an impatient attitude: I asked for an early check-in due to a feverish grandchild, and was denied. When I pleaded for another room-any room-I was still denied coldly with by the desk clerk who's voice was filled with thinly veiled rage! Wow! She, this front desk clerk, acted like she was going to explode! My room was nice (once I finally got it) but it was missing basic amenities like a coffee maker and I had to call twice and wait 4 hours for one to be brought. On checkout day, I asked for a late checkout of a 2 hour extension check-out due to my husband not being back yet from a certification exam, and was immediately denied. A hotel of this caliber should be able to handle crowds, give a little extra TLC to it's SPG members, and just be able to keep it together without talking to guests with clenched teeth. April 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by VALET ONLY Poor 1st impression upon arrival to find out hotel is Valet Parking only and a shock to our budget. We are SPG gold members and had to request manager help for amenities & upgraded room. Regular staff is under trained in recognition of SPG membership. Alin mananger and Kevin in Valet were very helpful. Room had a beautiful beach view but no patio. All rooms have full patio doors with safety bars 1/2 way up. Would of liked to leave patio door open a bit to hear ocean but HVAC units & traffic noise around out sound of the water. Housekeeping was excellent, very helpful & accommodating especially Georgette. April 11, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dirty & uncomfortable The price I paid ($500) is not worthy. Horrible and dirty carpet in each floor, the room was small, worst view, shadow, no amenities, no snack bar, poor fitness center... The location also is pretty far away of everything. I am a frequent guest of Westin Lima which is awesome, great facility but this Westin in Fort Lauderdale does not qualify for a 5 stars. April 10, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Westin experience With much regret I have to say that this has been my worst experience with any Starwood hotel. Generally, the establishment is run down, messy and dirty everywhere, in urgent need of a refurbishment. Getting there with my car - nobody to welcome me and take care of my luggage, had to do all on my own. At the reception, there is no separate SPG counter. No platinum upgrade - I was first given a room on a low floor overlooking a noisy pool stuffed with crying children (and adults to be honest). I complained and the hotel staff managed to find another room of the same kind but on a higher floor, in the south tower which is far away from the lobby. Elevators - you have to wait forever. The room, aged and dirty, with an old layout (the bathroom is open to the bedroom and separated by a store window, no ventilation, no intimacy). No amenities whatsoever. Poor quality towels. To go to the beach you have to go through a bar next to the pool, dirty and stinking of alcohol a mile away. At the beach, no free chairs, had to wait 1/2 hour to get one. Had to print my boarding pass for the next day - no business center. I was suggested to use one of the lobby computers which offer free printing for boarding passes, unfortunately my airline was not on the list, so to log on normal internet I should have paid 7.95$. I asked them to waive this amount from the bill - no way. Valet parking, 36$, almost the same I had paid the night before at St.Regis Bal Harbour! All this for an incredibly outrageous amount of 536$ - which is ridiculous as it is twice as much you pay at e.g. Westin Tokyo and Westin Venice (Italy) - wonderful hotels in the most expensive cities in the world. Honestly this hotel is not worth more than 100$ per night! March 22, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Giving up on Starwood In the last month have stayed in 4 starwood hotels, 1 was good and the other 3 I wouldn't recommend. I'll start with the positives of Westin Fort Lauderdale. The room was very spacious, side view of the beach and intracoastal. Bed and pillows were very comfortable, plenty of closet space and drawer space for the 2 of us. Lots of plugs and mirrors. Only suggestion would be a light in the closet and full length mirror. The pool attendants were great, very personable and helpful. Bartender at restaurant 3/18/15 and pool 3/19/15 were exceptional!! Now for the complaints. When we got to our room, had one small bar of soap and no shampoo or conditioner, no big deal will get it next day. 2nd day got back to our room at 6:00 pm and room was not made up. Called operator and was told, sorry but housekeeping was gone home for day, but she would double check and get back to me. The operator then said she checked with housekeeping and they were gone, but that I had agreed to a "green" room for an additional 500 points (didn't know that I was even a member). I asked her when had I done that and she said maybe when I made reservation. First off, I woud never take 500 points over a clean room. Secondly, any time I have read about "green rooms" (would never request a green room) it has been my understanding that towels are not changed unless they are left on floor and sheets changed every so many days. Your green evidently means that nobody cleans the room, trash is left to pile up, glasses are not changed out, coffee is not refreshed and soap, shampoo, conditioner and lotion are not replenished (although we didn't get that in the first place). In all fairness, I then called your manager on duty and he returned my call pretty promptly. I explained my issues and he did offer to provide breakfast, we declined as we were leaving the next day. The lounge chairs at the pool are dirty and uncomfortable. The pool looked like it had been shocked each day, very murky. Restaurant service at the pool was little to none . Sat at a table beside 6 young men who had glasses of water that they had gotten themselves and were waiting for waitress to come over. we sat at table for 15 minutes and then luckily someone left the pool bar, so we were able to sit at the bar and got great service from bartender. Beach chairs were complimentary, but umbrella was $21.50 if charged to room or $20 cash. Don't know why, but we paid cash $1.50 discount is nothing. Won't be staying at Starwood Hotels, when I make reservations (which is at least once a month). Just so you know, I pretty much always respond to feedback requests, good or bad. March 21, 2015
  • 2015-05-21T19:58:12.747-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_677, tr_677
  • loc_en_US, sid_3328, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 5 ... 24 next>>