The Westin Chennai Velachery

  • 154 Velachery Main Road
  • Chennai,
  • Tamil Nadu
  • 600042
  • India
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 69 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent staff It was a very comfortable and relaxed stay at Westin, Velachery. One point that definitely separates Westin from other hotels is its service and staff. One of the best that I have seen so far. Starting from room service to restaurants to gym, everyone is extremely courteous and helpful. Every effort made to make the guest comfortablewas genuine and sincere. Special thanks to: Muna, Mohan and Rajkumar in Restaurant/buffet area Zara in room service and Daniel in security area. Looking forward to my next stay. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Hotel !! Amazing hotel with outstanding team and great dine in option April 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 5th April I have atealest stayed 50 nights in this hotel. it may be even more. The quality is deterioting. Particularly this time, I was frustrated April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Westin Chennai Velachery--Excellent in all aspects. Finding hotels that offer world class amenities for reasonable price can sometimes be a challenge in India. The Westin Chennai Velachery was highly recommended to us and it met or exceeded all of our expectations. If you are traveling from US to Chennai, do not bother looking for other hotel options, when you are at Westin, you will enjoy the best that India has to offer with the comforts of an excellent global brand hotel. January 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent business hotel I stayed in Westin this week and I must say I am very satisfied with the hotel during my stay. Comfort and luxury was fantastic and so was the service. The breakfast was good and lavish too. I have been given big size room, AC was comfortable and I had a nice sleep. Being a frequenter of Chennai, I will select this hotel again. A few things where I found it needs improvement are : 1. There was no netwrok coverage for Vodafone (and Airtel was feeble too )in the room at 7th floor. Definitely you need to look into the matter as its absolutely necessary to have mobile coverage for all reasons. 2. I tried ordering few standard continental dishes which is found to be not available. December 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel, Great Room and Friendly Staff I recently stayed at the Westin in Chennai. The hotel was beautiful and the staff were extremely helpful. The Gym facilities were great and it was better than I had expected. I would definitely recommend a stay in the Westin. For a nice after work drink the sports bar is the perfect place to unwind with the bar staff making an effort to remember you and your order. All round a very good stay. Thank you November 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice stay friendly atmosphere This hotel lived up to all expectations I had and food was great. Look forward to be here in the future November 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by It was pleasant stay Arriving early morning and getting served as expected. Room, venue, restaurant all is fine. November 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above and Beyond The hotel is very nice and the accommodations are wonderful. The staff went out of their way on several occasions to make my stay enjoyable. There is one thing a staff member, Mr. Venis (Airport Representative), did that I feel was above and beyond. One of my traveling companions did not print her itinerary with her name on it. Security was not going to let her in the airport. Mr. Venis went inside and was able to locate appropriate documentation to allow my companion to get into the airport and ultimately get home. I was so appreciative of his time and efforts. We didn't even ride to the airport with him as we already had transportation. Mr. Venis met us there, recognized us from the hotel and helped us out. Please make sure he is recognized. If he can be recognized monetarily, I would greatly appreciate it! October 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful people - nice place I want to personally thank Mr. Venis. He saved my life. Well, in my eyes he did. He was the perfect guide helping us on our trip home. Specifically, I did not have an itinerary for my trip with my name on it. I had an itinerary but no name. The guard would not let me through. Mr. Venis was trying to help me through but the guard would have none of it! Mr. Venis then asks me for my passport - goes into the airport with the two gals I was traveling with ... next thing you know, he comes back out with a confirmation of my travels! It was just what the guard needed to let me go through and get checked in for my flight! Mr. Venis went above and beyond and ensured that my entire team was taken care of and ushered to the right place in the airport, and gave us direction on where we needed to go once we were done with checking in. If it weren't for him, I am not sure when and if I would have boarded a plane to come home. I owe him a lot. I didn't have enough tip money (either in rupees or dolalrs) to show my appreciation of what he did for me. I gave him all I had left!! He truly made me feel like he was going to be sure that I was taken care of and that I would get on that plane and head home. I thank him for that. I also want to thank a young man who was always in the lobby (he wore the beige uniform) but I don't know his name. A friendly guy and always greeted us when we came back to the hotel or before we left for work from the hotel. Such nice staff at the hotel. I truly enjoyed staying there. September 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top Westin in the World... I'm from the US and travel to many Westin's in the US and globally and I have discerning taste. This property is absolutely fantastic. It all starts with the front desk and they made me feel very comfortable and appreciative of my choice to stay here. India overall is known for their hospitality but the staff and Management here are clearly in the top 1%. The rooms are fresh and have that distinctive Westin feel. The gym offers much more than I've seen in other hotels, even other Westin's and the pool and waterfall scene is very relaxing. I have especially been enjoying the Sunset Grill which offers roof top dining and the steaks are great. I've especially enjoyed having a nice Cuban cigar after diner while enjoying the evening breeze. Special mention to Sy and his colleagues at the Grill as they are both professional and a lot of fun to talk with. The bottom line is that the staff here is what makes you feel very welcomed and I'm looking forward to returning the next few months. This will be the only property I stay in when I'm in Chennai and will be recommending it to my business colleagues and friends. Keep up the great work and attitude! September 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A "Re-TREAT" in Chennai, India Another GLOBAL Brand in India who does thimgs well and knows how to treat their guests the way they expect to be treated everyday on a very consistent basis. The employees are trained as part of their process "To Do The Right Thing" and it happens! I have traveled alot within India and stayed in a varity of hotel(s) and this is one of the best properties within the country. I was in Chennai on business for 2.5 weeks and went thru the list of Chennai hotels and chose this property based on other reviews and the proximity to Phoenix Mall (walking distance) which has a Starbucks, IMAX, CPK , Mainland China and Hard Rock Cafe. The Westin Chennai "delivers" on service, food and quality. There are 3 great dining venues and a bar on-site and the Indian, Asian & Western dishes all are great. John, Hem, Balijari, Gopal & Manesh at Seasonal Tastes and the EEST and Sunset Grill staff all do a great job as well as their other co-workers. To The Willow's bar staff who had his own "style" with regards to his uniform. The staff go out of their way to "serve" the Westin guest(s). The Front Desk staff to Duty Managers are all professionals and do a good job. My thanks to Anand and Jana for making sure I got my morning newspapers. The attention to detail of these 2 gentlemen are what guests appreciate. When I'm back in Chennai the Westin will be my "home". August 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent + Staying with the Westin is the great. Excellent Saff. They made me feel like home away from. Seasonal food Staff & Cheff made my special food with my need. always polite & good service. Overall All the services is IF I would say is + six star. ****** August 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pool is an excellent feature Negative - Need to refresh the internal minibar before new guest arrives and each day of the stay if items have been consumed (such as drinks) Positive Bulbul host for the lower buffet restraunt is very helpful and friendly August 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Staff is very Friendly The staff is very good and always tries to please you. August 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel and awesome staff This was my second extended stay at Westin Velachery - 5 weeks this time. Staff gave excellent service and made us feel at home. Anup, Brahma, Shebin, Gopal, Ravi, Bulbul, John, Neeraj, Alok, Saddam - few names that I remembered were great. Even the housekeeping staff (Elango) was very attentive and made sure that I had everything. August 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by New Hotel Being a Platinum Member i had only discussions in this hotel. I booked also for 3 guests and they also had more discussions then anything else. In this hotel you are a customer but not a guest. August 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel has quality Food The food has been very good - however, the staff in the Restaurant in unorganized. They are slow to clean off tables and the wait staff is not assigned to a specific area or table. Otherwise, the staff and management staff are very friendly. August 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very noisy room At first I got a room on the 9th floor asigned, what is called executive floor. But my room was positioned direct below the main air condition motor on the top roof. And the motor was so noisy that I could not even sleep that night. Fortunately I got a different room for the next nigths! August 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fantastic Fourteen Days It was a nice experience. The comfort, security and hospitality provided was awesome. August 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Issues with power Under normal circumstances, I would have rated this hotel 5 starts for everything above (except SPG recognition and food). The reason for the lower rating is my continuous problem with the power in my room, and I'm not talking about the power fluctuations. My power would turn off all the time, and the only way I could fix it was to remove the keycard, open the door, and then put the keycard back in. And then do the whole process again 5 minutes later... The worst thing was that staff did not believe me, and both times before it got fixed, I had to call reception several times and I had to explain the situation at least a dozen times to a number of people, and they did not seem to believe me, they kept telling me it was just the power fluctuation. No, it was not! I had those and I knew the difference. After 2 days of complaining, I finally had a chance to tell an electrician that he had to eliminate the card reader (it's a shame though that I had to tell a tradie what he had to do, after he tried fixing it his way and failed), which he did, and it worked perfectly for a couple of days. Until someone put back the card reader in action, and my problems started again. I had so many calls to reception and I was promised repeatedly that it was gonna be fixed. Then someone would turn up at my door and tell me it was OK. IT WAS NOT OK!!!! It took another 2 days of complaining (and yelling in the end) for it to be fixed finally. This stress was the last thing I needed. Re food: we usually ate at the buffet, which I liked. The reason for the 4 stars is that I had packed breakfast and lunch most days, and they would sometimes skip a thing I asked for, or the food would not be consistent from day to day; eg. my mashed potatoes were awesome one day, but inedible two days later. Apart from my issue with the power, I really enjoyed staying in your hotel. I found the staff very nice, everything was clean, etc. August 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Difference over time Although the hotel is very good it was surprising that there was no turndown services given also i had specifically ensured that DND is off and at the lounge the options of liquor was sub standard as compared to what i am used to in all SPG hotels August 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb and Comfortable The Chennai Westin is a spectacularly comfortable hotel where one can both work and relax as per the days schedule. I always regret not being able to stay for an extra day. August 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Staff The staff is very accommodating and very friendly. July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall reasonably good experience Rooms are quite good and comfortable with good AC control. However the SPG number updated in the system was not they could not recognize the SPG. Breakfast in the coffeeshop surely needs a complete revamp...incluing services. July 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome stay at Westin I have really enjoyed the stay at Westin. The room and the available facilities were cozy.Looking forward for coming again.. July 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by bad customer experience I have stayed in this hotel a few times now. The most recent experience was pretty horrid. The hotel ended up having a party on a friday night till 2 am and me staying in the 2nd floor could not sleep a wink as my floor was vibrating as the dance floor was below and plus the music was very loud. I have formally raised a complaint. July 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel is great for Business Travellers Everything was very nice and clean. The staff is also very good. The hotel has 3 international restaurants, with great quality and very good breakfast. The gym has good equipments and personal trainers to assist you, the view is great, with the Pool right in front of it. The Spa is side by side with the gym and you can spend some time to relax. The rooms are nicelly decorated with English spoken TV Channels and in the Luxury Room you get free WiFi access. July 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, can be better Good to stay at Westin, Good staff. Good Beds, Amazing Washroom July 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by RMB 07142014 Excellent service and value for your dollars. July 14, 2014
  • 2015-10-04T07:52:57.115-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_69, tr_69
  • loc_en_US, sid_3765, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 next>>