The Westin New York Grand Central

  • 212 East 42nd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10017
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 716 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Soo loud! Needs soundproof glass My view is incredible, but you really cannot sleep or relax with all the noise. Soo much beeping until 1am. They really need soundproof windows. Room is on the small side. No Buffett, food service takes a while and feels more like a deli than a hotel. Beds are really comfortable and the view is nice. But the food , service and noise really infringe on the guest experience. December 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Transactional Hotel The gap between this hotel being EXCELENT and just ok its the staff. Facilities were recently upgraded but staff for the most part have very arrogant NY attitude.. - Bell boys seem to be making you a favor every time you ask them for something. They always wait for tips in return. I stay here multiple times a year and by now im fed up of them. - Reception is very kind but very slow. Usually there are lines to check in. - Elevators are old an insufficient at peak times or when there is a lot of people in the conference rooms. December 8, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Convenient place to stay Nice hotel but the bathrooms have a mildew odor. I was given another room but it had the same smell. The towels used for cleaning probably had the odor from not being dried properly. The shower curtain and especially the shower liner had the same mildew smell. It was very unpleasant and just left me with a feeling that the bathroom was unclean. December 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience. Our room was clean and comfortable, the staff polite and accommodating. We will be back. December 4, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel desperately needs improvement to be qualified as a Westin hotel This is my second stay at this property in the last 12 months. Service standard has deteriorated substantially from last year. Huge attitude problem from the staff. Greetings with a stern face with no eye contact from front desk staff and concierge was the norm. Adding insult to injury service was poor and sloppy. Nobody could explain to me why I couldn't get complimentary wifi although I've made my booking through SPG.com. I worte a letter to the GM (Colleen Senters) afterward but never receive a reply. My experience was way below my expectation which is very different from the GM's pledge - "We strive to exceed our customer's expectation". December 3, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Never Again This is by far the worst Westin I've ever stayed in. 1. The bed was awful. My husband's side was completely sunken in. Neither of us got a full night of sleep. 2. There was a shower curtain over the smoke detector! 3. We waited an hour with two small children for our food at breakfast (in the restaurant) and all we ordered was bagels, toast and fruit. Also, this sad meal was $96. 4. The woman who checked me in was rude. I told her I was Gold status and asked her if an upgrade was available to me. She replied, "you already have a suite, what more of an upgrade do you want?" 5. The sheets were stained. Seriously? After seeing stained sheets, I didn't even want to sleep in this hotel. If I had another choice, I would have packed up my family and left immediately. November 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel great at accomodating extra requests I'm an SPG Gold member but in the past have found it difficult to check in early when arriving on very early flights - this property was able to check me in 6 hours early and upgrade me as well! Great stay. November 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Respectful & responsive staff! The hotel smells wonderful and looks awesome! November 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by convenience and comfortable room First time staying here. Nice quite room. Requested a high floor given 31st. Friendly front desk, luggage storage, Would stay here again November 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quieter than most NYC hotels I used to stay at the W on Lexington exclusively, but finally got tired of how noisy it was. Going to NYC meant no sleep. It was one loud noise after another at that hotel. A colleague suggested i try the Westin Grand Central. Very glad i did. Not sure why, but it's MUCH quieter than the other Starwood hotels I've tried. Now my go to hotel. November 2, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by No Free wi-fi and noisy We recently stayed at the Westin Grand Central in New York from the 22nd October to the 28th October. Despite staying in the hotel for 6 nights we were not offered Wi-Fi. Every hotel that we have previously stayed at in Manhattan and the rest of the world offers free Wi-Fi. The staff in the coffee shop/restaurant were under extreme pressure, with only one barman at 5.30pm and one person making coffee in the morning. No wonder the staff are rude. I would not come back to the hotel and we stay in New York regularly. November 1, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by NO CLUB LOUNGE, NO HH, BAD BREAKFAST I planned to stay with my friend, but he did not come. I have told him a lot of fun to be a platinum member and he would like a try with me. He was right not to come! I got premier room at check-in. I asked for suite and they said it was not available (I checked app there are suits left), but I do not mind they did not give a suite. I asked if they have club lounge or happy hours. They said they did not have lounge but they offer happy hours from 6-8pm in the lobby lounge. At a few mins past 6pm, I went to lounge and asked for happy hours. They said they do not offer it and I need to pay for that. As a platinum member, if I can't get these things here, I would rather pay another several hundred to get better servis in Regis and luxury collection. October 30, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible experience Spent 2 nights with the hotel for a business trip. I had many options but chose Westin because I am loyal SPG customer. Unfortunately, I seemed a big mistake. The receptionist was very arrogant, seemed like I owned her $1000. There's no lounge in this hotel. There were billing errors that the manager was not able to correct and I have not yet receive any response after 24 hrs. Also experienced a blackout. Location is great, but almost no incentive for elite members. The worst part was the service. Hotel staff especially the receptionists were not friendly. Is that because it's in New York? I stayed in Sheraton Chicago the same month, and it has excellent customer service. The difference on service quality between the two hotels is like day and night. Very disappointed with Westin NY Grand Central. For ~$400/per night, I deserve better. I will definitely avoid it next time to NY and may consider avoiding SPG hotels in NY. October 27, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dont order room sevice I ordered room services with cold French onion soup and a club sandwich my 6 years could prepare better. I called to service express and they would try to redo. Redo at midnight, get it right the first time. Then I went to front desk to check out and said I am not paying for that room service. They will look into it! Still on my bill! October 14, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very busy and mediocre Westin. Not a huge SPG recognition I stayed for 3 nights, 2 of which were paid w points. OK I think ALL staff at SPG needs to be inserviced that paying w points does NOT mean we get a free room. They are earned points by staying or paying for points. We are not charity case and I had a strange feeling that had I paid cash, I would get different rooms and different treatment? Anyway huge turn off from the get go. I checked in early and the front desk person tried to find me a room. Well it was not available until 2PM which is one hour before my actual check in time. Still appreciated the effort. The third night I paid w money and no offer to upgrade the room at check out. It is super busy all the time. And seriously NO ONE seemed to be happy working there. No joke! It is close to Grand Central and this hotel is identical to the hectic pace of GC!!! There is really no lobby to speak of. As a SPG gold, I thought I will get at least a couple of water bottles per day. NO SUCH thing. NO room upgrade. Bleh! My dinner got thrown out almost immediately when I left outside my room door to rekey my card as it stopped working. That is efficient! Sosa was very helpful and there was a wonderful bellman outside who was very kind and helpful whose name I did not write down. The rest of the staff was just blah. Seriously they do not look like they want to be there. And who could blame them? Anyway will not stay in in future. The other Westin is a gazillion times better and it is a much bigger hotel in a much busier area. I think this used to be a Hemsley so that may be the reason but it will not be my hotel. October 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice stay I was in NY for a business trip and stayed at this hotel and was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is modern and the room was a nice size. The hotel has a lot of energy and the staff was helpful.The location is great. I would definitely stay here again. October 10, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by New Orleans visits New York! The hotel is in a magnificent location! Even though the room was average, it was comfortable enough for the occasion. We were gone most of the time! Thank you! September 9, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Free Falling Opened the door to my room and my 5 year old ran right to the window. The window was wide open and stuck open. There are no screens or anything to prevent stuff from going out the window. Staff was super slow. Asked for a free breakfast as we spent a lot of money for the week at the hotel. Was told No. Expensive parking. As we were leaving they parked our car next to the building and let us stand there for 30 minutes before we asked where our car was. September 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel for first time visitors to NYC Excellent location for first time visitors to NYC. Room was very comfortable but bathroom was possibly a little in need of an update. Staff is excellent also, friendly, accommodating and efficient. I would recommend and stay again. September 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location, Excellent Hotel and Great Service I have stayed at this hotel about 6 times. All trips have been for pleasure. On this last one I was accompanied by my wife, brother in law, sister in law, and his two kids ages 8 and 18. This is now the only hotel I will stay at for several reasons including, great location for subway, restaurants and sites. The staff was very professional and pleasant. The condition of the hotel was very good and very clean. Another key reason I stay at this hotel is because of the excellent Concierge Service. Sandra is one of the best Concierge's I have ever worked with, this is saying a lot considering I have over 1000 nights at Starwood hotels globally and am a Lifetime Platinum member. The restaurants she recommends always exceed my expectations regardless of the requirements (kids, couples, group, price, food type, etc.). The front desk manager was excellent as well and very warm to myself and family. Keep up the good work. See you in November for another fun experience!!!!! September 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Making Memories Great location and convenient to all that NYC has to offer. Bhumika thank you for assisting me in creating a great experience for my military son. Nice surprise upon arriving back to room after site seeing to a refreshment - thank you Christian Vasquez August 24, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great facilities, great location, dreadful customer service. Oh Westin Grand Central I hate you. Oh but I love you. Never have I had such mixed opinions on a hotel. Similar to other guest reviews my checkin experience was a miserable affair, no greeting, no acknowledgment of my SPG membership and no interaction other than "I need a copy of your license and credit card, you're on the 21st floor" Umm thanks, can you trouble yourself to tell me where the elevators are? The service in the bar isn't much better, maybe it's because I was a woman sitting on her own but I waited for almost 20 minutes for one of the 2 waitstaff to acknowledge me and ask me if I needed a refill on my drink. I can excuse that if they're busy, I got the first drink myself for that very reason but second time around they weren't so busy that the male staff couldn't hang out at the hostess stand for a good 5 mins chatting up a storm. BUT, and it's a big but, shabby customer service aside I loved so much about his hotel, the location is excellent,I got it for a great price with my SPG membership, the room i had was spacious and comfortable with a fabulous view and the bed. That "heavenly" bed may be my favourite thing. So stay here, it really is a great hotel, just don't expect great customer service. August 22, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad check in I was not greeted I was just asked for my ID and credit card check in didn't ask me questions tell me anything about the hotel. She didn't even tell me where my room was or where the elevators were. She just handed my key over. I asked where the room was and where elevator was. Not a good experience. August 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect Location My family had a wonderful time at The Westin. Friendly staff, close to Grand Central, comfortable room. Eve, the concierge, provided excellent service when we had some problems with our return flight information. Highly recommend this hotel. One minor problem: would like free WiFi in room. August 4, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Inattentive Staff i opened the mini fridge in my room to retrieve my complimentary bottle of water, but I found a ziplock bag of grapes where the water belonged. So I called Service Express and they promised to bring my water right away. No one came, so I took the grapes to the front desk and explained what had happened. Again I was promised that water would be delivered to my room. I checked out 24 hours later, still with no water. Horrible service. I've spent over 350 nights in Westin hotels and this is the worst service that I have experienced. I will not be back. July 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reviews are deceiving After reading many of the reviews for this property, my expectations were low. However, I've been pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel for several reasons: 1. The rooms are in excellent condition and appear to be recently refurbished. 2. The staff have been very helpful and accommodating. 3. The location if you need to be in midtown is perfect and surprisingly quiet. 4. Platinum recognition is strong -- there are very suites (less than 10) so they do their best to get me in a corner and since I'm traveling alone for work a suite isn't that big a deal. I'd recommend this hotel as a very strong option from an SPG perspective. July 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by favorite in midtown I stayed here for over a year. It is not perfect but most of the staff are very nice and helpful. I appreciate being recognized at check in and at the breakfast area - kudos to both Erica and Smalls at the front desk who went above and beyond to make me feel welcome. July 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by The front desk staff was remarkable Ms. Pei, at the front desk, went out of her way, and stayed past the end of her shift, to assist me in retrieving theatre tickets that I had inadvertently forgotten at home. She was amazing, and turned a potential disaster into a pleasure! She was great!!!!! July 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel with a terrible parking garage Stay here multiple times. Fantastic hotel in the heart of the city, close to all attractions and great restaurants. Very responsive staff and front desk. The only downside is the very expensive parking ($60/day). If you happen to exceed a day by even 15 minutes they will charge you $60 more and refuse to take it off your bill. Hotel front desk will say the garage is operated independently and they do not have control over them. Avoid parking there if you can. Great experience till you get your car June 29, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never going to stay here again! 1.) Housekeeping staff was terrible. Rooms were only cleaned to the basic extent of the bathroom and the main bed. 2.) One of the days, Feathers (from one of the blankets) had shed. We specifically called up and told housekeeping to clean the same and thereafter left the room for the day. Inspite of this when we returned to the room in the evening, feathers were visible all over the living room and sofa. Only after another complaint, did housekeeping clean this up the next day. 3.) Room Service breakfast was ordered one morning. On leaving the room for the day, I called and requested the same to be cleared. When we returned back to the room (around 5pm), the food trolley with the breakfast was still lying in the room. We wheeled the trolley out of the room and once again called room service to clear it and thereafter left the room for dinner. Once we got back later that night, the food trolley was still lying outside the room! Once again I had to call guest services and only then was it finally cleared. 4.) On one of the days, we came back to our room to find House keeping’s yellow gloves left in our bathroom tub 5.) Inspite of the room being prepaid for 100% in advance, my credit card was charged for room night charges June 25, 2015
  • 2016-02-12 T06:14:49.490-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_716, tr_716
  • loc_en_US, sid_3789, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 25 next>>