The Westin New York Grand Central

  • 212 East 42nd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10017
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 693 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Valet Parking Was charged double for valet parking because my stay exceeded 24 hours. We arrived early for an event and were offered late check out the following day. Never was I informed parking is based hourly and I would be charged $120 to valet for a one night stay. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Visited with Family Given all the past reviews of many SPG properties in Manhattan, I was keeping my expectations in check. However, I was very pleased with my experience (even though the front of the hotel seems to be under construction), and Mr Smalls was very helpful during the check-in. Lastly, my status was acknowledged and rewarded appropriately. April 8, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst stay in new york ever We usually stay at the westin times square, but decided to experiment, what a mistake! the windows and doors did not prevent noise and we had the worst night of sleep ever. sirens, ice machine, unknown machine sounds. never had this problem at other nyc hotels or in times square! would not stay here again. front desk person did not ask me how my stay was, so i didn't bother telling him. March 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous stay at The Westin Grand Central I was so impressed with The Westin Grand Central. Not only was I there for a work meeting, but I made my work trip into a vacation with my mom and stayed at The Westin Grand Central for a couple of extra days. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel! The location is prime. Walking distance to all of the hot spots. The concierge was fantastic and never steered us wrong. They even sent us complimentary champagne to one of the restaurants we went to! We were very impressed. Loida, who worked at the front/check-in desk was outstanding. Within 5 minutes of arriving on The Westin Grand Central property she was already calling my mom and I by our first names and was very friendly. She helped us check out at the end of our stay and followed up on a question that we had asked her previously, to make sure that we were taken care of. Earlier that day we had asked her where we could find a luggage store since I needed an extra bag to take home all of my NYC purchases. At the end of the day, when we were checking out she followed up and even helped me cut the tags out of my new items. She was outstanding! The group who worked with us for the meeting were very attentive. Everything was where it needed to be when it needed to be there. I was very impressed and would be happy to stay at The Westin Grand Central again any time! March 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Option in midtown If you are coming for business near midtown (United Nations / Grand Central) this is a good place to stay. Completely refurbished and with very clean rooms. Its your typical Westin. The staff is friendly but expect NY attitude. I asked for my bag to be delivered to my room while I went out for dinner and the bellman didn't do it as he was expecting me to provide a tip up-front. If you are coming for business its a great option. Its a matter of the rate. If its for leisure you might have better cheaper options around. March 20, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by The staff is rude The staff is inconsiderate. We checked in and were told to wait for a couple of hours for the room. Five minutes later, when we checked in with another person, we were assigned a room! Clearly there were rooms available and the first person we spoke to was just being weird. Outside the hotel, when we asked for a cab, that person was dismissive. We obviously did not tip him considering his behavior. I was really disappointed with the overall attitude of staff at this hotel. March 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location, but bathroom lights made me feel like I was having a seizure Stayed at the Westin Grand Central for one night while in town for a friend's bachelorette party. The location was good for what we were doing as it was centrally located to our planned activities. Valets were not terribly friendly or attentive. They constantly needed to be flagged down instead of being attentive and ready to help you. Room was clean...couldn't seem to find a clock in it. My major issue was with the lighting in the bathroom. It was so bright, the level of what you would typically see around a small makeup mirror, but around the entire large mirror on the wall. I could barely stand to be in there at any time. It truly made me feel like I was having a seizure. I hope there can be some adjustments as this would honestly prevent me from staying there again. March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Stay at the Westin Grand Central I can't say enough about what a wonderful stay we had at the Westin Grande Central. I was traveling alone with my two young children and the staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. They ensured that we had connecting rooms, something many hotels will not guarantee. They said hello to my children each time we entered and exited the lobby. The Doorman found us cars/cabs with little to no wait. The front desk was simply wonderful. And the rooms are like new. This is now my top Starwood property in NYC after this stay.. March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Grand Central - great location, wonderful staff My wife and I recently enjoyed a 3 night weekend stay at the Westin Grand Central. This was our second stay at the hotel (having previously visited it 4 years ago) and we were delighted by the improvements made during its recent renovation. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable (we stayed on the 24th floor and had a spectacular view of the Empire State Building). We were warmly greeted by Kenneth at the front desk, who went above and beyond to make our stay memorable and relaxing (please extend our great thanks to him for his efforts). The location, just a few blocks from Grand Central, is perfect for easy movement around Manhattan, but a comfortable distance from the immediate hustle and bustle of the transit hub. Perfect spot for a weekend getaway or business travel. February 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room's larger than expected The rooms are much larger than expected for NYC! I'd definitely stay there again! February 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sales Manager great location, great views, heavenly bed, nice staff especially Dave Locke, he is wonderful. Will come again and tell friends!! February 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Catching the siberian express from Westin Grand Central The cold snap roared into NYC about the same time we did. Travelling with 2 young kids, I was glad that the Westin was a very short walk from Grand Central station, extremely manageable even with kids and luggage. As it was a redemption, I wasn't expecting a great room, and just as well that my expectations were pretty low. I was allocated a room on the 6th floor and the adjoining rooms were used as conference rooms for the NBA all star event that weekend. I had previously been allocated a high floor room and the view was wonderful. No luck this time... The check-in experience and the room itself was fine and everything was as it should be. During my stay, I had misplaced my gym clothes and the housekeeping staff went to great lengths to try to locate it. When they couldn't, the even offered to replace free of charge. I did not take up the offer and finally found my stuff in my shoe bag. Great service and many thanks for all your efforts! Overall, no complaints and I would certainly stay there again due to the friendly staff and the super location of the hotel - really useful when average daily temps were no higher than 20s! February 22, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unreliable for business travel Wifi connection was basically unusable. Coffee maker plugged into broken outlet. Alarm clock broken. February 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Service, Decent Location, Amazing Gym I really liked staying here during the US Open for Tennis. Tons of tennis themes going on with giant tennis balls everywhere. Brought life to the hotel. The rooms were on par with other Westins a surprisingly big for a NYC hotel. They were clean, cleaned daily, and smelled fresh (surprisingly some SPG hotels have some funky smell). Now, the gym was the highlight. Huge gym with a ton of equipment and weights. It was clean, had ample water and apples, and two TVs. This is one of the best SPG gyms I have been to, if not the best. It was twice as large as any other SPG gym I have seen in NYC, which is impressive. I'd say this is my #2 hotel to stay at in NYC of all the SPG properties, which means a lot. February 19, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Awful Customer Service I've stayed at this property several times and have been repeatedly turned off by the customer service provided. Despite these experiences I've continued to book this hotel 20-25 nights/month because of the convenient location, however my last two experiences have seen an end to that. I am a rather petite female and was traveling with two rather large suitcases. When I arrived, there were no bellman outside to offer assistance so I brought them inside myself (clearly struggling) only to find three bellman standing inside by the door talking with one another. When I walked inside they glanced at me, then continued their conversation. I proceeded to the check in desk and was met by Maki who kindly greeted me and checked me in. Once I was checked in I asked Maki for assistance in bringing my luggage up to the room. She happily obliged and asked one of bellman to help. As soon as we reached the elevator bay I realized I didn't have cash to tip him. I apologized, explained myself, and offered to take my bags up myself. He immediately stopped walking, let go of my luggage and walked away visibly irritated without so much as a word. I would have completely understood if he'd have politely helped me into the elevator and left it at that, but his reaction was, in my opinion, completely unacceptable. Disclaimer: I spend a vast majority of my time traveling in and out of hotels in the NY area so maybe I've become a bit of a service snob, but I found this behavior to be inexcusable. On a separate occasion, I'd arranged to leave a bag overnight with hotel for the weekend in between two of my weekly reservations. I was made very aware of the fact that this was an exception to their 'no luggage storage' policy, and openly expressed my thanks. When I returned to retrieve my bag and check back in, I was met with an almost hostile attitude from the bellman. I let him know that 'd stored a bag overnight at the hotel and wanted to retrieve it, and he told me that they didn't have my luggage because they 'didnt hold bags overnight', and turned the other way as if to dismiss me. When I explained that there had been an exception made, he continued to tell me that they didn't store luggage so I must be mistaken. I told him that I didn't know what to say, and that my bags should be there and asked him to check to be sure. He then asked me for the name of the person who made the exception, and whether I knew where they'd put my bag because they 'never do this'. I told him I didn't remember the name of the individual and that I didn't know where it'd been put. He then asked me for a luggage tag and I told him I hadn't received one. He then threw up his hands and loudly ordered me to follow him to the storage area to get my bag as if I'd done something wrong and needed to be scolded for it. By this time other guest in the lobby were starring. When we got to the luggage storage area he swung the door open, pointed to the bags inside, said 'take your pick!', and walked out. If the customer services issues weren't enough, the complete disregard for the security of guests' belongings certainly was. The entire interaction left me speechless and thoroughly humiliated. These two incidents coupled with little things like not being greeted when you enter the hotel, or front desk staff refusing to make eye contact while checking you in, have made sure that I'll be bringing my (frequent) business elsewhere. February 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff The last time I stayed at this hotel was still called "New York Helmsley". I have wonderful memories with my parents from Japan. As I stepped in, I felt sad to see the piano bar has been removed... However, my son and I were greeted by the familiar faces from old days and we immediately felt we were welcomed again and our stay was very comfortable. I have recommended to my friends in publicity in France right away. We pop in NY often and this hotel now is on my list to stay again. Thank you for giving us a good quality. February 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overnight in NYC the easy way Excellent location. We took the train to Grand Central Terminal so the Westin was only 3 blocks away. We checked in, dropped off our bag and went out for dinner followed by a ballet. Comfortable, quiet room. Great night's sleep. February 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another fabulous stay at the Westin Grand Central Out of the hundreds of hotels to choose from in NYC, we decided to book the WGC (again), but this time for my sister’s 30th birthday… and I am glad we did! Hotel staff from check-in, to the concierge, to the nice gentleman who delivered champagne glasses to our room were spectacular. We were 6 people, staying in 3 different rooms, and the hotel staff were nice enough to put us all on the same floor. They were also super helpful with the last minute birthday candle, cutting knife and serving plates for the cake and suggestions for the last minute balloons! Rooms were classic Westin rooms – modern and clean, and the bed was super dreamy (we passed out instantly every time our heads hit the pillow!). The hotel is also about a 15 min walk from Times Square, and a 5 min walk from Grand Central Station and the Chrysler building. It's well-located for most of the midtown sites, and very close to the subway if you are headed downtown. Thank you very much to the staff for making our stay seamless and stressfree! Happy travels! February 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice Although there was much construction out front, our stay was great. We will definitely stay again. January 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great stay. Stayed one night on a spur of the moment visit to NYC. Front desk staff was outstanding. As a SPG member, made to feel welcome. Rooms were nicely appointed, clean and the fitness center outstanding. Drinks at the lovely bar made the stay even more memorable. A great Westin experience. December 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Christmas Weekend I was a little concerned based on some prior reviews however this hotel more than met my expectations. We had a very friendly front desk staff member that searched for a room with a view without asking and she acknowledged my platinum status. The room was clean, updated, and a decent size for NYC. The staff was very friendly and helpful. December 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Is this an SPG Hotel? We live in the NY metropolitan area (40 min by Metro North), a few times a year we like to come and spend the night in a hotel. We've always loved the SPG chain for it's great costumer service, nice comfortable rooms, hospitality and family feeling. We even celebrated our sons wedding at a Westin in Ohio. Unfortunately, this is the second time we stay at this one and the second time we have problems. We got to the hotel at 2 pm and were told that we needed to wait until 3 to get our room. We understood their policy and decided to go out for a while. We came back at 5 and when we asked for our room the receptionist seemed very confused and uneasy. She said she would go upstairs herself to check on our room. We waited almost a ½ hour and she finally said the room wasn't available but she would give us someone else's room. She said she would give us a breakfast voucher to make up for the confusion. We thought maybe she would offer an up grade which we are entitled to since we are gold members. The next day we went to breakfast and were told that those vouchers were only for coffee, a piece of bread and juice. We told the receptionist we wanted to add to that eggs etc. She told us we couldn't since one side of the restaurant was a la carte and we couldn't bring our other breakfast in. It was one or the other but not both. Very confusing!!!At this time, quite hungry, I was very upset and went to the front desk to complain, telling them the terrible experience we had had so far. Bernardo, who knew us from last visit and the day before when we checked in offered us a full breakfast and internet (just for one day, though). We knew Bernardo from the last time when we also had similar problems. At check in we were also given a drink voucher, we ordered a Chardonnay and it was terrible. Does this mean SPG is going downhill, or is it just this one on 42nd St. ? Another problem with breakfast: I asked for a small pitcher of hot milk and they weren't able to get it right after asking 4 times for it. The food was bland, cold syrup (even though it was free). Regarding the cafe con leche (hot milk) he waitress looked at me as if I had just asked for caviar or I don't know what. They said hotel was recently renovated: my opinion is that's very dated. There's mildew in the shower area, the heater was too hot but couldn't be adjusted. I asked for a lighter blanket and they said they didn't have one, there were amenities missing from the room, no complimentary water, the only available restaurant is dark and furniture is beat up. We will certainly not stay here again. December 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Far From the Madding Crowd You won't be blown away by the spartan lobby -- you may not even realize you're there other than for the check in process -- but count that as one more reason to book your NYC stay at the Westin Grand Central. Zip straight to the elevators and on to the comfort of your spacious and well appointed room, and enjoy the relaxing and restful vibe so characteristic of the Starwood brand. We arrived in NYC on SantaCon "parade" day, and couldn't have been happier our hotel was "far from the madding crowd" and away from the noise of Times Square, where ordinary citizens were outnumbered at least ten to one by all manner of Mr. and Mrs. Claus and Elves. (Lesson Learned: At all costs avoid NYC on this day, or come dressed in red pajamas, and wearing a pointy red cap...) In any event, you can grab a cab to anywhere you want to go, returning with the blissful knowledge that you won't have to fight the throngs of tourists (and Santas) when you come crawling back to your heavenly bed. Also, not to shortchange the property when it comes to the human element, the service was top notch, professional and friendly. Our check in was a breeze, and although we were a bit late checking out (blame the horrible traffic and lousy cab driver), they were kind enough to allow it without any additional charges, one of the perks of Starwood loyalty recognition. December 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't stay here if you are Elite Member Where do i begin? Rude @ check in. Gave me key to an OCCUPIED ROOM! Had to go back down & get reassigned. I'm Platinum but they argued w/me about giving me an extra bottle of water for my room! Cleaned room even though I had do not disturb on door. When they did "clean" it they didn't vacuum obvious crumbs all over the floor. No robe (empty hangar with note referencing the robe) & no plastic laundry bag in room even though there was supposed to be one. Room service order was wrong. Don't even give Platinum member a complementary cup of coffee let alone breakfast. Don't stay here if you are an elite member. They do not appreciate you. December 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Front of the house staff needs better coordination The hotel is perfectly situated near Grand Central station and the many wonderful shopping and dining places in Midtown. Sandy from concierge gave us a really good recommendation for a sushi place - we loved Tsushimi. Room service was prompt and the charcuterie appeased my snacking need while we lazed around on a Sunday afternoon. If I can suggest one thing, it would be to have the front of the house staff work together a little more. In my situation, I left my phone in an Uber car and was able to get the driver to drop my phone off at the hotel with the front desk. I spoke with the concierge on duty - Eve, and the front desk folks that the driver would be dropping off my phone and left an envelope for the driver as a thank you. What then occurred feels like a comedy of errors. The driver left the phone with security within a couple of hours of dropping me off and unfortunately security never told anyone. We spent the night trying to call my phone and calling the driver. We finally got a hold of the driver the following day and he told us that he had already left the phone with security the previous night. We called Service Express and they tracked my phone down and had Security deliver it to my room. Then concierge called to follow-up on my request asking if I'd heard back from the driver and if my phone was already dropped off. I then explained that Security already dropped my phone off, etc. Everything felt disjointed. December 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel, but non-responsive For a member that brags on the SPG collection and to have a large amount held for incidentals on a stay where I used Star Points for a night, is unheard of. I have not been contacted or compensated for the inconvenience of the Hotels mistake and I have not gotten a response back from the General Manager, Colleen Senters, after leaving a voicemail message with her concerning this issue a couple of days ago. Clearly they are showing me that my loyalty to them is not very important. Very disappointed in this hotels response to their error! December 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Grand Central The hotel is about a block from Grand Central. The property is modern, rooms are spacious for NYC. I loved the dual detachable and rain shower head. The fitness facilities open 24 hrs/day was clean with modern equipment. Pei at the front desk/check in area was especially helpful, welcoming, and courteous. December 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Need to improve quality of service *No one pick up a phone for services (message only) *Even when picked up by operator is not friendly *Everyone too busy to fulfill guest's satisfaction *Restaurant service extremely poor. *I was awarded free breakfast as a platinum member but no waiter explained properly how I can use it (Showed up early at 6 am) *Under this situation waiter was treating me like as an idiot and was not a good experience. *Waiter & Waitress was holding their hands and flirting with each other. *Totally unacceptable December 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Over the Top Service I mistakenly booked the prior week. so there was no reservation. ARGGH! The check-in staff (Alex and her co-worker) were amazingly kind and friendly and helpful. They were able to get us a top floor with an amazing view. These two people did an awful lot to neutralize a tense situation. They explained what we needed to do to get a room, in a way that put our personal interests first, and they were funny and professional too. November 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by I do not recommend this hotel I've stayed here twice now - the first time I stayed here, housekeeping left my door open - serious security issue! The hotel did deal with it, but I did not feel comfortable staying here for the rest of my stay. I just ensured that housekeeping not enter my room for the rest of the stay. Note that the hotel was under construction during this time, so I decided to give them another try for my next stay. The next time I stayed here, I was over-charged and the hotel (also spoke with the billing department) would not refund me the difference. I am a Platinum customer, and have never disputed a charge before. I was not treated as I should have been. I would not stay here again and will not recommend this hotel to any of my friends. November 29, 2014
  • 2015-10-12T06:11:41.327-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_693, tr_693
  • loc_en_US, sid_3789, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 24 next>>