The Westin New York Grand Central

  • 212 East 42nd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10017
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 686 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really friendly and welcoming staff. Great hotel. Front desk staff and bellstaff went out of their way to make me feel welcome. Very nice restaurant, clean and spacious rooms. February 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disapointed with my last stay At check in my reservation was not in the hotel system despite the fact that I had received a confirmation & confirmation number from the hotel. Reception staff needs training on how to handle the situation, instead of apologizing for the mistake the staff was questionning me like if it was my own fault Finaling got a room - no water, no robe, no preferred guest amenities Towels were smelly from over drying Ice machine on my floor not working February 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Staff do not care Checkin was a disaster and we did not get our room until 6.30pm even though we are both platinum spg members. Staff did not care and the apology given was totally insincere. February 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pleasant Stay I had a pleasant stay at this hotel. Of all the SPG hotel, I stay at Westin the most for a reason. It is usually the most comfortable for the money I paid for. February 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding staff! I can't say enough good things about the staff of the Westin Grand Central - from before my check in through check out, the hotel staff was just superb: helpful, cheerful, attentive, professional, and a great attitude throughout. Special kudos to Stephanie, the hotel's "Experience Specialist," who went out of her to ensure that my every need was met - she was absolutely terrific in every way! My only suggestion: put in a Club Lounge for SPG preferred members. February 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good location but... I come to NY about 6 times per year and always with a group. We usually stay at the Westin Times Square but decided to switch it up and try grand central. We are all so disappointed. There are 10 of us and over dinner, we all compared stories about something wrong with each of our rooms. Overall the rooms seem to lack the level of cleanliness we are accustomed to. My room has a terrible odor, and a few of my colleagues said their room smells of smoke. This does not feel like a Westin. February 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by staff exceed expectations I lost a luggage between the airline, airport and delivery service and the concierge, Ms. Moreno, went out of her way to help me get my luggage back (which had been delivered to another hotel but which the delivery company insisted had been delivered to me). It was a day long process but she did not give up and provided an excellent customer service for which I am grateful. February 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Love the location but not quite impressed about the associate. Was staying for Superbowl weekend, Jan 29 - Feb 3, 2014. My stay overall was wonderful, the room was big enough for New York standard hotels but was not really pleasant with most of the associates in front desk and lobby. I agreed with most of the reviewers here about how poor customer service skills from front desk and the greeter associates in the lobby. The greeters should have a friendly smile and willingness to help in any way would go a long way with hotel guests entering the lobby, instead, most of them was just talking each other and careless about guests walking to lobby without smile or even bother saying "Good afternoon, Welcome to Westin Grand Central New York". Also my friends and I realized that the greeters was looking up at us from head to toe and judge us from our appearance every time we walked in or out the lobby without smile and without greeting us at all, Maybe because of my race? I believe every guest staying in Westin hotels or with any Starwoods Hotels & Resorts deserve to receive an EQUAL service level from the hotel, regardless of their appearance, race, age, sx orientation and religion For Westin Grand Central New York GM : Please watch surveillance camera periodically in the main lobby, and please pay attention to the greeter and front desk staffs, you will find out why most of SPG elite members staying in your hotel complaining for. Also, I hope your hotel participate for Make a Green Choice Program soon to save our environment. February 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for business travelers First of all, it’s not really near the Grand Central, it’s about two blocks away. The nearest subway station is about one block away. The location is a little bit remote (just comparatively, it’s still in Midtown Manhattan after all!). There is no free wifi in the room, lot of people sit in the lobby to use the internet. We had a street-side room with a view of the Chrysler building. Although it was near the street, It wasn't noisy in the morning, or at night. We had pretty good sleep. The most impressive feature is the white tea aloe shampoo and body wash in the bathroom. I still can’t forget the scent. I am going to buy them when I get home. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent location near Grand Central Station Recently visited this property in November. The property and decor was nice. My only suggestion is that you request a room with a view if available. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great view We had a awesome room with a great view of the city, and best of all the location was right down the block of timesquare. The room was very clean and quiet…I would stay there anytime again. January 26, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Spotty This past week I experienced two days of cold water and a poorly stocked room. The facility is falling down on the little things such as restocking tea and coffee, shower caps etc and at this location it was not the first time. The most concerning was not having hot water to shower for two days las t week. January 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel! Crummy restaurant Hotel staff were friendly. Rooms were spacious and well-appointed. All was well with my stay with two exceptions: 1. The wireless internet was down for several hours hotel-wide. 2. I ordered room service. The salad was very expensive and smothered in dressing. The accompanying rolls were stale. We tried it again for breakfast, and we ended up sending back the orange juice for weird taste and the potatoes that came with my eggs were raw. So ... do stay at the hotel but get your meals elsewhere. January 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Facilities...but So how does a Westin Hotel have no SPG check-in. No Sign, No Recognition, just a long line to wait in to check in. Very Disappointing from this SPG Lifetime Platinum Customer. On the upside, the hotel was very nice. Room was very comfortable, bed was great, Bathroom very nice. Even allowing for the "New York" that comes out in some folk in NY, the staff starting with the front desk was very kurt, short, not quite rude but close. Clearly they had something more important than me to deal with and I wasting their time. Overall A great location and good hotel. Get the staff some training and get an SPG checkin line and this would have been a five star stay. January 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Front Desk Front Desk staff need to work on their customer service skills. A friendly smile and willingness to help in any way would go a long way with your clients. January 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent solution in NY Spent one night beginning 2013 for business and decided to spend once again a 4 days stay in November with my wife. Great location if you like the upper part of Manhattan (Times Square, shopping on 5th av, Lexington Av,….). Staff REALLY cares for you! Beautiful modern room (seemed to be just refurbished) with unique view on the Chrysler building. Very clean and nice bathroom. I enjoyed my stay there !!!! January 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is perfect location for tourist Westin 42nd & Third has all the services and amenities one would expect from a hotel. The location is close to many of the city transportation hubs. A good clean quiet environment is important to me. i would recommend for business or pleasure to my colleagues and friends. January 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location and staff. The proximity to Grand Central Terminal makes this a very convenient hotel. The staff is always very friendly and the hotel is clean and comfortable. January 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Business Hotel The location is very convenient, and the overall facility is quite nice. The lobby feels a little cramped for a hotel of its size, but that's not really an issue unless you're trying to move through during busy check-in/out times. The rooms feel extremely new and clean, and are actually quite large compared to other hotels I've stayed at in Manhattan (although it's possible I had an upgraded room, I don't believe so). The front desk didn't say anything about my Gold status, or ask about my amenity (although I did get a 250 point bonus). The restaurant was overall good (although a burger I ordered to be medium was actually pretty rare in the middle and so I didn't finish it). The beer on tap wasn't working when I ordered at the bar, and the bartender fiddling with it actually sprayed beer on my iPad, but I know it was an accident and it was not damaged so I didn't make a big deal out of it. Overall, good hotel and I'll probably stay there again when I have business in midtown. January 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mostly new I was really impressed with the room after entering - did a quick walk through and I finally looked in the bathroom - I was shocked - they spent some good money making this Westin nearly emmaculate - but the tub wasn't touched - it is still really well aged with the old tile. Maybe this will be a phase two renovation and it will be an all glass shower? January 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Attitude Least impressive Westin we've ever stayed at. Every single staff member we interacted with seemed like they were bothered to serve guests. ie: concierge that just pointed to the front desk when asked a question, then back to chatting with another staff member...the front desk person who motions you to wait a la a comedy sketch, even though no one else is in line. Rude and haughty attitude. Maybe we just came on a bad night. Should there ever be a bad night at a Westin? January 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Holiday Weekend Stay My partner and I stayed at the Westin Grand Central during the weekend between Christmas and New Year's Eve. As you can imagine, the hotel was extremely crowded but the staff handled things well. My only disappointment was that our room wasn't ready when we checked in just before 3PM - I expect a little better as a platinum member. We were eventually upgraded to a corner room which was nice. Facility was spotless and very well kept. January 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hits and misses I've spent over 20 nights at this hotel over the past three months. While it's been recently renovated with updated rooms and fitness center, there are a few things that the hotel just doesn't get right. First, the staff is very hit or miss (even for NY). For example, I arrived around noon last week and was told that there was a surcharge for early check in even though the hotel was not full...even for a Platinum Ambassador guest! I inquired about Your24 and they said I would have had to contacted the hotel in advance. The woman who assisted me was rude and curtly said I could check my bad with the valet. Second, do not waste your money on room service. The food is nearly inedible...inconsistently prepared. I've had meals burned to a crisp and burgers that were almost frozen on the inside. Finally, while the interior has been updated, there are several rooms where the windows do not fully close allowing cold air and noise from the streets below. I'm an SPG loyalist so I choose to stay here due to location and the fitness center. That said, I'm consistently disappointed with my experience. January 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel; not a completely clean room My recent stay at the Westin Grand Central created a number of both positive and negative impressions. On the positive side: - the room was quiet - the bed was comfortable - the restaurant attached to the hotel was good - the staff was helpful On the negative side: - the room was not completely clean, there were crumbs under the glass of the snack display, some sort of pumice was sprinkled over the sink counter in the bathroom, and the lampshade near the chair had coffee stains. Moreover, the remake of the bed for my second night was sloppy. - SPG has, it appears, deleted all my old points. Granted I have not stayed at an SPG property in a while, but I did have quite a few points. I would try the hotel again if I ever need to be in mid-town on the east side. I liked it better than 6 Columbus over on the west side of mid-town. But the room really could be cleaner and better maintained. January 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent hotel I would recommend this property to anyone excellent hotel brilliant service great staff that is pending on all needs. Location is also good. January 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Better Value in NYC Did not have room ready when arrived, had downgraded room available at 8pm at night. Not something good for a family. Facility is good, just don't expect timely service. January 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by letter to the GM of the Westin Grand Central, NYC December 7, 2013 General Manager Westin New York Grand Central 212 East 42nd Street New York, New York We have stayed at your hotel many times and have always had a positive experience. Over this past Thanksgiving week and weekend, we received service from your staff that was above and beyond what we would expect. Despite the busy holiday season, Sandra and the rest of the concierge staff assisted us in locating a place for our family photo shoot within the facility. We had only one hour on one day when everyone would be together from out of town. Belco at the front desk greeted us by name each evening and engaged us in warm conversation about our day. She made us feel like we were part of the family. The staff in the LCL also went out of their way to provide a very positive experience. Your staff deserves recognition and thanks for their excellent customer service during the busy holiday season. January 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience We arrived early, without even asking they allowed us to check in to the room and to top it all off they allowed us a delayed check out due to our delayed flight. Very pleased January 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Stay I did not expect much after reading the comments from TA. However, the service provided by Westin GC was impeccable. I'm totally giving them a five star. Subway is just across the street, prime location. January 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by The world's worst CheckIn staff If you have the chance, you MUST ask to be checked in by Alfonso, in my view as a platinum member, possibly the world's worst reservation staff I have ever met. Then you should meet the bell boys loitering around the lobby. Gave me such a creepy feeling as if I was in an unsafe place. I'm staying here just for one nite. If anything happens to me at least this review is out there. Scary people. January 3, 2014
  • 2015-08-30T08:48:48.705-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-11, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_686, tr_686
  • loc_en_US, sid_3789, prod, sort_default
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 24 next>>