The Westin New York Grand Central

  • 212 East 42nd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10017
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 642 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Renovated I stayed at this hotel when it was under renovation and the experience was disappointing, however, this July it was much better. The lobby and restaurant are nice, the rooms up to Westin standards. Love the proximity to Grand Central, it's a great hotel if you have plans on the East Side of Manhattan. September 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel was clean and spacious Our stay was 5 days. We were able to check in early and the room was clean and spacious. The bedding was very comfortable and the bathroom was spa-like. We had an excellent sleep all nights. The hotel staff was very courteous. We did have one issue with housekeeping - we were out for the day and did not have our room serviced. We called and asked that it be servied between 9 and 10pm while we were at dinner. We arrived back at the hotel at 1130pm with a sleeping one year old to to find our room in the middle of being serviced. Housekeeping apologized for the inconvenience and we mentioned it to the staff. It did not happen again. September 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another good stay another good stay - strong support and comfortable rooms September 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Grand Central We had an excellent stay at the Westin. Love the location, very nice staff. Upgraded to a corner room with a beautiful and unobstructed view of the Empire State Bldg - beautiful at night! September 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay Perfect Location!! When we arrived to check in there were no lines and we were immediately checked in. We asked if there was any chance for an upgrade and we were upgraded to a better King room. During our stay Franz the entire concierge staff was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. The Westin Grand Central had a perfect location for anything we wanted to do in the city. When we checked out there were some incorrect mini bar chanrges that we promptly removed without issue. I would recommend The Westin Grand Central to anyone travelling to New York the staff was extremely friendly and always helpful!! September 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing Service Great location. Nice, good size rooms. Third time I stay there. Service was very lacking. Too few staff at front desk. Long line and nobody cared. One concierge only who took long lunch breaks and no one left to assist you. Bag storage guys were not very service oriented, Very dissapointed with overall service. September 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Significantly Better Than Anticipated I was very concerned when I read reviews on Yelp dated mid 2012 through Spring 2013. Our stay was problem free. The staff was professional, well trained and friendly. Facility was spotless. August 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sad and worn The wall covering peeling in the bathroom, the grout old and cracked. Outdated decor. Slow elevators. Not what I expected from a Westin August 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Location, Nice hotel Checked in late and was upgraded to a corner suite, which was a pleasant surprise. Room was nice and clean and quiet, bed was comfortable, however, housekeeping did not replenish coffee cups or drinking glasses for 2 days, finally had to put a call into housekeeping. Restaurant was very expensive $33 for 2 glasses of wine!! Breakfast for 2 $50 (0atmeal, toast and coffee). We found the deli next door served breakfast for a whole lot less and the food was always fresh. Overall, we had a pleasant stay and would recommend this hotel. August 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel is very conveniently located Hotel is one block from Grand Central Station and is very convenient for touring. It only takes minutes to commute to Uptown, Downtown and to Long Island from this location. Hotel was clean, service was good and gym was adequately sized for the hotel population. We had a great stay! August 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ultimate stay! By far- the best place to stay in Manhattan! A five star experience for a terrific value. We were on the 32nd floor, so noise was minimal. Staff was suburb, location was perfect for exploring the city by either walking, subway or cabs, room quality and amenities exceeded my expectations. They just make it easy. Quick check in and check out- with an emailed receipt; it's perfect! August 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Clean hotel I love walking into the Westin because it has such a clean and fresh flower smell. Staff were welcoming, friendly and professional. I was in NY for business and this hotel had easy access to subway, food, and not far from Time Square. August 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty good stay The hotel was beautiful and facilities were great. The front desk staff were fast in getting us to a room with a great view. The bed was my favorite thing about the hotel...I slept like a BABY. Wesin is close to everything. I'm notorious for ordering room service when I don't feel like leaving but it was really overpriced. Luckily Westin is located near tons of restaurants so we eliminated having to eat there. My biggest issue was that the shower curtain REEKED of mildew and the entire bathroom smelled terrible. We were never in the room for long so I kept forgetting to ask them to replace it...but I was hoping the housekeeping staff would have noticed the horrible smell and changed it out themselves. One time the housekeeper followed me down the hallway when I was running late to tell me to take the Do not disturb sign off the door. My boyfriend was still in the room and I told her repeatedly that someone else was in there and to ask them but she followed me to the elevator to tell me to take it off even after I told her I was late. I'm not sure she understood what I was saying or cared about anything more than checking our room off of her list, so I eventually went back and did it myself. I was really annoyed with that. Other than those things the hotel more than met our needs. August 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel, decent service Gorgeous lobby, pretty good value for money, a bit far of a walk from my office or else I'd stay here more! Generally pretty good stay August 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Housekeeping Problems Our bathtub was not cleaned for the previous day. The towels are old and should be checked for stains. I'm not sure if the management does check behind the cleaning staff but if so, the standards are too low for a property of this type, August 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Housekeeping fail The shame is the hotel is pretty nice, but housekeeping was awful and I had to call like six times. I stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks, so I thought the hotel would have done a little more to make sure my room was clean, but it was the opposite. They took my bathroom wastebasket and bathmat and it took 2 days to get them replaced. Someone used one of the glasses in my room. I had 2 bathrobes when I checked in and instead of replacing the one that was used, they took it and used the second one. I called to request that I again have 2 and while they did send another up, they took the first one.. And around we went. My safe was locked when I checked in and it took 2 calls and 2 days to get this fixed. My AC was broken when I checked in an my mini bar was locked. Hot and sober. Last but not least, I decided to splurge and take a Voss from the fridge. It was already opened. August 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Early check in The extremely kind and efficient lady at the front desk, Lilly, went out of her way to accommodate, ( our earlier), request for an early check in time for health reasons. My son has Cystic Fibrosis and needed to do a breathing treatment upon arriving to the hotel before we set out to explore the city. I hope that you will recognize Lilly, as being an exceptional employee, as this guest really feels that she is August 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing hospitality! The hotel staff is amazing. We have a 2 year old daughter and all the staff at the hotel was friendly to her, giving her toys and coloring books, trying to make her laugh, etc. The room was excellent, they brought us a complimentary crib and a fridge for our milk and baby food. I'll definitely be coming back here again. August 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel We spent 8 nights in this hotel. The people who work in the hotel are very friendly. The people at the check in desk could not be nicer. The rooms are spotlessly clean. We like to sleep with our room cold and the airconditioning in this hotel is the best that we have ever encountered. It has wonderful beds as well. The only negative is that the restaurant is a little bit disappointing. There are plenty of great restaurants close by. August 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Grand and Central We are very glad we chose this location for our stay in New York City. Having Grand Central Station a couple blocks away made it simple to connect to every place we wanted to see. The rooms are good size for NYC. Sure there is a little traffic noise but we slept great! Super clean and comfortable as expected. I still miss our incredible view of the Chrysler Building. August 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great stay Great location, great room, helpful and knowledgable staff. Only negative was that the wifi is not free in the rooms which I found an inconvenience as I (and everyone else) would converge into the lobby at all hours of the day and night to use our mobile devices. Will definitely return and this may become my new hotel of choice. August 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty Good Nice facility, good service and great location. Only improvement needed is attention to detail. Our bathroom smelled of old towels. it could have been the shower curtain. We asked housekeeping to clean more thoroughly (with a big tip) but the smell lingered. Otherwise good value. August 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful hotel, great stay! The hotel/room was beautiful and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. We had to make a special request for an early check-in time, and although it couldn't be guaranteed the staff did everything possible to meet our needs. August 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 Room package I booked a room packagage incluiding breakfast and I have to stop two times at the front desk to correct my statement since I got the breakfast billed two times. August 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fire Alarm It was a fine stay (only one night) but as we were leaving in the morning to get breakfast, the fire alarm went off and we had to walk down 37 flights of stairs in order to get out. i understand safety, but I found this very frustrating. My legs are still killing me, three days later. August 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Clean, quiet, quick, courteous check-in Good location: close enough to walk to Times Square but away from the big crowds. Close to Grand Central. Quiet, clean, pleasant check-in staff. August 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by TV TV was not working; of course thing break or are faulty but what was surprising was no one showed up for over 90 mins to try to remedy the situation August 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good overall On the plus side: staff very polite and helpful, room clean, good (if a little expensive) breakfast, good position for attractions of NYC. On the negative: wi-fi should be free for non business bookings - you need access to info when unfamiliar with NYC. More large towels when 4 sharing a room - this would be easily put right by letting cleaners know so they can provide appropriate numbers. August 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great choice at East side. We spent our July 4th at NYC, both my sister's family and my family chose this hotel because of the great location, clean and comfortable linen, bed and pillows. Front desk was helpful and nice. Close to most of the tourism points. Walking distance to Empire State, Grand Central, Library, 5th avenue, Broadway and East river. Convenient access to subway, bus and taxi. Just next to the hotel you can have a great breakfast at Pax Wholesome Foods. It is actually very quite for a hotel at such location. August 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor Welcome service My taxi pulled up, i was assited out of the car by the bellhop then handed my bags (4 bags). did not offer to take them into the hold, did not open the door---not SPG service. there was also a trio of bell men inside the hotel by the front door, and again no one offered to assist with the bags. When i spoke to the manager, he seemed surprised yet every guest seemed to be entering with their own bags. August 2, 2013
  • 2015-05-04T19:50:56.729-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-13, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_642, tr_642
  • loc_en_US, sid_3789, prod, sort_default
<<prev 11 12 13 14 15 ... 23 next>>