The Westin New York Grand Central

  • 212 East 42nd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10017
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 nights, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book up to 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 663 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice sized room I stayed one night with my three children and they loved the room and the view we had of the Empire State Buildong. I would recommend this hotel. July 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is in great location and easy access to subway Loved this hotel! Great service and very friendly ! Will definitely stay here again. July 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location, Surly Staff A rough trip in to New York made worse by surly service at night. Our plane was delayed and our taxi ran into traffic coming into New York. We finally arrived at 1:30 in the morning, with wife and kids in tow, just wanting to get to bed. There was one person at the reception desk speaking with another guest. They spent the next five minutes talking and then the front desk guy left (to do something for the first guest) while there was a line-up of 4 other people behind us, but did not acknowledge us or the other guests. The bell man was standing off to the side and did not blink. I asked him if there was someone who could help and he just muttered someone will come. A few minutes later Hoda came to the desk and looked up our reservation. “Oh your room is dirty” (how can my prepaid room be dirty?). She then spent the next 5 minutes looking at the computer and then went to the back room to speak to the manager. She came back and said OK we will give you another cleaned room and have the other room cleaned for the next person. Then after fiddling with the computer for a while, then asks for the names of everyone who is staying on the room. (In 30 years, I have never had anyone ask that question) so we asked why does she need to know? Her response, “Why? Do you have a problem with that!?” (not exactly the family experience we were looking for). She also mentioned that “maybe everyone else have not been doing their job properly”. She was not pleasant and unfortunately, inappropriate in her response. Finally, we got our room and found out it was right beside the elevator (Ding, ding ding). We called down to the manager and her response “Do you want us to give you earplugs?” (No we want a quiet room that we can sleep in!) She said that there were no other rooms, they could switch us the next day, but we would need to leave all our bags with the bellman. (whatever happened to service saying pack your bags and the bellmen will move your bags when the other room is ready?) Too tired to argue, I agreed (yes we were woken by people having conversations at the elevator at 4:00am). The next morning I went down and explained the situation and the front desk said yes they can’t secure a room for us until they have a checked us out of the other room so we need to leave our bags with the bellman. (He didn’t say one word to us, just handed us the ticket). The desk asked did I just want to be away from the elevator? I said I would like a quiet room away from the elevator and away from the ice machine (I noticed the ice machines were very loud) When we came back to the hotel we got our room (2 doors down from the ice machine) and found it was a handicapped room! It really is a shame we chose the hotel for the location and the name. We have been to New York 4 times in the past 5 years and stayed in various hotels with great service. After all that we had been through you would think someone would follow-up to see if things were satisfactory. I guess not at a Westin! July 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful NYC Stay Had a great time at this hotel. It was our first stay after having stayed at other NYC hotels and we'll be back. Only minor issue was a billing error due to the SPG rate online not connecting with the billing system at the hotel. But thanks to the GREAT customer service by Sabrina in Finance, our issue was immediately resolved! Thanks Sabrina for making the end of our stay as great as the whole trip! July 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by night audit staff Hoda at the front desk during my 2AM tragedy was AWESOME!!! I cut my toe and it was pretty bad - she help me get it cleaned up - no way, could i have helped a complete stanger like that! July 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location and good room size Hotel is close to all the attractions and rooms are newly renovated that are relatively good size for NYC. Not a good SPG member experience with front desk staff(Pei) when we approached to ask about the wrong checkout date written on the key card and also had to wait for more than 10 minutes during checkout when staff did not call from the SPG preferred line. Cleaning staff on our floor(17th) was on the phone every time we saw her and also did not re-supply everything even the paper coffee cups. July 1, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stay at the Westin Grand Central NY Disappointing service, front desk staff impersonal, onsite parking is prohibitively expensive at $60/day and if you take the car out at any time, within 24 hours, then the clock starts all over again!!! Telephones in rooms don't work, ice machines on floors don't work. Overall, a dismal level of quality for the prices charged. June 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service with a smile Its not just the location, its the staff that make this an excellent Hotel June 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cleaniness The bed had stains on them and the pillow cases were unraveling. June 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great location and features wonderful location staff friendly June 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very accessible NYC location Very accessible NYC location June 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply wonderful My husband and I stayed 6 nights at the hotel and had a great stay. The room was clean and large by NY standards. The staff couldn't have been nicer. The only problem was the rain but not to worry the hotel provided umbrellas, nice touch! We will definitely go back. June 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location and revamped rooms Stayed for 3 nights on business. Room very comfortable and well equipped following a recent revamp. Staff helpful and friendly. Lobby area (not that any of us spend much time there) not very welcoming or relaxing but this is a minor gripe. Good restaurants in vicinity so cannot comment on hotel itself but room service was better quality than I expected. June 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The staff are always welcoming I was generally pleased with my recent stay at the Westin New York Grand Central. However, my one disappointment was that my room was only being cleaned when I returned at 5:45 pm after a full day meeting and I just wanted to relax. Otherwise, the room was clearn, comfortable and the staff were very welcoming and friendly, as usual. June 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Westin in NYC was Awesome! I had an awesome experience at the Westin! The staff was super! They were friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable of the area. The rooms were immaculate, comfortable, and offered a great view of the city. The hotel bar/restaurant is beautiful. It offers intimacy for couples who just want to talk and relax, and for singles it seems like a cool place to hang out and socialize. June 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded expectation Room was spotless,location was great, staff was friendly and the folks at the concierge desk were very helpful and pleasant. We would definitely consider staying there again when next in New York. June 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Great location This hotel is amazing. The staff is fantastic, helpful and caring. We arrived early and they had a room ready so we got to check in instead of them holding our luggage like we thought we were going to have to do. They catered to us above and beyond. I have stayed in many hotels in NY and the street noise usually keeps you from sleeping well. Not at the Westin, I might have heard 1 or 2 cabs honking all night, I slept like a baby. I highly recommend this hotel and will always stay here when I am in NY from now on...... June 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location & superior service Classy hotel close to everything, rooms super comfy and staff goes beyond your expectations (thank you Shimeea for your warm welcome AND for finding rooms for us at the last minute - what a bliss after our horror story with a dirty apartment!) June 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent place to stay I will definitely stay here the next time I am in NYC. It was incredibly clean, great location, and excellent staff. June 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding experience This hotel was great for our group for the weekend. The location was convenient to all of the city and the staff was extremely accommodating. We are looking forward to staying here the next time we are in NYC June 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful I visit NYC about three times a year and have been staying at this hotel for14+ years. Although I have always thought it to be clean and comfortable I can see many improvements since it has become the Westin. The renovations have updated it's look and it appears to be more modern.. The rooms are clean and the linens are new. Many of the same staff are still there which makes it nice for people who return frequently.They are always ready to greet us with a friendly smile. June 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service - Business Focused I've stayed at the Westin Grand Central once or twice a month for the past year - before, during, and after the renovations. The rehab got it right. The new restaurant - the LCL - manages to combine fun food options, great cocktails, and what can credibly pass for a nighttime scene in an otherwise sleepy part of Midtown East. The front desk staff, Erica in particular, lead with a smile and excellent service. The rooms - while not the world's biggest - have great bathrooms, large windows that open, and great views of much of Manhattan. Some people have a high-touch tourist-focused expectation for a business-centered hotel. I don't. Sometimes I just want a nice room, nice service, good food, and a low-maintenance environment where I can de-stress at the end of a long business day or over a quiet weekend. This property provides that for me. That's not to say that it's perfect. The *boring* room service menu is limited and the internet service needs work - these things will hopefully change over time as management continues to refine the property. Bottom line - for its ease of service and simple class, this has become one of my go-to spots in Midtown. June 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by First time stay I was impressed. The health club was a good size for a hotel, not crowded (had to go to a separate elevator but pretty easy). Starbucks coffee maker within the hotel, plugs int he room. Hotel did not have that large feel to it. I thought just overall well done and might start staying there instead of the W. June 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by New Hotel, Great Staff, Poor Platinum Benefits, Still in Start-up This is essentially a brand new hotel in an old building. Everything looks new and modern. Typical great Westin bedding, baths etc. Windows in rooms can be opened (a great thing!). Staff is great…eventually; hotel still is start-up mode and it can take a few tries to get basics attended to. It has a very small lobby that can be very congested at about 8 AM. No newspapers on weekends (a very poor practice, but supposedly a Westin standard). It offers very limited Platinum benefits (no concierge floor/lounge, limited high end rooms, etc.). It has an unusual Continental Breakfast option: separate (but adjacent) area from main/buffet restaurant with only counter service; excellent high quality bakery choices, a fruit cup or yogurt parfait option, coffee, bottled juice (very inferior and only lacking part of this breakfast) all designed to be carried back to room or eaten in a special area (not main restaurant). Regular hot buffet was very expensive (about $30), had no sausage, ham, omelets, pancakes, waffles, French toast etc. and had only different, inferior bakery goods…but since kitchen was being remodeled days we were there, we could not fairly judge. June 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Solid Option in a Great Location A couple blocks from Grand Central, if you use NYC public transportation, you can get most anywhere. Front desk check-in staff was incredibly friendly and helpful with information about the hotel (checking out was another story!). The room was a good size with a new bathroom. However, the shower drained very slowly; within minutes you were in an inch of water, soap and shampoo. Yuck. Also, they must have bought their towels off another property. As a new Westin I was looking forward to fluffy new towels and they were very much not that. HVAC was solid, which is important to me! The tv was very slow and and whoever placed the pulley for the shades should be fired. I had to move a sofa and crawl behind a lamp and the curtains to get to the chain for the shade. Ridiculous. But got a great price and that plus the location make up for a lot. June 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 Excellent stay Excellent stay. Good location May 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overnight Stay I only stayed one night, but check-in was quick and friendly. The Concierge had great restaurant suggestions, and supplied me an umbrella so I could walk in the sprinkling rain to the restaurant. Very pleasant stay. May 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quiet and Dark One complaint on our stay....our room was too dark and too quiet......we overslept...one of the quietest rooms we have stayed in when visiting New York. On the 5th floor and almost no street noise. May 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel is in a great location, staff is quite lousy The hotel location, rooms, and amenities were good. The parking was quite expensive, but that's probably just how it is in NYC. $60/day with no in-out privileges! But, I believe it's just standard for Manhattan. Our major complaint about the hotel is that the staff was unwilling to do standard Westin level service. For instance, we called several times (> 2) for turn down service every day and they never once did turn down service without a second call after we arrived back in the room to find it was not done earlier. Because of this, my 2 year old son did not get to sleep before 1AM because we were waiting for them (for new towels). Another example was their water policy. Only 2 bottles per day per room for platinum plus members. This is the first I've heard of such a limit at a Westin, but if that's their house rules, then okay. However, EACH day, I NEVER got my water. The cleaning staff did not ever leave 2 new bottles in the room. I had to call down each night to get my 2 bottle allotment. Another example was that we had 6 packages shipped to the Westin from Amazon. They arrived across 2 days, 3 packages each day. When we arrived, we called down to the concierge as the front desk had instructed. The concierge indicated that the boxes had arrived but told my wife to go down and get them herself. My wife indicated she had our 2 year old with her and asked that the concierge send up the packages. The concierge refused to send the packages up! I was quite unhappy with this service. We finally got the front desk to send the packages up, but it took many minutes of arguing. Not quite the experience I expect from a Westin. The second set of packages arrived the next day and the manager brought the packages up (which was surprising, and nice, but should not have been so surprising to us for Westin....) Other examples of poor service was our cleaning the second day did not leave extra towels as we had requested. The turn down maid (the one night she DID show up after we called 3 times that day) was very rude. She kept saying in a condescending tone "Is that ALL (she stressed the all very loudly) that you want me to do? Is there anything else. Are you sure? I don't have to come up again." "What else do you want me to do now?" May 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Grand Central is great- nice rooms My husband and I stayed here for a night- the room was spacious and very clean. Staff is always friendly. I've stayed here multiple times and its conveniently located close to GC, and high quality. We will definitely stay here again. May 25, 2013
  • 2015-05-23T19:47:39.669-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-15, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_663, tr_663
  • loc_en_US, sid_3789, prod, sort_default
<<prev 13 14 15 16 17 ... 23 next>>