The Westin New York Grand Central

  • 212 East 42nd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10017
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 511 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Promt Customer Care The staff was very pleasant, attentive, and eager to help even though it was past midnight when I checked in. I discovered I had no ironing board to touch up my shirts and pants. The front desk had one sent up within 15 minutes. I prefer to have a king size bed, however, there were no kings available. Initially I was not offered any compensation. However, staff member Lisset was able to quickly rectify this situation. Thank you Lisset. The rest of my stay was quite pleasant and met my expectations. February 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great choice at East side. We spent our July 4th at NYC, both my sister's family and my family chose this hotel because of the great location, clean and comfortable linen, bed and pillows. Front desk was helpful and nice. Close to most of the tourism points. Walking distance to Empire State, Grand Central, Library, 5th avenue, Broadway and East river. Convenient access to subway, bus and taxi. Just next to the hotel you can have a great breakfast at Pax Wholesome Foods. It is actually very quite for a hotel at such location. August 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Grand Central Stay This was our first time to the GC Westin. Nice property, they did a good job with renovations. Rooms were nicely appointed and clean. Elevators are rather slow, they need to work on that issue. Also service needs improvement. For example the check-in process was very "transactional" (eg. credit card and license please) vs. welcoming and invite. This will be especially noticeable for SPG members who have lots of experiences to compare too. Also, be aware that there is no club lounge at this property. November 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice property The room was large for New York standards, that was nice. The tub was slow draining so needed to be unclogged. Tried to print a boarding pass in the business center but the printer wasn't working. The concierge was nice to print it for me though. I forgot my hairbrush & I called down to see if the hotel offered any complimentary, they did not. There wasn't one in stock to purchase either, that may have been helpful. I requested a 4pm check out due to a late flight but that couldn't be accommodated. January 31, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location and good room size Hotel is close to all the attractions and rooms are newly renovated that are relatively good size for NYC. Not a good SPG member experience with front desk staff(Pei) when we approached to ask about the wrong checkout date written on the key card and also had to wait for more than 10 minutes during checkout when staff did not call from the SPG preferred line. Cleaning staff on our floor(17th) was on the phone every time we saw her and also did not re-supply everything even the paper coffee cups. July 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by staff exceed expectations I lost a luggage between the airline, airport and delivery service and the concierge, Ms. Moreno, went out of her way to help me get my luggage back (which had been delivered to another hotel but which the delivery company insisted had been delivered to me). It was a day long process but she did not give up and provided an excellent customer service for which I am grateful. February 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by So good, but still needs small improvements Stayed here for 3 nights. Had a nice corner room, freshly renovated. comfortable furnishings. great heavenly bed. nicely redone bathroom, but small. Hotel management: (1) Please replace the plastic cups in the bathroom, and (2) put a blackout drape on the window over the desk. The main windows had an effective blackout drape which kept the room pretty dark - except where light came in around the shade(s) on the window opposite the bed. I will probably use this as my NYC hotel when I'm in town, March 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The staff made our stay memorable The hotel was exactly what you would expect from a Westin with great gym facilities and solid room furnishings. The renovation is noticeable, but the staff from start to finish made our stay memorable. The parking staff was helpful and The Front Desk Manager (Mariah) took the time to find me a platinum upgrade and even took an extra moment to acknowledge my wife’s birthday with a small gift. Overall I thought the service was top notch and the facilities met and exceeded Westin standards. October 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mixed emotions In general, Westin, W's and other SPG hotels are very nice indeed. However, when the first interaction with guests with is an large slow moving line with multiple employees (inc. people who looked managers) standing around chatting, it's not very encouraging. To make matters worse, I saw this at check out, too. It's not what you expect from this type of hotel. If they correct this issue, it's a great hotel in a great location, especially if you're doing business on the west side of Midtown. December 6, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by worst housekeeping experience ever I will be sending a direct email to GM with pictures- housekeeping non existant, rude - bloody comforter, did not change sheets - comforter was thrown on bed and looked like a teenager made it after being forced to by parents- unkept. Sowers had mold and room smelled. Housekeeper yelled, rolled her eyes at us and talked to herself (I am sure about us) in her native tongue. Towels were only half refreshed, no shower mat and coffee not refilled....not service i expect for a platinum member July 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lax customer svc, few amenities My stay was OK, but this is not an SPG hotel I'd stay at again if there are other options in NYC. I called the front desk numerous times about loud kids running in the halls. No answer 3 times. Other times I found the staff in the lobby absentminded or not at their station when I had a need. I was also surprised that the room had no iPod music station or any way to play music. Also, the hotel had no spa or steam room or any other lux features other than its fitness room. No pool either. November 16, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by No Heavenly Bed? Stayed here on 1/07/13, and other than what seems to be the lack of a heavenly bed this hotel is great. Location is perfect for midtown, rooms larger than typical for area, gym is beautiful plus the whole place feels very fresh. However, I was sorely disappointed with what seems to be no heavenly bed! Has Westin stopped providing this? .The bed in the room was at best very firm and at worst simply hard. The sleepless night was a huge letdown from an otherwise positive experience. January 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sourpusses (except the doorman) No one smiled! Not the check-in receptionist, not the concierge. Shouldn't they be glad to see us? While we were checking in, a couple dashed in front of us, clearly upset about something. The receptionist completely ignored us (although we had been cut in front of), didn't even say "I'll be right with you." Nor did the other person behind the desk, who wasn't attending to anyone. And no one thanked us for staying. For a 3 star hotel, I'd rather stay at another Starwoods property. December 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good location, easy access to subway. Pros: * Great location - 2 blocks from Grand Central, which has the 7 train that constantly runs back and forth to Times Square. It's also easy to get to Penn Station, to catch the LIRR, Amtrak, or NJTransit. * Nice rooms - The rooms are excellent, typical of the Westin brand. Cons: * Noise - Although the New York night life will always be noisy, there was a irritating knocking sound coming from the window area throughout the day and night. Sounded like a hotel maintenance issue or a loose panel. * Staff - Overall the staff was excellent, but you can tell that some of the employees at the check-in desk were new, so they didn't know all the ins and outs. For example, my SPG membership status calls from room upgrades when available. The employee said it didn't. I was too tired to argue....long travel day. November 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saved me during Hurricane Sandy Due to Hurricane Sandy, I was evacuated and displaced from my home for almost a month. The staff (from the front desk, to housekeeping, to doormen to everyone) was spectacular. All of the staff were kind and would occasionally check on me to make sure I was okay during such a difficult time. The attention to detail the Westin staff displays is superb. The room was clean, facilities were traditional (but with a modern touch). The bed was very comfortable and the food was great! November 24, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible Stay I arrived late at night from a coast to coast flight. I had let the hotel know I was coming in late. When I got there they said they were oversold and could not give me a room. Three different people told me they were the manager (none of them were) and they were all rude. Tried to get the Platinum Desk to call the hotel, but the hotel would not pick up. Took me over an hour to get a room. Also had problems with the restaurant and others. All-in-all a terrible experience. January 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful I visit NYC about three times a year and have been staying at this hotel for14+ years. Although I have always thought it to be clean and comfortable I can see many improvements since it has become the Westin. The renovations have updated it's look and it appears to be more modern.. The rooms are clean and the linens are new. Many of the same staff are still there which makes it nice for people who return frequently.They are always ready to greet us with a friendly smile. June 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Close to Grand Central Room/furniture appear to be in new/gently used condition. Well lit bathroom, good size room by NYC standards. Poor communication within housekeeping staff - they also overlooked a big stain on two of the pillows in the room. The front-desk person that checked us out did not seem to care about what was wrong with our stay even when i answered her that there were issues. There were a few people that i encountered at the Westin that were above average in service (room dining and the person that checked us in in at the platinum counter). It's a good hotel, a block away from Grand Central so it is very convenient for travelers. I would make sure to check the linens/pillows before you lay your body on it and rather than get it replaced, i would just ask for a different room. I would give this a 3.5/5 stars if i could. March 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, very nice hotel I think this area of town was rougher a decade or more ago, but we just had a great stay. You're in the shadow of the Chrysler Building We walked to Empire State building/Macy's twice. Grand Central Terminal is nearby and that makes for quick access any where. Very nice Italian restaurant right across the street. I package flights with rooms so I didn't have exact amount I paid each night for 3 of us, but it was very reasonable in the end for a great hotel in mid-town. July 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Short but great stay My flight from JAX to JFK was 5.3 hrs late. I missed the last train back home to Westchester. I needed a place for overnight next to work. The Westin was a perfect choice. I got a last minute room that didn't break the bank. I knew the lobby was renovated (very nice), but I didn't realize the rooms were redone. The room was very modern and comfortable. I was pleasantly surprised. I stayed there when it was still the Helmsley, and that needed a lot of work. Well done. February 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel; not a completely clean room My recent stay at the Westin Grand Central created a number of both positive and negative impressions. On the positive side: - the room was quiet - the bed was comfortable - the restaurant attached to the hotel was good - the staff was helpful On the negative side: - the room was not completely clean, there were crumbs under the glass of the snack display, some sort of pumice was sprinkled over the sink counter in the bathroom, and the lampshade near the chair had coffee stains. Moreover, the remake of the bed for my second night was sloppy. - SPG has, it appears, deleted all my old points. Granted I have not stayed at an SPG property in a while, but I did have quite a few points. I would try the hotel again if I ever need to be in mid-town on the east side. I liked it better than 6 Columbus over on the west side of mid-town. But the room really could be cleaner and better maintained. January 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really friendly and welcoming staff. Great hotel. Front desk staff and bellstaff went out of their way to make me feel welcome. Very nice restaurant, clean and spacious rooms. February 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Grand Central NYC Conveniently located within a short walk of Grand Central Station, time square, and a major subway station. Excellent staff and comfort of room. There was a problem in the room that I stayed in that the window was opened almost an inch allowing the cool late September wind to enter the room and also the street noise. Requests to have maintenance correct the situation were courteously received but it was not corrected in the three days of our stay. October 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Average It was a decent hotel room...nothing out of the ordinary. March 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pleasant Stay I had a pleasant stay at this hotel. Of all the SPG hotel, I stay at Westin the most for a reason. It is usually the most comfortable for the money I paid for. February 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor customer service Waited SPG line for at least 10 minutes as management watched one person at the front desk manage check-ins. After several requests for adding a person at the SPG line, finally someone comes out to a regular line and finally makes her way over to the SPG line. Not a hello, welcome, nothing! No recognition of being a premier, not asked about points, not provided an upgrade, and then handed a key. That was it! Terrible customer service for SPG members. November 27, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Service needs improvement Hotel is clean, great sized rooms, good location. Had to wait 20 minutes to check in. When I did check in (9pm) they at first did not have the room available that I booked (I booked 2 double beds but king size was available only) - we then had to wait an hour for them to clean a room (at 9pm?). No apologies from staff. Next day we were in room when maid came by but once we left she never came back to clean our room. Otherwise nice stay. November 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Solid Option in a Great Location A couple blocks from Grand Central, if you use NYC public transportation, you can get most anywhere. Front desk check-in staff was incredibly friendly and helpful with information about the hotel (checking out was another story!). The room was a good size with a new bathroom. However, the shower drained very slowly; within minutes you were in an inch of water, soap and shampoo. Yuck. Also, they must have bought their towels off another property. As a new Westin I was looking forward to fluffy new towels and they were very much not that. HVAC was solid, which is important to me! The tv was very slow and and whoever placed the pulley for the shades should be fired. I had to move a sofa and crawl behind a lamp and the curtains to get to the chain for the shade. Ridiculous. But got a great price and that plus the location make up for a lot. June 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by The world's worst CheckIn staff If you have the chance, you MUST ask to be checked in by Alfonso, in my view as a platinum member, possibly the world's worst reservation staff I have ever met. Then you should meet the bell boys loitering around the lobby. Gave me such a creepy feeling as if I was in an unsafe place. I'm staying here just for one nite. If anything happens to me at least this review is out there. Scary people. January 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing! As a top 10 contributor I feel like I have to be strict and honest when I give feedback about a hotel. As you can see from my previous reviews I dont many 5's but the Westin Grand Central absolutely deserves it. The staff here is the best staff I have ever encountered and completely made my stay. My room was very clean and comfortable and the gym was adequate but the only down side was there wasnt enough windows/light in the gym. Centrally located to Grand Central and Times Square its a great place to stay while touring NYC. I took advantage of the New Balance program which I absolutely recommend and my gear was waiting for me when I arrived. The manager on duty called me to make sure my room was good which was much appreciated. Not sure how this hotel only has a 3.6 rating but based on my experience I cant give anything less than a 5! February 11, 2013
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 18 next>>