The Westin New York Grand Central

  • 212 East 42nd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10017
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 702 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by very helpful This was my boyfriends 1st time in NYC. I was originally placed in a room with a minimal view. I wanted a better view for him so it could be more memorable but I had no time to talk with the desk agent as I had to pick him up at the airport. I called the hotel while on my way to the airport and asked if there was a room with more of a view. A woman named Lee was very helpful and understanding of my situation. I still had my stuff in the first room but she made sure to hold a 2nd room with a view for me till I returned so I could personally get my belongings. It really was fantastic and I am so thankful for her help. Everything else at the hotel was great and the location was wonderful as well. May 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quiet & Comfortable I had a very good stay at the Westin NY Grand Central. The room was very comfortable. The cleaning staff were great! So nice and responsive. I didn't get a chance to use many of the amenities but the rooms are great. May 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Had a disappointing stay I have stayed at Westin Grand central several times before and was upgraded to a larger, corner room. This past stay wasn't so great. I asked for upgraded larger room, such as a corner room to accommodate my 2 year old daughter but was instead given a standard room next to the elevator which was noisy when people came out. Lets just say i didn't sleep well that night because my daughter kept on waking up. May 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Big time hotel! Had a blast at this property! Great location and awesome view for my platinum upgrade. Would love to visit again! April 28, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible customer experience I am a management consultant and I spend a major chunk of my life at hotels. And this hotel is by far the most unaccomodating one I have stayed at to date. All I wanted was for them to keep a small bag with my gym gears and toiletries so I don't have to carry it back and forth every week on the plane but this simple request apparently is too much for them to handle. I have stayed at other Westins before that had no problem keeping my stuff over the weekend and putting it in my room before I checked in. And what's even more surprising is that no one seems to care that I am upset. The front desk lady kept transferring me to the bell desk without letting me finish my sentence and of course without saying that she will transfer me. I had to call downstairs three times to actually speak to her and explain what the issue is. I am actually very sad because I really wanted to like this hotel for various reasons. Hope other platinum guests don't have to go through this.. :( April 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely Facility and Helpful Staff My daughter and I stayed at the Westin the night before heading out for a 7-day cruise. We wanted to squeeze some city sightseeing in while in New York and the front desk staff and Concierge were both so very helpful in directing us on where to go. The room service staff was efficient and pleasant. The room was beautifully appointed and very clean. I will definitely seek out a Westin when I travel again. Thanks for providing such a wonderful place to stay. April 21, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Shower drain was slow My stay was nice and relaxing. The staff was alway professional and kind. When checking out I advised the desk that the tub was not draining and I had to stand in shower water. She apologized and asked me if she could do anything to make up to me. Since I was on my way to the airport she offered to add extra points into my account. As of today I have not seen any extra points. April 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location. I stayed 5 nights at this hotel with my two kids (6 and 4 year old.) The location is really close to Grand Central and made it really easy to get to places. Since the hotel is located midtown, it’s not as crowded as compared to Time Square. The staff at the hotel were very nice and accommodating. When I first arrived, I was hoping to get an upgrade as there were some availability but unfortunately, our room was on the 6th floor, and there was no upgrade. I wouldn't recommended anyone who has kids to stay on that floor. New York is a loud city, and we could hear all the traffic noise and that kept my kids up all night. I called in the morning to request to move to a high floor and they said they would try their best, and would call me back. I never got a call. I called later in the evening, and they got us on the 35th. That was much better. The restaurant at the hotel is OK. I took my kids there for dinner, and it felt more of a lounge atmosphere and not very kid friendly. I tried getting breakfast a few times there but they ran out of most items by 10:30. As for the room, they were ok. The tub was peeling, the bathroom door wouldn't lock and my safe was broken but overall it was very clean. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff at this hotel offer exemplary customer service We arrived on Saturday afternoon and Doris welcomed into the hotel. She was very kind and when she learned we were celebrating my husband's birthday, she gave us a coupon for a free drink at the bar, which was a nice touch upon checking in. We went to the bar shortly after checking in and everyone was very friendly. After sitting there for 10-15 minutes - the manager, Frank, had asked the chef to prepare desserts in honor of my husband's birthday. He then took time out of his day to ask about our trip and our time in New York. The human capital at Westin truly is its biggest strength (although the beds are super comfy) and the team really seems to understand customer loyalty - we found ourselves at the hotel bar the next night, as a direct result of Frank's acumen. There were a couple negatives, but these were overshadowed by our positive experiences: 1. Found some hair in tub and on toilet in bathroom. 2. Sink did not drain quickly April 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Valet Parking Was charged double for valet parking because my stay exceeded 24 hours. We arrived early for an event and were offered late check out the following day. Never was I informed parking is based hourly and I would be charged $120 to valet for a one night stay. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Visited with Family Given all the past reviews of many SPG properties in Manhattan, I was keeping my expectations in check. However, I was very pleased with my experience (even though the front of the hotel seems to be under construction), and Mr Smalls was very helpful during the check-in. Lastly, my status was acknowledged and rewarded appropriately. April 8, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst stay in new york ever We usually stay at the westin times square, but decided to experiment, what a mistake! the windows and doors did not prevent noise and we had the worst night of sleep ever. sirens, ice machine, unknown machine sounds. never had this problem at other nyc hotels or in times square! would not stay here again. front desk person did not ask me how my stay was, so i didn't bother telling him. March 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous stay at The Westin Grand Central I was so impressed with The Westin Grand Central. Not only was I there for a work meeting, but I made my work trip into a vacation with my mom and stayed at The Westin Grand Central for a couple of extra days. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel! The location is prime. Walking distance to all of the hot spots. The concierge was fantastic and never steered us wrong. They even sent us complimentary champagne to one of the restaurants we went to! We were very impressed. Loida, who worked at the front/check-in desk was outstanding. Within 5 minutes of arriving on The Westin Grand Central property she was already calling my mom and I by our first names and was very friendly. She helped us check out at the end of our stay and followed up on a question that we had asked her previously, to make sure that we were taken care of. Earlier that day we had asked her where we could find a luggage store since I needed an extra bag to take home all of my NYC purchases. At the end of the day, when we were checking out she followed up and even helped me cut the tags out of my new items. She was outstanding! The group who worked with us for the meeting were very attentive. Everything was where it needed to be when it needed to be there. I was very impressed and would be happy to stay at The Westin Grand Central again any time! March 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Option in midtown If you are coming for business near midtown (United Nations / Grand Central) this is a good place to stay. Completely refurbished and with very clean rooms. Its your typical Westin. The staff is friendly but expect NY attitude. I asked for my bag to be delivered to my room while I went out for dinner and the bellman didn't do it as he was expecting me to provide a tip up-front. If you are coming for business its a great option. Its a matter of the rate. If its for leisure you might have better cheaper options around. March 20, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by The staff is rude The staff is inconsiderate. We checked in and were told to wait for a couple of hours for the room. Five minutes later, when we checked in with another person, we were assigned a room! Clearly there were rooms available and the first person we spoke to was just being weird. Outside the hotel, when we asked for a cab, that person was dismissive. We obviously did not tip him considering his behavior. I was really disappointed with the overall attitude of staff at this hotel. March 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location, but bathroom lights made me feel like I was having a seizure Stayed at the Westin Grand Central for one night while in town for a friend's bachelorette party. The location was good for what we were doing as it was centrally located to our planned activities. Valets were not terribly friendly or attentive. They constantly needed to be flagged down instead of being attentive and ready to help you. Room was clean...couldn't seem to find a clock in it. My major issue was with the lighting in the bathroom. It was so bright, the level of what you would typically see around a small makeup mirror, but around the entire large mirror on the wall. I could barely stand to be in there at any time. It truly made me feel like I was having a seizure. I hope there can be some adjustments as this would honestly prevent me from staying there again. March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Stay at the Westin Grand Central I can't say enough about what a wonderful stay we had at the Westin Grande Central. I was traveling alone with my two young children and the staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. They ensured that we had connecting rooms, something many hotels will not guarantee. They said hello to my children each time we entered and exited the lobby. The Doorman found us cars/cabs with little to no wait. The front desk was simply wonderful. And the rooms are like new. This is now my top Starwood property in NYC after this stay.. March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Grand Central - great location, wonderful staff My wife and I recently enjoyed a 3 night weekend stay at the Westin Grand Central. This was our second stay at the hotel (having previously visited it 4 years ago) and we were delighted by the improvements made during its recent renovation. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable (we stayed on the 24th floor and had a spectacular view of the Empire State Building). We were warmly greeted by Kenneth at the front desk, who went above and beyond to make our stay memorable and relaxing (please extend our great thanks to him for his efforts). The location, just a few blocks from Grand Central, is perfect for easy movement around Manhattan, but a comfortable distance from the immediate hustle and bustle of the transit hub. Perfect spot for a weekend getaway or business travel. February 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room's larger than expected The rooms are much larger than expected for NYC! I'd definitely stay there again! February 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sales Manager great location, great views, heavenly bed, nice staff especially Dave Locke, he is wonderful. Will come again and tell friends!! February 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Catching the siberian express from Westin Grand Central The cold snap roared into NYC about the same time we did. Travelling with 2 young kids, I was glad that the Westin was a very short walk from Grand Central station, extremely manageable even with kids and luggage. As it was a redemption, I wasn't expecting a great room, and just as well that my expectations were pretty low. I was allocated a room on the 6th floor and the adjoining rooms were used as conference rooms for the NBA all star event that weekend. I had previously been allocated a high floor room and the view was wonderful. No luck this time... The check-in experience and the room itself was fine and everything was as it should be. During my stay, I had misplaced my gym clothes and the housekeeping staff went to great lengths to try to locate it. When they couldn't, the even offered to replace free of charge. I did not take up the offer and finally found my stuff in my shoe bag. Great service and many thanks for all your efforts! Overall, no complaints and I would certainly stay there again due to the friendly staff and the super location of the hotel - really useful when average daily temps were no higher than 20s! February 22, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unreliable for business travel Wifi connection was basically unusable. Coffee maker plugged into broken outlet. Alarm clock broken. February 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Service, Decent Location, Amazing Gym I really liked staying here during the US Open for Tennis. Tons of tennis themes going on with giant tennis balls everywhere. Brought life to the hotel. The rooms were on par with other Westins a surprisingly big for a NYC hotel. They were clean, cleaned daily, and smelled fresh (surprisingly some SPG hotels have some funky smell). Now, the gym was the highlight. Huge gym with a ton of equipment and weights. It was clean, had ample water and apples, and two TVs. This is one of the best SPG gyms I have been to, if not the best. It was twice as large as any other SPG gym I have seen in NYC, which is impressive. I'd say this is my #2 hotel to stay at in NYC of all the SPG properties, which means a lot. February 19, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Awful Customer Service I've stayed at this property several times and have been repeatedly turned off by the customer service provided. Despite these experiences I've continued to book this hotel 20-25 nights/month because of the convenient location, however my last two experiences have seen an end to that. I am a rather petite female and was traveling with two rather large suitcases. When I arrived, there were no bellman outside to offer assistance so I brought them inside myself (clearly struggling) only to find three bellman standing inside by the door talking with one another. When I walked inside they glanced at me, then continued their conversation. I proceeded to the check in desk and was met by Maki who kindly greeted me and checked me in. Once I was checked in I asked Maki for assistance in bringing my luggage up to the room. She happily obliged and asked one of bellman to help. As soon as we reached the elevator bay I realized I didn't have cash to tip him. I apologized, explained myself, and offered to take my bags up myself. He immediately stopped walking, let go of my luggage and walked away visibly irritated without so much as a word. I would have completely understood if he'd have politely helped me into the elevator and left it at that, but his reaction was, in my opinion, completely unacceptable. Disclaimer: I spend a vast majority of my time traveling in and out of hotels in the NY area so maybe I've become a bit of a service snob, but I found this behavior to be inexcusable. On a separate occasion, I'd arranged to leave a bag overnight with hotel for the weekend in between two of my weekly reservations. I was made very aware of the fact that this was an exception to their 'no luggage storage' policy, and openly expressed my thanks. When I returned to retrieve my bag and check back in, I was met with an almost hostile attitude from the bellman. I let him know that 'd stored a bag overnight at the hotel and wanted to retrieve it, and he told me that they didn't have my luggage because they 'didnt hold bags overnight', and turned the other way as if to dismiss me. When I explained that there had been an exception made, he continued to tell me that they didn't store luggage so I must be mistaken. I told him that I didn't know what to say, and that my bags should be there and asked him to check to be sure. He then asked me for the name of the person who made the exception, and whether I knew where they'd put my bag because they 'never do this'. I told him I didn't remember the name of the individual and that I didn't know where it'd been put. He then asked me for a luggage tag and I told him I hadn't received one. He then threw up his hands and loudly ordered me to follow him to the storage area to get my bag as if I'd done something wrong and needed to be scolded for it. By this time other guest in the lobby were starring. When we got to the luggage storage area he swung the door open, pointed to the bags inside, said 'take your pick!', and walked out. If the customer services issues weren't enough, the complete disregard for the security of guests' belongings certainly was. The entire interaction left me speechless and thoroughly humiliated. These two incidents coupled with little things like not being greeted when you enter the hotel, or front desk staff refusing to make eye contact while checking you in, have made sure that I'll be bringing my (frequent) business elsewhere. February 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff The last time I stayed at this hotel was still called "New York Helmsley". I have wonderful memories with my parents from Japan. As I stepped in, I felt sad to see the piano bar has been removed... However, my son and I were greeted by the familiar faces from old days and we immediately felt we were welcomed again and our stay was very comfortable. I have recommended to my friends in publicity in France right away. We pop in NY often and this hotel now is on my list to stay again. Thank you for giving us a good quality. February 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overnight in NYC the easy way Excellent location. We took the train to Grand Central Terminal so the Westin was only 3 blocks away. We checked in, dropped off our bag and went out for dinner followed by a ballet. Comfortable, quiet room. Great night's sleep. February 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another fabulous stay at the Westin Grand Central Out of the hundreds of hotels to choose from in NYC, we decided to book the WGC (again), but this time for my sister’s 30th birthday… and I am glad we did! Hotel staff from check-in, to the concierge, to the nice gentleman who delivered champagne glasses to our room were spectacular. We were 6 people, staying in 3 different rooms, and the hotel staff were nice enough to put us all on the same floor. They were also super helpful with the last minute birthday candle, cutting knife and serving plates for the cake and suggestions for the last minute balloons! Rooms were classic Westin rooms – modern and clean, and the bed was super dreamy (we passed out instantly every time our heads hit the pillow!). The hotel is also about a 15 min walk from Times Square, and a 5 min walk from Grand Central Station and the Chrysler building. It's well-located for most of the midtown sites, and very close to the subway if you are headed downtown. Thank you very much to the staff for making our stay seamless and stressfree! Happy travels! February 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice Although there was much construction out front, our stay was great. We will definitely stay again. January 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great stay. Stayed one night on a spur of the moment visit to NYC. Front desk staff was outstanding. As a SPG member, made to feel welcome. Rooms were nicely appointed, clean and the fitness center outstanding. Drinks at the lovely bar made the stay even more memorable. A great Westin experience. December 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Christmas Weekend I was a little concerned based on some prior reviews however this hotel more than met my expectations. We had a very friendly front desk staff member that searched for a room with a view without asking and she acknowledged my platinum status. The room was clean, updated, and a decent size for NYC. The staff was very friendly and helpful. December 29, 2014
  • 2015-11-28 T10:35:51.132-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_702, tr_702
  • loc_en_US, sid_3789, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 25 next>>