W Retreat Koh Samui

  • 4/1 Moo 1 Tambol Maenam,
  • Surat Thani
  • Koh Samui,
  • 84330
  • Thailand
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children who are 12 or younger sleep for free in the existing bedding of a room shared with a paying adult. Rollaways, child rollaways and cribs may incur extra charges. Breakfast is half price for children who are 12 or younger.

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 42 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing hotel and staff The W Retreat Koh Samui is such a "Sweet Spot". Our entire family enjoyed the hotel, staff, and amenities. We can not RAVE enough about the the staff. We have been to many resorts all over the world and this Resort and its family have been among the BEST! When we first arrived we thought everyone was just overly nice to us, but we soon found out that this is "their personality", treating everyone like friends. It was quite refreshing!!! Our daughter got a pretty bad sinus infection while we were there and she has asthma so it can get bad so we called for a hotel dr. Although they did not have one on staff they told us how to get needed items in Thailand and called to make sure the pharmacy had what we needed. Our hotel friends (staff) sent FLOWERS to our daugher the next day!!! This is the most incredible and personable thing anyone has everyone for our family on vacation. My daughter was so touched she actually cried when left. The activities we booked were fab and we took the suggestions of the hotel staff and we were very happy with all, diving and ATVing, both a must do. The hotel is a little out of the way from some of the main shopping spots, but you CAN negotiate prices to get to the shopping areas. The hotel van is accessible to take you to these spots and it was convenient, but at times we wanted to do our own thing. Our family LOVED the rooms, the hotel amenities and of course the "Sweet Spot", my husband being an ice cream connoisseur!!! Please make sure to put the W Retreat in Koh Samui on your list of places to go!!! Room Tip: All rooms are absolutely gorgeous. In the jungle suites, go higher to get an ocean view. March 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My stay @ W Samui My husband and i had an enjoyable and great relaxation trip at Wsamui . Svc and facilities were top notch as promised by W. F and B was fantastic and excellent quality. However improvements should be made to upgrade standards of Spa svc. The facilities , environment and Spa manager was very good , but sad to say we did not feel good after a 3 hrs spa treatment, standard of techniques or SOP not as good comparing to other spa of 5 stars establishments. January 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Resort My second stay in W Samui was wonderful. Even ithough it is a cat 7 hotel I still get my room upgraded as our wish. Breakfast until 1 pm is very considerable. Free soft drink and icecream can be found all over the resort. We had a really good time there. Cons: Only 2 restaurants in the resort and nothing nearby. The beach is not very comfortable to walk on as the sand is rough. We will definitely go again March 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stunning view, excellence service I stayed in Ocean View Escape Villa for 2 nights, the villa is big, clean and has very nice ocean view. In-room entertainment system is really good. Other hotel facilities are very great, well design to fit with the ocean view especially the lobby and woobar. All staff is well trained, they are very nice to all guest. Breakfast's quality cannot compare to the dinner's at Namu. September 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location in Koh Samui Not being great fans of the W brand we stayed here with hesitation, but thoroughly enjoyed our stay. the resort is immaculate, great facilities, good beach, excellent staff. Spa and food were wonderful, and considering it is a 5 star resort not excessively priced, we felt especially the food was very reasonable, the only drawback (for the hotel and not the guests)is that being close to local fishermans village, many guests chose to dine out and hence the restaurants were very quiet and lacking a bit of atmoshere, feel they could maybe replicate Fire from Maldives by having barbecue restaurant on the beach (not individual dining as am not a honeymooner). Platinum recognition was good in we received a one category upgrade, but to be honest all the rooms are villas and pretty much the same with exception to location. would definitely recommend. Naamu the signature restaurant was fabulous and Nick the manager was always on hand to chat to guests which is always a good sign. March 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great resort and W experience Great stay and superior service. Jean, Director of Operations warmly greeted us and gave us a tour of the property. I was traveling with my mother, her first trip to SE Asia and the experience was awesome. We arrived very early and they took us down for breakfast at Kitchen Table - great food, every day the buffet was something to look forward to. I was a bit disappointed in the lack of SPG Platinum cocktail hour, which is always offered at other SPG properties. The buy-1 get-1 free martini hour was nice but not the same. The staff at the beach provided great service and smiles. Tom, the head concierge, provided some wonderful recommendations for day trips and restaurants. He coordinated car service and a last minute appointment at the hotel spa. The spa service itself was fine, but just average. The staff need to brush up on the entire experience (greeting, etc.) but the massage service was great. I loved the buggy service, shuttling you around the resort. Makes up for the remoteness of the property itself. I would definitely return. May 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply Amazing! Amazing staff, amazing management, great location! Loved... The sweet spots, Thai Meditation Class, Daily massages by the beach in the local hut! Cheap and amazing! Namu is a must visit on property restaurant! July 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful resort experience The W at Koh Samui was one of the nicest resort experiences we've seen. The staff was outstanding, friendly, warm, helpful and accommodating to an unusual degree...simply the best!. The facility is beautiful and the setting ideal. If we are able to return to this part of the wold, we'd beat a hasty return to the W at Koh Samui. February 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Hotel, Incredible Staff, Counting down until we can come back My best friend and I came here in May for a week of relaxation. We both travel quite a bit for work and for pleasure. We expected it to be amazing, but we could have never imagined it would be the best vacation we've ever taken. I must say, hands down, this was the most beautiful hotel we have both ever been to. Not only were the amenities amazing and beyond anything we could have imagined, but the staff was out of this world. Everyone was incredibly kind, helpful and friendly. The staff went out of their way to make sure we were having the best time possible. By the end of the week, most of the staff knew our names. The head chef even knew about my shellfish allergy and said he checked the room number whenever my favorite dish was ordered to make sure it was safe. The beach staff were also great, having fresh strawberry daqueries ready for us as soon as he saw us, as well as bringing our drinks to us in the ocean. The food and drinks were also beyond expectations. The Kitchen Table was the best start to our day. The Breakfast had everything you can ask for: dumplings, fresh local fruits, and waffles. The staff was also incredible, knowing our favorite orders every morning. Coming for lunch and dinner was also a highlight of our day. We would tell the staff what we like to eat, and the chef would come up with the best thai food we have ever eaten. We even did a special meal the last night, sitting down with the chef to tell him our likes and dislikes, who then put together a wonderful 5 course meal with wine pairings. I honestly can't say enough wonderful things about this W. We love Koh Samui and are counting down the days to come back. Thank you again!! November 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impressive Resort, Top Class Talent I booked this retreat as a present for my husband’s 30th and we were so impressed by the entirety of the staff as they made our trip so memorable. We were wowed by the absolute beauty and design of the whole resort, from the welcome drinks, to the room, pool, beach, bars and restaurants, everyone made such an effort to make our holiday relaxing and wonderful. We checked in very quickly and taken to our retreat, I booked a Tropical Oasis room which was very near the beach and very close to the sweet spot (fridge and freezer full of cokes and ice-creams!). The room was immaculate and so spacious, it had its own plunge pool, table and chairs, and sun loungers. The bath was large enough for two people and it had an indoor and outdoor shower. It’s the little touches that made the room so great, the green apples, Illy coffee machine, bottled water, Bliss products and a cute little bear (during the turn down service, they dress him in his own dressing gown). The style is typical W with very close attention to design detail and great mood lighting. The room was “styled” twice daily and always beautifully presented. The plunge pool is very large and not heated but I don’t think it needs to be as it was the perfect temperature for feeling refreshed. We ate at Namu our first night and at the Kitchen Table the other evenings, all of which were fantastic. Do not miss dinner at Namu, the sushi was so fresh and beautifully presented. We had the buffet breakfast included in the rate, it was gorgeous with everything spread out, it catered to all tastes and had made to order omletes, pancakes, waffles, and fresh squeezed juices and Illy coffees. Dinner and lunch menus were well varied and reasonably priced, but the true standouts were their staff. I would like to thank again, Jean and Sea for their attentiveness. I informed Sea that this trip was present for my husband’s birthday and we would like to have some kind of special lunch or tea at the beach, Sea phoned her team and pulled off the highlight of the trip, she had a daybed set up with facing the gulf and arranged it with trays of cakes, thai fusion wraps, teas and flowers. She wrote our initials in the sand and filled them in with rose petals and took photos with our cameras to capture the memories. This is the kind of service you can expect when you stay here as all members of the hotel exemplify this kind of hospitality. July 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by whatever, whenever & whereever are prefect service. Every staff is porfessionl to our need. We always found smiling from their faces that brought us positive energy. This hotel was really a paradise for relaxation & happiness. February 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Perfect Wedding My wife and I decided to have our special day at W Koh Samui with a group of 50 of our closest friends and family. From the very moment we stepped into the hotel, we felt pampered and relaxed. Nok, our wedding coordinator, did an exceptional job ensuring that every detail of our wedding day was perfect. She went above and beyond the call of duty and we touched by her passion. One of the staff actually cried during our ceremony! All the guests had a wonderful time, many of which like ourselves have put W hotels as our preferred stay. We've stayed in many W hotels but Koh Samui truly is our best experience so far. October 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic resort in Samui While you would expect nothing less from a 5* it is naturally the attention to detail by the staff that provide the superior experience. Brian and the whole team are fantastic, every moment of their effort is solely dedicated to the customer experience - Great job, thanks for everything and keep up the wonderful service levels. January 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost a perfect stay Firstly, I would like to extend a warm and heartfelt thanks to Tom, the W Insider @ W Retreat Koh Samui. The service recovery we received was executed professionally, and it is what we expect to receive from a W Property when paying premium. The Rooms were excellent and the Breakfast was fantastic. Amenities provided in the Room were also more than expected. As a coffee lover myself, I really enjoyed the illy Machine and Coffee Capsules provided. Mornings never felt the same! I will definitely recommend this Retreat if you are visiting Koh Samui. December 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best honeymoon hotel My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights on our honeymoon and absolutely loved it! The staff were all extremely friendly and knowledgeable. We were so impressed by the hospitality shown by everyone on the property - they definitely made you feel welcome. The breakfast buffet was great (we over ate everyday!), the drinks at the bars were great and the food at the restaurants. Our villa was extremely nice and private. The free ice cream and drinks around the property was convenient and more than we expected. The hotel let us rent a scooter which was perfect for getting around. The location was great - close to everything but not in the middle of everything. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and hope we get a chance to come back. May 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location,best design and excellent staff performance. Great location.Luxurious,beautiful & relaxing hotel. The staff was very friendly,helpful and always smiling. The accommodations were excellent. The room was big,beautiful design & nice lighting effects( make the room more cozy, intimate and ...) The view from room window was amazing and impressive. The food was delicious.Large variety of breakfast choices to suit all tastes. Spa was excellent.(design,staff and massage) Best treadmills & Equipments at fitness center. January 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is special We had the great pleasure to spend more than two weeks in this extraordinary hotel which seemed to be exceptional as most people spend there only a few days. We had a spectacular Ocean View villa and were not missing any comfort. The pool and the terrace are a place where you can spend your whole day if you wish, but there are so many things in the hotel and the surrounding as well. There were many comments about the excellent restaurants and the facilities that I just want to mention the first class Japanese restaurant as to be a a wonderful place to wine and dine. What makes this hotel really special is the staff and the spirit of excellence in customer service starting at the GM and not ending at the people who clean the room. Whatever/Whenever is not a slogan only, these guys live it. We had a lot of exceptional examples. We will return!!!! April 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by An incredible experience . . . I had an incredible experience at the W in Koh Samui. They have a great team of passionate and enthusiastic people that go out of their way to make sure you have an unforgettable experience. I loved the spacious feel of the room and the private garden and pool area. The Namu restaurant was excellent and it will be sorely missed. Would absolutely recommend this to anyone seeking for a great stay while in Koh Samui. February 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Truly Wow This place truly takes your breathe away. Very chic, staff attentive and welcoming, General Manager and Food and Bev manager even took the time for real chats with the guests not just the cursory greetings. Food menu is being revamped to include more authentic Thai dishes. This is the one let down for us, but the hotel is actively listening to guest feedback and continuously striving for improvement. July 25, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by dissappointed hotel the hotel not same befor when i come first time : 1- the staff 2-bad room service 3-over rating besid the service( dirty bath rub , they cost me for the extra adult but they just bout extra bed no more things 4-wellcome staff how is metting us ( she said i have only 10 minute to explaine ) i become shame couse i advice the hotel to my friend ( shaikha) 5-i hop this not happend to me agine or to another guest April 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hideaway A real hide away get away for a quiet break away. Although sometimes it was too quiet so struggled from time to time for atmosphere. Not like the usual W hotels around the world. November 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect getaway Spent 6 nights celebrating our wedding anniversary. Enjoyed how very relaxing to have our own little private retreat overlooking the beautiful sea and surrounded by the tropical jungle. W Insiders, The Kitchen Table staff and Welcome staff couldn't have been more helpful in meeting our desires. Definitely will have to make a return visit. September 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Heaven I stayed at that hotel with my friend for three nights, we enjoyed a lot, the lobby area on the ocean view which was unforgettable scene, the rooms fantastic and fancy with swimming pool. Staff very nice & helpful. The restaurant very nice do have a delicious Thai food, breakfast buffet have all the tastes. December 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Resort with High Quality Service My husband and I stayed at this resort for our first wedding anniversary. First of all, the room was OUTSTANDING, the design and scenery breathtaking, the staff cordial and attentive (everyone from waitstaff to security guards), and the guest services management made it a point to introduce themselves and talk with the guests. All this exceeded our high expectations. Then, we had an unfortunate scooter accident on the island (not related to the hotel, just out on our own sightseeing). Getting injured in a foreign country is scary, not knowing who to consult, we called the hotel. The hotel guest managers met us at the hospital and overall just helped us stay calm and supported us throughout the ordeal. This was more than I ever expected from a resort and we remain so grateful for the concern and care from the staff. The resort itself is beautiful but the people there make the experience unique. Big thanks to Nick, Gene, Tom, and Robert - you will be forever in our hearts! We hope to come back again. July 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Getaway The breakfast was awesome. Love the milk and yogurt. The service was lovely too. One of the staff found the rubber hot bottle for my friend, who suffered stomach cramp. The food at the western restaurant was just ok. The woobar was breathtaking! September 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by beautiful sea view the sea view is beautiful, fantastic. Comfortable room, spacious, colorful and cheerful. very interesting surprises with special treats provided here and there. . Hotel staffs are mostly helpful.. May 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing W retreat Koh Samui It was one of the memorable vacation. Ralaxing all over the property with amazing staff, food, spa and ambiance. Anyone who needs to rejuvinate , go spend a week there. January 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Getaway It was a pleasure to stay within the W Retreat at Koh Samui. September 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good design and good feeking This hotel has a good design. Room that makes you feel like your home. Staff are good. Everything are good. August 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mr. Defintely a fantastic moden design hotel. Good location on the island. Yet, the in villa facility is not well maintained and checked. February 11, 2013
<<prev2 3 next>>