W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

  • State Road 200,
  • KM 3.2 - HC-1 Box 9368
  • Vieques Island,
  • Puerto Rico
  • 00765
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Minimum Age for Check-in

Guests must be 21 years or older with a valid photo ID to check-in.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 257 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by below average for the W standard attention to detail is lacking. food is overpriced based on quality. January 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great place The place is very nice, and the apartments are beautiful. The beaches are beautiful. January 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Retreat, Inconsistent Service This is a beautiful property and the faciilities at the hotel are wonderful. It is a very relaxing location with an excellent pool. I recommend this place for a romantic getaway and laying by the pool. The service was inconsistent as was the information I received from employees throughout my stay. The staff seemed to ramp up as the holiday season got closer and the service became a bit better. Laney, one of the managers I spoke with, was incredibly helpful resolving any issues we had with our service or stay. The restaurant on site, Sorce, pales in comparision to the other (5-10) restaurants on the island. The pool food was fine for laying by the pool. I went with points and think the resort may be overpriced for what it is. I would recommend going to this location to my friends who are considering going with points, but not sure if I would return. December 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed Positives: - aesthetics of the hotel are great - all food and beverage staff (Arrelis and Isa in particular) were fantastic. Negatives: - Wake up call requested and never received. - Spa appointments were made, we went to check in they said they had no record of the appointment (after confirming the day before. - Rooms were not cleaned fully or timely. Manager said they were short-staffed for the amount of guests. - Concierge staff contradicted each other.. one said they would book bio bay tour for us, the next day a different concierge said they don't do that. - February 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel facilities were great. Company events were not! Overall, was a great resort. However during our trip there were 2 large corporate events on the property. The W closed the pool early one day for a company event and on another day they reserved over half of the pool area for another company....not good. The hotel management was very non-responsive to the guests when asked to accommodate everyone else. That was very disappointing given everyone has to pay the $60 per day resort fee. The restaurant was also out of dinner items (e.g. Pork) because they used all of their pork for the company buffet dinner. When I questioned the manager about it he lied. If the property is going to give special treatment to companies and ignore other guests, they should be more transparent. March 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Relaxing Resort This one of the most aesthically pleasing W hotels that I have seen. It was ultra modern and very relaxing. I am going to be honest the staff does need work. The restaurant definitely needs improvement. If you come to this property make sure you rent a car and rent it early. You will not want to be limited to the hotel food. The hotel menu is limited, it is extremely expensive and it is not very tasty. You will want to go out to other places on the island to eat. Vieques is a beautiful sleepy beach island with great restaurants outside of the W that I enjoyed. December 11, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Small, nice hotel / unsatisfactory beach The staff, the decor and ambiance of the hotel met my expectations. However, the beach in front of the hotel, though it looks great from far, has rocks at the bottom instead of sand. Because it is a small hotel all the guests congregate in the main area of it, and if you are looking for quiet peaceful time having a drink, it is difficult to find. The big plus of the hotel is that it is located in Vieques. There you can run away (in a rental jeep) to many different beaches where you will surely find the peaceful setting not found in the hotel main areas. August 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel; unsatisfactory service Last November, I stayed at the W resort in Bali and had an absolutely fantastic time - the facilities were impressive and the service was friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, my experience at the WVieques fell short. The grounds and rooms are very nice and well designed, however, the service was far below what I would expect from any hotel, and importantly, far below what you would expect from a W resort. There were a series of shortcomings which contributed to this view and despite articulating our disappointment, little was done to respond to the feedback. November 16, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvement to be a top destination Pool area too limited with chairs No hot tub Severely understaffed Turn down service often missed Had to call for them to restock minibar Spa lacks facilities to enjoy pre massage like steam room plus lacks showers post massage Beaches on other parts of island much better Music playing late into night around pool even though no one out there so you can't sleep with your door open to listen to ocean Food is good compared to rest of island Close to everything since island is smal, Nice room Generally clean grounds Safe island Fitness center modern March 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed Resort was nice and staff was friendly but room wasn't as clean as it could have been when we checked in (shower and bath dirty, had to call for them to be cleaned). The room wasn't cleaned particularly well during our stay (sand on the floor, hairball in the shower, dirty glasses left in the room for several days). Also, things in the room weren't replenished (i.e. ran out of toilet paper, robes were never left and we had to call every day to have robes brought to the room after old ones taken to the laundry). Called on the last day for someone to come and help with the suitcases when we checked out. The reception desk said someone would be right over but we waited 20 mins and no one came so we carried them all over to reception ourselves. May 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing Property I stayed at the hotel for only 2 nights, but if I knew how amazing it was I certainly would have planned for a longer trip. When I arrived, a member of the staff provided a tour of the property. The other staff members, including the bartender at pool, were surprisingly cold. The breathtaking grounds more than made up for some mediocre/poor serrvice. The room, while a bit dark, was exquisite... Rental car, tours, snorkel gear etc can all rented once arriving at the hotel...affordable, convenient and organized. It was just phenomenal experience May 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by I used points to stay for free and it wasn't worth it! Beautiful beach, however, the hotel's gimmick is blending in with the impoverished island. A washtub for a bathtub, furniture that appears to be made out of mismatched scraps of driftwood, a 4-inch pencil stub instead of a pen on the nightstand, very low-to-the-ground chair and bed, etc. I deserve better! Inadequate lighting, no grab bars in the shower or the afore-mentioned washtub. It's an accident waiting to happen. We're not all 20 years old. P.S., this is a very expensive hotel. On top of room charge is a daily $65 resort fee. Too much! April 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Definite "10" From the moment you arrive to the very end of your stay, this place will exceed your expectations over and over again. The entire property is beautiful and well kept. Private Beaches and Beautiful Pools. The staff is exceptional and willing to fulfill your requests regardless of size. My husband was worried about getting to the ferry on time so he asked if we could expedite a cab; the staff did one better - they had the taxi driver get our tickets in advance for us so we didn't have to worry about a spot on the ferry. Now, that's service! October 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by W Hotel amazing views, great staff and wonderful experience Hotel was great (awesome location with amazing views). The staff were attentive and courteous. You definitely need a jeep while in town. Only complaints in regards to hotel are the cobblestone walkway (very uneven and a safety risk) and lack of restaurants (only one). It would also be nice if the spa had a steamroom and sauna added (with all day pass available to enjoy). Room and views are great. Pools are great. Horses roaming free are very cool. November 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice location, service needs work Great location with 2 beaches, nice pool and common areas, and spacious rooms. Hotel grounds are fairly large & airport lounge was a plus. Lacking in service, very spotty - some good, a lot bad. An issue with our room took 1 hour to resolve. Housekeeping also needs to improve - very dusty room, doesn't help that there isn't ample overhead lighting. Food and mixed drinks were good, avoid the wine. Could be a great destination however most of the staff are not trained to a standard of service that is expected at this type of hotel. November 28, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Honeymoon Disappointment We went to the W in Viques with HUGE expectations, and we were left VERY disappointed by the W Hotel. We spent 6 nights at the hotel, and found that leaving the grounds of the hotel were more satisfactory than being around the rude staff. The maids to the room would do the bare minimum of a job cleaning the room(even though it is off season and nobody was staying at the hotel), it looked like they probably spent 10 min. in the room leaving trash everywhere, and then would take our spare room key that controlled the lights and electricity upon every visit. We complained about the service, but it took 3 complaints for them to finally stop taking our key. The electricity and water went out for the majority of one of the days we were staying, which left us trying to shower in a bathtub with gallons of water we had to go buy from the store. We were charged for things in the mini bar, to which we did not use. The Wi-Fi did not work in our room, to which I called about and never received a call in return, and then we get hit with a $65.00 a day for the use of the non-working WiFi, and the amenities that we never even thought about using on our trip. I was rather outraged when I saw $400 worth of charges on my bill for things that were never used, and I think it is ridiculous for a hotel as nice as the W to charge for these kind of things. Overall, it would be hard for me to recommend the W to anyone. I was planning on getting a room there for my wife's birthday at the Austin W, but I might have to spend a day with the accounting department trying to figure out ridiculous charges on my bill. Also, the luminescent bay is supposed to be one of the most beautiful things to see on the island, yet what they don't tell you is when there is a lot of moonlight, you really cant see much of anything. We spent $107 on a 35 min. kayak trip to mostly have our guide tell us about where to go eat on the island as we sat bored wondering why we spent so much money on a trip when they know you can't see anything on nights with a mostly full moon. All 8 people who went on the trip from the hotel were very disappointed that we were taken out on this trip and not told to go another night when you could see something. I could probably keep going, but it is just going to make me even more angry about out trip. The only positive was the bed, that was it. September 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing Retreat If you're looking for an escape from the world, the W retreat is right for you. Hidden away on Vieques island, away from any sort of significant development this resort has everything you need to let go. The only issues I had with the resort was the poor quality of the food and the attitude of the concierge. I felt for the excessive price tag of the meals that I would be getting at least 4-star level cuisine, but often I found myself wishing I was eating elsewhere. If you come to the W, eat off property. May 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Special time in Vieques! We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and weren't sure what to expect.. We were warmly greeted and pleasantly surprised with our second floor, spectacular ocean view suite! The room was spacious and accomodating. LOVED the double shower heads! The knobs on the wall were very clever and convenient to use. Staff was very professional and attentive, made us feel very special. Loved the access to the beach. Great double infinity pool! Very clean! Enjoyed the ambient music! Can't wait to go back! May 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazingly accomodating I made a mistake and booked the room for the wrong weekend; the weekend after I was actually there. Bone head move, obviously, and I didn't even notice until I was trying to check in and they couldn't find my reservation. When we discovered the problem I asked to see if they could still accommodate me. They didn't even give me any kind of issue about it. They not only changed my reservation on the fly (which was one of the prepaid, non-refundable, non-changeable rates) but they still upgraded me to a room with a fantastic ocean view in recognition of my status with SPG. Beyond that incident service and attentiveness was the best I've seen yet at any of the hotels I've stayed in and all I can say is that I regret I didn't have time to try out all the features and amenities in the hotel. July 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by WOW OCEAN FRONT RETREAT - the best suite ever I completely fell in love with this hotel and this island. Everyone was so welcoming, it was the perfect getaway. I couldn't have asked for a nicer staff, from checking in at the front desk to my final interaction while being dropped off at the airport, first class service all the way. December 9, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Banquet food below standards Banquet food needs to improve significantly especially since it cost 150 per person. In one night, the banquet consisted of mahi mahi, chicken, and churrasco dishes. The three were served in EXACTLY the same way, (with overcooked zucchini, asparagus, and broccoli). THis was insulting given the cost of the dinner. I think if you are charging $600 per couple for 2 days of banquets the chef needs to be more creative. Also, for the price the breakfast on Saturday should have included eggs, etc. June 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Escape!!!!! I felt in love as soon as I get to the Hotel. The hotel is so contemporary that make you feel like if you were in California or South Beach. The staff were very nice, the food was excellent, my husband and I loved the environment and the quietness, the soft music playing all the time. Is a little bit expensive but is worth it. I do not recommend this hotel to families with kids I think it will be better for couples or a nice group of friends. Im planning already to go there the next year. July 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff not the swiftest Arrived early on Saturday had requested early check-in, was initially told "we will try". After arrving at 11 and told room ready by 1pm, left for lunch returned at 4:30 and room still not ready. Given keys to room, but told room was missing one full lamp and lightbulb.Hotel needs room to hold baggage. When left with bell person, it is just left in front of property. A little disconcerting how easy it is/was to just walk up and grab stuff out of bags. Room floor always wet from humidity. November 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay in paradise W Vieques is a wonderful resort with lots of amenities. The island itself is a great place to just get away from it all. We enjoyed meals at the Sorce restaurant every time, service was great. The beach areas could do with a bit of clean up, we noticed some pieces of glass in the sand which could be dangerous (which we promptly mentioned to staff), but without the glass the beach could still do with a raking. All in all, a fantastic experience and we hope to come back some day! June 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Do NOT waste your time I am a lifetime Starwood Gold Member and these lifetime points have all been accumulated at W Hotels around the world. I have NEVER experienced worse service in my life. Honestly, SPG should seriously consider removing this W from their chain as it is marring their reputation. I don't know if I will ever go to another W resort again. Very plainly, the staff just does not care. The manager should be fired because they are completely out of touch. Everyone we have spoken to about the resort feels the same way. The attitude by the staff is horrible. They are not customer service oriented, they do not want to solve problems and quite honestly they are lazy & rude. We arrived at the hotel at 3:30pm to be told our room wasn't ready and they would come find us when it was ready. At 5pm I had to go back to check and they then said the room was ready. We got to the room and the toiletries in the bathroom were all half used. The glasses in the bathroom were dirty. The safe was still locked. There is a broken mini fridge outside our door that has now been there for three days and counting...... Our room service order was wrong. There is only one restaurant and they have no problem telling you it is booked when half the table are empty. We called ahead to ask for a specific bed configuration and they said it was fine when we arrived we had to call 5 times and go to the front desk to finally get it sorted but it leaves a horrible pal over the trip in the first 3 hours. The list goes on and on about service issues - or lack thereof. The pool is absolutely ridiculous. It isn't big enough for the size of the resort so you have to get to the pool at 8am to get a chair. The hotel does nothing to help or make you feel welcome. Every other resort I have ever been to will add chairs and sort out seating to accommodate their guests.... not this place. They create a terrible environment at the pool and that is really the only thing to do because there is nothing to do on Vieques..... Vieques as an island is a dump. There is nothing to do here so you are stuck at the resort that is not comfortable or service oriented so it starts to feel like torture. After Cabo, Hawaii and the Caribbean this place is a an epic fail. Please don't waste your time. December 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not entirely their fault The room, facilities and staff were great. We lost water on the first day, then more repairs on the next and on our last our shower went out. For all the inconvenience we got one bottle of water and a free breakfast. they could have made more of an effort to make it up to the guests or warn us about early morning repairs. November 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Service needs improvement The rooms are very nice , but the service leaves a lot to be desired. We had to call 3 days to get our room services. The concierge services made multiple mistakes and were away from their desk many times for long periods of time. Service overall was not as expected. Truly felt like a bother with every request. Our room was upgraded free but this was after we requested a move and had to wait multiple days due to front desk error. Food was okay, nothing to brag about. March 11, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Horrrible Staff in a Beautiful Setting I will never get back a week of my life that I wasted at the W Vieques! The staff at this hotel is without question the worst I have encountered in my 300+ Starwood nights over the past two years. Two days into the trip and I was on line searching for somewhere else to stay on the island. Yes, I would rather have spent money than stay for free on my points, but there really were no other viable options on Vieques. The restaurant and pool staff were moderatly acceptable, but the front desk staff and "ambassdors" and an embarassment to the W brand. The culmination of the disappointment was when the front desk lied to me about being able to change rooms. I think Starwood was is looking to attract people to a beautiful island by flying the W flag - but they need to rethink that decision in the spirit of truth in advertising. January 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel The hotel has good facilities and is nicely located in the beautiful island of Vieques. Service is good, to remarkable w some employees such as Jesus in the pool area who went out and beyond to please us. The hotel lacks ilumination in some areas. That should be fixed with garden lights in the roads that lead to the rooms. Being a retreat, i would have expected less kids splashing in the pool. Overall experience was good. I would definitively recommend. August 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing service - - Paradise Edge Dinner Experience is a MUST!!! The service is amazing throughout the resort. The amenities, staff & resort environment foster relaxation and restfulness. We celebrated 18 years of marriage seaside at sunset with the Paradise Edge Dinner Experience where Jillian made the evening extra-special with impeccable service, bright smile & witty conversation. The chef prepared chocolate-dipped strawberries to accompany a great bottle of wine for our room after dinner. Thanks to all!!! December 20, 2012
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 10 next>>